We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

mmyself and my partner stopped in the winchmore last night, it was lovely. Friendly owners we were made to feel very welcome! It was my partners birthday I asked if they could put a bottle of rose and a banner in the room, they were more than happy to go out and buy this for me. Sea view room was lovely just what we wanted. The bar area was so nice! Breakfast was really nice also.Will defiantly be staying there again, thank you :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your great comments; we are delighted you and Dwain enjoyed your stay. The bar area has just been completely refurbished as has the Dining/Entertainments lounge so it is really nice for you to comment. We hope things now go from strength to strength for you both and look forward to seeing you again, perhaps your Birthday next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in November and it was fantastic. The value was great, the location is perfect and the room was small but very comfortable. Cannot see how any of the bad reviews have come about; the staff were very friendly and helpful and I have full confidence that if there had been a problem (there wasn't) it would have been sorted immediately. But anyway, you walk out of the front door and there's the pebble beach. Town is very close by. You can see the tops of the Glyder Range from the back bedrooms. Llandudno is beautiful and there's no better place to explore it from.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LeSanglierCruzVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We are not always perfect but you are so right; in the event a guest does have a problem we endeavour it to address immediately. It really was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Winchmore in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived at the Winchmore Hotel two hours early and our rooms was ready we were told they try to get rooms ready as soon as they can so people are not having to wait around or walk around. We thought that was amazing. We booked an evening meal which was a three course meal and it was really nice.
Our room was very bright and clean and overlooked the sea which was a bit rough!! Breakfast this morning was fantastic I have never seen so much food - cereal, fruit juice and a full english breakfast with 8 items on the plate we certainly do not need any more food for the rest of the day.

Winchmore is a lovely hotel and the staff could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble and they were all so friendly. Thank you Winchmore we will certainly stay with you again

M. Wilson, Buxton, Derbyshire

Room Tip: all the rooms have or are being upgraded so any room should not be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWilson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. After the breakfast I am still wondering if the driver wanted to stop for lunch??? We do have a lovely Hotel and the staff are all committed to their jobs and when we have such great guests as you were the job is a joy. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.PS Don’t forget the top so we can swop!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Winchmore Hotel on 25th January as we were visiting the theatre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was bright, clean and warm and the breakfasts were excellent. The free parking was an added bonus. It is in a perfect position for the town, the beach and the theatre. We will definitely use this hotel again. Carol and John

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ250287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and doubly pleased we can respond to you via TripAdvisor. We see some really cutting comments, which do the team no good, on Booking.com where we cannot respond! There are inaccurate comments/details made which really do not help as we cannot put our side! We pride ourselves on cleanliness, customer service and breakfast and it is so kind of you to mention all these things. As you know a similar show is coming to Venue Cymru in a few weeks and we really look forward to welcoming you both back then. It was a pleasure to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A very warm welcome, an excellent room, we paid a smidgin more and had a bay window overlooking the sea. All very nicely appointed, on site parking, within two minutes walk of the shops and thirty traffic dodging seconds from the beach. Splendid breakfast with excellent service and a fun barman. Hotel booze the same price as a pub. We used the Pebbles fish restaurant round the corner for lunch and can give excellent report, particularly the fish pie!

Room Tip: Paying an extra tenner for a room upgrade is well worth it but all the rooms our family used were go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Llandudno. Just to clarify the rooms, you were actually in a Premier room at £40 per person per night Bed & Breakfast, in December. There is no supplement for upgrade on any room; the supplement is for sea view rooms (subject to availability) only. The two Premier rooms we have both have seating in bay windows and these are very popular and booked well in advance. The other sea view rooms we have are also booked first. We do hope you will be back to see all the refurbishment in the dining and entertainment room in the not too distant future. Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just stayed for one night 28th December, The Winchmore Hotel is a well managed traditional Victorian Hotel, right on the sea front. Stayed in room 17, rooms and lounge recently renovated to a good standard. We were told that the rest is planned to be redecorated early 2014. Very helpful staff, especially worth a mention Sarah on reception. Happy to cater for special diet, even though we were for 1 night only.
Hotel clean and tidy, breakfast good quality.
Happy to recommend and hope to return soon.
You've all done very well!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. This was our first time open at Christmas & New Year and it was a great success! The new bar as you saw is in and all the rest will be completed for the new Season including the new Entertainment/Function room. We cater for all diets, something which is essential in a good Hotel? We do hope to see you again sometime this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We took our granddaughter age 8 for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year. Nicky was great and everything felt very stress free which is great and just what we needed. The food was good, we were able to park and we didnt want to leave. Our room was warm and cosy and the only minor problem was that we had no shower but as we were the only 2 days it wasn't a major issue. Tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate were in abundance (very unusual in most hotels) and I would love to come back to The Winchmore again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Many thanks for your great review it was a real pleasure to meet you all and AnnieRae was a poppet. Most of our rooms have walk in showers but we have a handful with bath as some people still prefer them. Next time (we hope there is a next time) make sure you request a shower. The car park of course is a great asset especially in the height of the season. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £65 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing