We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We selected this hotel as the base for a birthday trip to North Wales for an elderly parent. Based on the many "5 out of 5" reviews we were expecting something special but I'm afraid we can only rate it as average - a mixed bag of pros and cons.

Don't get me wrong, it has many plus points. The location is excellent - right on the sea front but also close to the shops. It delivers free car parking, free wi-fi, a lift to all floors, plus tea/coffee and Freeview TV in all rooms. There's also the option of very reasonably priced evening meals, which is useful as there is little to offer elsewhere in the town. And Nikki and her enthusiastic staff are really keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

However, our sea-view room was decidedly cramped - the inclusion of the en-suite shower room in what had originally been a reasonable size bedroom leading to both areas now being short of floor space (nowhere to store our unpacked cases, unable to access the wardrobe without moving the chairs every time, no practicable shelf storage in the en-suite for toiletries, cosmetics or shaving kit). The double bed actually comprised two rather tired and uncomfortable single mattresses on a double frame. And the electric flushing system in the toilet was sometimes less than efficient in disposing of the waste materials.

Meals were served in the large basement dining room. The food was freshly prepared and generally to a good standard. However, while there were plenty of cooked options for breakfast, the cold offerings were very limited. A wide choice of Kelloggs cereals but the only fruit juice was orange, the only fresh fruits were prunes and grapefruit, and the only choice for toasting was brown or white bread - no rolls, no croissants, no cheese, no yogurt, etc.

The 3-course evening meals were reasonably priced at £16, to be ordered by mid-afternoon from a standard menu. We (and others) experienced some confusion between what had been ordered and what was eventually delivered but any issues were soon put right by the helpful serving team. Of more concern was the inconsistency in the presentation of what should have standard dishes, given the unchanging menu - for example, the chicken chasseur ordered on one night was a completely different meal from the same dish ordered two nights earlier.

Finally, on our departure I was presented with a bill which had obviously not been checked beforehand and contained some very easily spotted errors. Quickly resolved but could have been so easily avoided.

So, in summary, I would suggest that there are several areas in need of improvement to be able to justify the "excellent" rating or retain that "Certificate of Excellence" award.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We were surprised to read this review, following the two A4 sheets you e-mailed with the SWOT exercise? Reading between the lines and based on the fact none of this was mentioned whilst you were here, we seem to have got so much wrong, yet you say ‘all was resolved quickly’.
For the record: Guests following your visit mentioned the mattress whilst they were here and it was replaced with a new one the same day! Breakfast croissants, cheese and yoghurts etc are for the Hotels who charge more that £35 per person! The chicken chasseur was made by two different chefs so likely to be slightly different, you state the meals were good so cannot comment further on this? Regarding the bill, we have a computerised system which does what we tell it of course, I personally spotted the error before payment was processed, don’t we all make mistakes?
We always welcome constructive criticism but your SWOT exercise and this review with respect would have been better directed to a four or five star hotel, who could afford additional staff, offer all the trimmings at breakfast and who would not be allowed to make mistakes? You would of course be looking at around £80 per person per night minimum bed & breakfast.
Finally we are fortunate that guests submitting over 100 reviews did enjoy their stay and received value for money. These people have just helped us to achieve a 2014 ‘Certificate of Excellence’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

arrived at the hotel 3 may 2014 looking for a room as the hotel we had booked down the road for some reason had cancelled are booking, we were greeted by Nicky what a lovely lady and so helpful ,she accommodated us with a room , the hotel is spotless and the food was very nice , will definatley go back next year .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased we were able to offer a room at such a late stage in the Bank holiday weekend, the cancellation had been received 2 minutes before you arrived! If you do decide to book for the next Extravaganza we are already half full!! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel 28th April to 2nd May 2014. The hotel is clean and friendly and we felt at home. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. We will definitely come again. Margaret, Walter, Dot and Allan.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 14 are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, you were a lovely group. We try to offer home from home, without the housekeeping chores! We do hope to see you again before the next convention which is some way off?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 day break in Llandudno, we are both in our middle 60s and selected Llandudno for it's gentle and quiet reputation, we were not dissapointed the Winchmore Hotel is situated on the promenade within easy walking distance of the pier, cable car, tramway etc. It is a very clean hotel, not ultra modern, but very clean. The breakfast was excellent as were all the staff. We will definately visit this hotel again.

We were originally going to book a 3 day trip with National holidays coach tours, but decided on driving down ourselves after checking out the Hotel that National use, it was horrible (The Grand, I think) so I did some checking on line and saw many great reviews of the Winchmore so decided to give it a try, we were both very happily surprised with how good this hotel is for the price we paid.

We have fallen in love again with Llandudno, the last time we were here was when we were both children, which was a long, long, long time ago.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room (no. 21) the sea was very calm when we were there, but it wasn't noisy, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We are obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are furthermore delighted that you used the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We hope you have fallen in love with the Hotel too and will stay with us next time you are in Llandudno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend booked a surprise 30th birthday weekend away, I had no idea where we were headed. We ended up in North Wales in this charming sea front hotel, en route to which, we did a thorough circuit of the enormous shopping outlet, Cheshire Oaks, about an hour away. The hotel was clean, with a generous and delicious breakfast. What stood out most though, was the fantastic staff. From setting the room with a bottle of champagne on ice with 2 glass flutes, 30th balloon and banners, to booking us a restaurant and hand drawing a map to find it. Magic Mike (not that one!) told us many a story of his wild history and showed us a variety of mind blowing card tricks. Nicky, not Mikes wife despite their hilarious married couple style bickering made this place a truly charismatic gem on the Welsh coast. Extremely accommodating making us an early breakfast when we needed to get away at 7.45am. If you're an adrenalin junkie, this hotel is within an hours reach of both White Water Tubing UK in Llangollen and Zip World, the highest, fastest zip line in Europe which made it the perfect base for our adventure weekend. We only wish we had a bit longer to explore the area immediately around us at the hotel. Lots of great restaurants so nearby. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 10 for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We got so much pleasure out of your excitement and anticipation as the weekend unfolded! We loved your face when we mentioned ‘bungee jumping’! The whole preparation was a joy to do for such a lovely couple. We have been doing the double act for a while now; perhaps we should go on tour? Thanks for mentioning the early breakfast; it is no problem, guests only have to ask, some of our reviews slate us for having fixed meal times!! Please, come back one day soon- we will meet in the bar!!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed over the Easter weekend and what can we say other than it was everything we wanted, brilliant locality to shops and attractions, by having its own car park (which not many do) it enabled us to leave the car on the Friday afternoon and not use it again until the Monday, which was an absolute bonus, we booked a room with a sea-view, and what a view, not one of these you require binoculars to see it, it was very tastefully decorated and to a very modern standard, and most importantly it was THE CLEANEST ROOM WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and plentiful, and not only that I had not realised about the seasonal charge, and it was very kindly waived, which not many people would give you that option. All in all this is one hotel we would definitely visit again if we are in the area and cannot recommend it enough. We would both like to wish all the staff a successful season and future. Jackie and Keith Martin Cambridgeshire

Room Tip: We cannot really offer any tips on noise etc etc, as neither of us are bothered by it, however we ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Wow, thank you both so much for writing such a positive review. The car park is a real asset to us particularly Bank Holidays and High season. All the staff have taken ownership of the reviews on tripadvisor and thank you for your praise. We try really hard to get everything right for our guests (not always right though!) but cleanliness is top priority. The comment re breakfast was especially welcomed by the Chef, as one may have read on the BDC site, ‘powdered scrambled eggs and sugar laden breakfast’!!!!! If you are in the area sometime in the future we would be mortified if you did not stay here! Best wishes to you both it was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked this hotel only a week before we arrived and could not fault it . It is in an ideal position right on the front it was very clean the room was comfy fhe staff were very friendly breakfast was delicious all in all we had a great weekend and would definatly stay here again have already recommended it to friends

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caza1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are all obviously delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to hearing from ‘your friends’ but more importantly look forward to welcoming you both back to the Winchmore hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing