We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip adviser me and my wife where looking forward to a nice weekend In Llandudno in between Christmas and new year. we arrived having my wife spoken to the owner the previous evening and moving us into a sea view room so we where exited. we checked out the room and yes it was small but clean except for a couple of bad stains on the carpet, we parked the car and fetched in our things. we then went out for some dinner as it was getting late. it was not till we started using things or trying to use them that things went down hill. the toilet holder in the bathroom fell off it was held in by tape. we then turned on the television, we could not watch anything on the BBC or lots of other programs but i thought that might be because of the bad winds outside so i thought i would not mind until the morning when the winds died down, but it was worse in the morning so me being technical thought i would re program it but this made no difference. then we tried to turn on the light on behind the bed, they did not work. we drew the curtains hooks where missing, then in the morning we tried to have a shower, it looked good as it was a nice big shower head? except hardly anything came out of the shower if turned to hot, the thing is i do not normally moan, but on this occasion i must say, sorry to have to say this room No 10 by the way needs upgrading, and the best of it we paid extra to have this room !!

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Well, what can we say? This appears to be a case of you’ can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time’! Nothing in this Hotel is held on by tape! The TV possibly the weather, the lights the bulbs had gone! The shower- not working properly? When you arrived, as with all guests, we said please tell us if there is anything you are not happy with and give us a chance to put it right! You reported NONE of these to reception and furthermore on check out you were asked, ‘was everything all right’ to which the reply was ‘fine thank you’! Apart from the obvious reason when we ask guests to let us know if anything is wrong, it also helps us to ensure any problems can be rectified immediately for following guests, it is called preventative maintenance. With regard to the price - £35 per person per night for bed breakfast in a sea view room during the Festive Season is not value for money??!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the winchmore for 5 nights from Christmas Eve with friends & family hotel was very clean and very warm with good food,it was our first Christmas away from home and would defiantly do it again.The staff were very pleasant and very efficient .overall a very good Christmas ,thank you winchmore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Karl. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and for your good comments. As you know it was our first Christmas open too!! We are also doing it again and have 5 bookings already for 2014, but will be offering entertainment next year in the new entertainments lounge being built over the next 4 weeks. We are obviously thrilled you enjoyed your stay but were also a bit alarmed at your markings for ‘sleep quality’. If it was the storms, obviously we could do nothing about that, none of us slept! However it was something to do with the room we are sorry you did not say anything? See you again sometime in the future we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Winchmore hotel is situated near the town and theatre we have stayed in a few hotels in Llandudno we were very pleased with our Christmas break at the Winchmore it was there 1st Christmas open myself and my husband were very impressed with the service and the food.we had a sea view room is was very clean and comfortable and was hot.The staff made our holiday they were very friendly and could not do enough for you,Nicky was fab she was the on the desk and also doing odd jobs and what can I say about Mike the barman and entertainer I would just like to say to all keep up the good work "Excellent hotel"

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review. We as a team felt it was a great atmosphere and have already got 5 bookings for Christmas 2014! The only difference will be that we will have had the new entertainments lounge in situ for 11 months, so next time guests can have a quiet drink in the bar or drink and ‘knees up’ in the entertainment lounge. We take a great pride in cleanliness, value for money and customer relations, so when guests comment favourably it is a great boost for all. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and in the meantime say what a pleasure it was to meet you and a Very Happy New Year to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The winchmore is a excellent hotel close to the high street and fabulous sea views. Has a very friendly atmosphere and great attention to fine detail. And always puts thier residents needs first! A wonderful place to stay and a fantastic, friendly warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17,671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your great comments. As a family owned Hotel we try to create a homely atmosphere. Our mission to put the guests need first is something we pride ourselves on, as our motto says: ‘Your Holiday is our Business’! When we see you next time we will have improved even more, with the new bar and entertainment area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a lovely long weekend break at the Winchmore hotel, Llandudno. Our room was very comfortable and clean. I asked for a shower and got. The owner are very nice and friendly and the breakfast is good, We ate in once evening also very nice. Anything you need to know just ask. We were advised of a good restaurant one evening and it was excellent.. The whole weekend was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Firstly sorry for the delay in responding, somehow we missed your great comments? We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend. We always advise guests to ensure any special requests are made at the time of booking, like yourselves who requested a walk in shower. (We also have rooms with a bath) The team here take a great pride in cleanliness and customer service, so when recognised it is a great boost. We hope to see you again in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We recently stayed at Winchmore hotel only one night but was lovely
we arrived early but we were booked in straight away the room was spotless and really comfortable
we went to show at venue cymru it was only short walk away and shops also very near
great breakfast next morning Had nice chat with nicky before we left. could not believe
it was only 2 star.we will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your great and much appreciated comments. Check in is normally 2.00pm but we always try and get rooms ready earlier if we can, not so easy unfortunately in the height of the season. Cleanliness is something we take a particular pride in. We actually have a lot of people staying here when attending shows at Venue Cymru as we are ideally placed being only a 3 minute walk away. Stars do not mean as much as guest comments, so these reviews are much more important as they will make or break a Hotel! See you again soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a very enjoyable one night stay at the Winchmore. The room we had was spotless and very comfortable. It was in a great location and an easy walk to the shops/restaurants.
Breakfast was very good and we could order exactly what we wanted. The staff were pleasant and efficient.
There was a nice atmosphere also with all ages staying. Can highly recommend and we would also not hesitate to go back again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 39anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We take a pride in everything we do but cleanliness, very seriously. No Hotel is always perfect but we do continually strive to ensure our standards are improved. We look foward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
584 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing