We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 NIGHT LATE DECEMBER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just stayed for one night 28th December, The Winchmore Hotel is a well managed traditional Victorian Hotel, right on the sea front. Stayed in room 17, rooms and lounge recently renovated to a good standard. We were told that the rest is planned to be redecorated early 2014. Very helpful staff, especially worth a mention Sarah on reception. Happy to cater for special diet, even though we were for 1 night only.
Hotel clean and tidy, breakfast good quality.
Happy to recommend and hope to return soon.
You've all done very well!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. This was our first time open at Christmas & New Year and it was a great success! The new bar as you saw is in and all the rest will be completed for the new Season including the new Entertainment/Function room. We cater for all diets, something which is essential in a good Hotel? We do hope to see you again sometime this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We took our granddaughter age 8 for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year. Nicky was great and everything felt very stress free which is great and just what we needed. The food was good, we were able to park and we didnt want to leave. Our room was warm and cosy and the only minor problem was that we had no shower but as we were the only 2 days it wasn't a major issue. Tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate were in abundance (very unusual in most hotels) and I would love to come back to The Winchmore again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review it was a real pleasure to meet you all and AnnieRae was a poppet. Most of our rooms have walk in showers but we have a handful with bath as some people still prefer them. Next time (we hope there is a next time) make sure you request a shower. The car park of course is a great asset especially in the height of the season. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovly hotel...very friendly staff greeted by Nikkie who explained everythink we needed to know ...breakfast lovly somethink for everyone .....bar New Year's Eve great ...friendly staff .drinks very good price ..thank you will stay again ...the only downfall was how high of the floor our toilet was it was 5inches of the floor on two pieces of wood myself and my husband each have little legs but u know that's it everythink was. Great.....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Karen, thank you for your review it was great to meet you both. Forgot to ask, how was the Indian? If you read a couple of the other responses, you will see that this was our first time open during the Festive Season; it went so well we are doing it again! We hope that the guests are as friendly, next time it was a real party atmosphere? The room you were in, although with brand new en suite, had a Victorian pipe problem!!! We had to place the toilet on a plinth (in fact only a couple of inches!) to ensure it functioned correctly. However you did make us laugh with your comment about your little legs!! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Thanks for a great weekend. Hotel surperb staff very friendly facilities excellent 2* hotel with 4* quality fosters lager very good nothing to much trouble staff on hand all the while. Excellent breakfast each morning rooms very clean television tea or coffee maker in room thanks again to nikki and staff

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 1440paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for your great comments. This was our first Christmas and New Year as you know, but everything was so good with great guests like yourselves, we are already taking bookings for Christmas 2014 and already have 5 guests booked in! Next year we will have our Entertainments lounge up and running too! In fact it will be completed within the next 4 weeks ready for our programme of events for 2014, including, 60’s nights, nightly entertainment, weddings, private celebrations etc. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and in the meantime wish you a Very Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip adviser me and my wife where looking forward to a nice weekend In Llandudno in between Christmas and new year. we arrived having my wife spoken to the owner the previous evening and moving us into a sea view room so we where exited. we checked out the room and yes it was small but clean except for a couple of bad stains on the carpet, we parked the car and fetched in our things. we then went out for some dinner as it was getting late. it was not till we started using things or trying to use them that things went down hill. the toilet holder in the bathroom fell off it was held in by tape. we then turned on the television, we could not watch anything on the BBC or lots of other programs but i thought that might be because of the bad winds outside so i thought i would not mind until the morning when the winds died down, but it was worse in the morning so me being technical thought i would re program it but this made no difference. then we tried to turn on the light on behind the bed, they did not work. we drew the curtains hooks where missing, then in the morning we tried to have a shower, it looked good as it was a nice big shower head? except hardly anything came out of the shower if turned to hot, the thing is i do not normally moan, but on this occasion i must say, sorry to have to say this room No 10 by the way needs upgrading, and the best of it we paid extra to have this room !!

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Well, what can we say? This appears to be a case of you’ can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time’! Nothing in this Hotel is held on by tape! The TV possibly the weather, the lights the bulbs had gone! The shower- not working properly? When you arrived, as with all guests, we said please tell us if there is anything you are not happy with and give us a chance to put it right! You reported NONE of these to reception and furthermore on check out you were asked, ‘was everything all right’ to which the reply was ‘fine thank you’! Apart from the obvious reason when we ask guests to let us know if anything is wrong, it also helps us to ensure any problems can be rectified immediately for following guests, it is called preventative maintenance. With regard to the price - £35 per person per night for bed breakfast in a sea view room during the Festive Season is not value for money??!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the winchmore for 5 nights from Christmas Eve with friends & family hotel was very clean and very warm with good food,it was our first Christmas away from home and would defiantly do it again.The staff were very pleasant and very efficient .overall a very good Christmas ,thank you winchmore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Karl. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and for your good comments. As you know it was our first Christmas open too!! We are also doing it again and have 5 bookings already for 2014, but will be offering entertainment next year in the new entertainments lounge being built over the next 4 weeks. We are obviously thrilled you enjoyed your stay but were also a bit alarmed at your markings for ‘sleep quality’. If it was the storms, obviously we could do nothing about that, none of us slept! However it was something to do with the room we are sorry you did not say anything? See you again sometime in the future we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Winchmore hotel is situated near the town and theatre we have stayed in a few hotels in Llandudno we were very pleased with our Christmas break at the Winchmore it was there 1st Christmas open myself and my husband were very impressed with the service and the food.we had a sea view room is was very clean and comfortable and was hot.The staff made our holiday they were very friendly and could not do enough for you,Nicky was fab she was the on the desk and also doing odd jobs and what can I say about Mike the barman and entertainer I would just like to say to all keep up the good work "Excellent hotel"

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review. We as a team felt it was a great atmosphere and have already got 5 bookings for Christmas 2014! The only difference will be that we will have had the new entertainments lounge in situ for 11 months, so next time guests can have a quiet drink in the bar or drink and ‘knees up’ in the entertainment lounge. We take a great pride in cleanliness, value for money and customer relations, so when guests comment favourably it is a great boost for all. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and in the meantime say what a pleasure it was to meet you and a Very Happy New Year to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing