We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winchmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
347
140
57
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
140
57
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcard trickssea viewtoastwet roomevening mealsea fronteasy accessfamily roomvenue cymrupruneson arrivalonly stayed one nightenjoyable staybreakfast was excellentexcellent hotelcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After finding the hotel online, we booked in early afternoon. It was difficult to use the lift as it was half full of cleaning equipment. This was explained that cleaner had use of the lift until booking in time which was 1500. From our arrival at reception, the visit started to look a bit dubious. To get to our room on the first floor we used the lift with our luggage but still had to negotiate a number of stairs and narrow passageways, not wide enough for two average sized people to pass. At first glance the room seemed OK, but we noticed that the floor wasn't clean and the furniture was well past it's sell by date with ring marks from cups and other scuff marks. Despite this we unpacked and then went out for the rest of the day. On our return at about 1800, we went straight to the room and turned back the bed. We found that the mattress cover was ripped and had some dubious stains on it which looked like dried blood. Looking at the mattress itself we found even more stains and the mattress itself had certainly seen better days. We moved one of the bedside shelf units and found debris and dirt behind it which had clearly been there for some time. When I went to use the toilet, I found that the underside of the toilet seat was sticky, I dread to think what that was. Taking all this into consideration we decided that we would leave. On checkin at reception I found a note saying that reception was, in fact, closed until 0830 the following day! There was a phone number, for use in an emergency and a bell to attract the attention of the bar staff. I did not consider the matter to be an 'emergency', and so packed the car. My wife, however, did speak to the barman who was clearly uncomfortable with the situation. He offered to find us another room but we declined and left.
We thought that we had booked into a proper hotel, but it turned out to be more like a poorly run and run down B&B. I cannot understand why people put up with this kind of shabby treatment. Although not expensive (£35 per person per night) this was very far from value for money and was a most unpleasant experience for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We have waited a couple of weeks to see if another review was forthcoming as this is the second one (under a different heading) the first one having been removed!
You booked a dog designated room arriving at 1.05pm 23rd June. Upon check in were welcomed, all facilities explained (in front of other guests checking in). We advised dog allowed anywhere in hotel except dining room and you were clearly not happy! Mr Smith then asked about the two of you having breakfast shifts, one of you at a time, advised no problem. We have offered in the past breakfast in the bar area for guests with dogs. Told, as all guests, anything you are unhappy with please let us know immediately.
Some hours later, at 6.15pm upon returning to the Hotel room, having made no representation at all prior to this, you spoke to the bar manager advising the room was disgusting and you were checking out, asked why, you said FLOOR WAS NOT HOOVERED!
11.15 approx on 24TH Mrs Smith rang and berated everybody stating the room was ‘not fit for her dog’. At that point we advised that the conversation would be recorded. She continued in a very aggressive manner stating: Furniture was rubbish from car boot sale. Dirty under the bed, MDF wardrobe 20 years old (it is pine) Duvet marked, mattress-under throw, sheet, mattress protector,’ disgusting with stains’. Mattress was no good (however you never slept on it?). Furthermore people like you Hoteliers take our hard earned cash and laugh. Mrs Smith then went on, ‘When I have finished with you on tripadvisor you’ll be lucky if anyone comes back, looking at the people who report there, perhaps they do not care, they all talk rubbish! (Must say the people who have made genuine comments good and bad may be dismayed at this comment) I will look if you are on the Welsh tourist Board and report you there too! At this comment you were advised that it was your prerogative to complain. Mrs Smith then went on: It’s an absolute disgrace people like you running a Hotel. Your staff are all laughing at you, doing nothing and getting paid for it! When asked why neither of you reported your concerns upon arrival, ‘My husband does not like to complain so we thought about it and went up the Orme, as you have now complained we ask again why you did not report to reception? When we checked the room, the towels had been used and were in the bath, it ‘looked’ as if the shower had been used and there was toothpaste on the glasses and in the sink? During the call, you made no mention of lift (incidentally check in 3.00pm so you were in your room 2hrs early?), cleaning material, stairs, passageway, underside of the toilet, reception desk being closed, (many hotels do this during the evening as long as there is somebody else ( i.e. bar man) on duty, are these afterthoughts?
You have rated value but never PAID A PENNY? Service but only spoke to reception?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just come home from a stay at the winchmore hotel we would recommend staying here it was very homely, clean well decorated and staff were friendly and helpfull breakfast very good which set us up for theday would return in the future
Maureen and Melvyn
PS not long until the wedding

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review it was really nice to at last meet Jades Gran and Grandad. We look forward to seeing the new ‘Mr & Mrs’ wish them well on the big day from all of us. Tell them not to forget a piece of cake!! Have a great day all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We nearly stayed at a more expensive hotel not far from this one but were glad we decided to stay at the Winchmore. We only stayed one night while travelling through but found everything to be excellent for the price. The breakfast was great and the girl taking the order was so friendly, that really makes a difference. All the staff we talked to were very good. A bonus was the local seagull with its chick (huge baby) outside our window.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

You are the highest ‘top contributor on tripadvisor’ we have been luckily enough to be reviewed by! Thank you so much for your kind comments, from someone like yourself the entire team has received a huge boost. Unfortunately we do not share your sentiment re the seagull! We do hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK and wish you a very safe journey back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our weeks stay was made enjoyable as the staff were so friendly and efficient and seemed dedicated to making holiday a happy one. The sea view room was kept spotless and comfortable. We appreciated your help Nikki and your thoughtfulness.Thank you for Gideon Bible in bedroom.We feel better for holiday. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Sea view first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mec236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review we are all dedicated to making our guests holiday experience as special as we can. We try to add a little ‘home whilst away’! We would very much like to welcome you back to the Winchmore perhaps sometime in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

me and my partner stayed three nights, reception was friendly and straight forward. got the room asked for (sea view). has a lift big enough for the size of hotel. and stairs all over not a problem. the room was ok for us there was a seating area in front of the window, shower worked well enjoyed it , cleaner did her job well. facilities in the room were good and always replaced daily. And there,s not many hotels were you can sit on the loo with a sea view straight in front of you loved it ha ha. Breakfast was told mite have to wait because they had 60 guests and breakfast time is one hour, but to our delight food was with us both in 5mins of ordering each morning, they have a suitable choice on the menu. All staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay again. Some people who have reviewed this hotel maybe need to remember this is a two star hotel which I think is good for the rating, so if you got your nose in the air book a five star and pay over the odds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoletteGM, Manager at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to review the Hotel. We cook the breakfast to order, not pre cooked buffet left out for all and topped up! As a courtesy when we have so many guests we always advise there could be a slight delay so we are delighted that was not the case for you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews