We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Give this hotel a try,I,ve certainly told my friend about it.Stayed one night 12 Oct. as we went to the theatre (only 200 metres away).Had a seaview room which was perfect ,spotless and well serviced.Staff were wonderful and the breakfast was freshly cooked .Will use this hotel every time we stay in Llandudno from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your amazing review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! A great sense of pride is felt amongst the staff about ‘their’ hotel, so great reviews give them a huge boost! We are further delighted you will be returning, when you will be able to see major changes to the bar, and our new entertainments lounge/function room. Comments like this from a professional hotel reviewer, is an even higher accolade than normal, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just spent a night at the Winchmore Hotel in Llandudno, Wales (LL30 1AR). Magnificent scenery, uniquely unusual town with bags of history.
So many places to stay but we highly recommend this hotel because of the wonderful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, yummy English breakfasts, proximity to shops, restaurants etc.
Special thank you to Nikki (The Manager) and we recommend a sea view room.
John and Peta (Australia)

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view. Private parking was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Wow we cannot believe you took time out in your busy schedule to write such a lovely review! It was certainly an absolute joy (whatever John says!) to meet a visitor so enthused about History and this country in general! What lovely people you were. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and the trips to the other far flung places throughout the globe, give my regards to the Pope! Safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a fabulous weekend staying at this hotel. Everywhere is clean and comfortable, and the staff were very courteous and helpful with whatever the query. We booked a 'sea view' room which was lovely with great views and also a double room with reduced single occupancy price for my mother-in-law, who loved her room. Breakfast was lovely, with great service. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillmag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Pamela (we know it’s you) thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure to meet the three of you and Mum clearly enjoyed her stay. She said she would be back on her own and we will look after her? However if that is not to be we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future. The team send their best wishes too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a very nice sea view with a seagull in regular attendance outside the window presumably because some idiot had fed it previously! Very comfortable and clean room. Breakfast was good and service excellent.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Steve thank you so much for your review and the great ratings we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We endorse your comment re the seagull, you have put it so eloquently (we can’t call guests I......’s!) The team take great pride in their jobs and cleanliness is at the top of the list. We look forward to seeing you again sometime we hope?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent family run hotel, very friendly service, food excellent. Rooms very clean and comfortable, car parking available, second year we have stayed and have already planned to return in 2014. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review and very welcome following the negative one previously! It was a pleasure to see you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the winchmore hotel for one night to attend a family anniversary in Llandudno and my father in law had booked the rooms well in advance and 'booked' sea views.
When we arrived Nicky was on the phone and completely ignored us, even turning her chair away from us to continue a conversation about the 'Turkey and tinsel brigade'. Eventually she turned her attention to us but when my father in law said we have booked sea view rooms she said 'you'll be lucky, you are at the back'.
Our bathroom floor was dirty and sticky so we asked Nicky if it could be cleaned and she said ' are you sure'!!
We returned to the room to find it had been mopped but the room key was in the door and it was unlocked! I told the lad on reception and he asked 'was anything taken' I said I did not think so and he said ' it's not a problem then is it?' ...
In the evening we decided to have a drink in the bar when we returned from dinner... The barman bit our head off when we asked for ice in our drinks! He tutted and said 'why didn't you say before I poured them?' ... Maybe we got the staff on a bad day but all in all our stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparklysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

In the service Industry we are not allowed to have ‘bad days’! Firstly we are very sorry if reception being on the telephone held you up, re the Turkey & Tinsel Brigade, however we do not do them? If you had booked sea view rooms you would have had confirmation of same and been given sea view rooms? Never would reception speak like that to a guest even the most discerning. The bathroom floor we remember vividly. You reported that it was sticky and could we address? The response was oh, are you sure, we are so very sorry, that is inexcusable and instruction was given to housekeeping with minutes and addressed within 15! The young gentleman you refer to was assisting on reception that day and he is very polite and accommodating, his response would certainly not have been a tossed aside remark. In think what he was saying was everything is ok then! We are sorry if you mistook his response. Lastly the barman remembers your party very well, as do we all. In your drinks order you requested a coke to which he asked ‘would you like ice’ you said no. Then you changed your mind, not a problem, but if you put ice in after coke it fizzes up, his response was just knowledge in no way detrimental!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

just had a weekend away at this hotel, there was a problem with the booking and we were 1 room short. Nicky the hotel manager was fantastic and did her very best to sort out our problems. we had 1 of our party transferred to a hotel close by at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareTStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review, you really were a great bunch! It was a pleasure to be able to sort Nick out, although we would have been happier obviously if the system had not made the error! Thank you for the photos they are geat. See you ALL again hopefully in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing