We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice overnight stay at the Carmel”
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really nice overnight stay at the Carmel”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husand and I were attending a concert at the Venue and I chose the Carmel due to it's proximity - a couple of minutes walk along the seafront. We were perfectly happy with the decor and ambience of the hotel and our welcome from Neil. Our room, although small - was very clean and comfortable, with an enormous ensuite and views of the sea. We ate a pre-theatre supper in the Bistro at around 6.30pm - perfect time to allow us to eat our meal and wander along to the Theatre. The meal was lovely, good choice of wines, well priced as was the dinner. In fact, Neil was turning people away from the Bistro as it was fully booked - even on a Friday night in March. We returned from the Theatre at around 11pm and had a nightcap and a chat with Neil to round the evening off. We both had a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast. We will definitely stay at the Carmel again should we be visiting the area.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms 8 or 9, but if you don't mind paying a little more I'd choose room 5...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
60
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The innkeeper Neil is exceedingly nice and treated my 8 year old daughter like a princess every day at breakfast. Pleasant room, great view, right across from the ocean, ~10 minutes to town center.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

stayed in llandudno for our anniversary came accross the carmel after reading reviews on this site. phoned gill en-route although we never met she was so friendly and happy to speak to knew we were in for a good night. although late phone call she kindly made a reservation for the evening meal. excellent friendly and courteous was neil and the food was exceptional. we enjoyed our meal and only wished we could have a bistro same nearer to home. Looks like we will have a good excuse to go back regularly. top nosh no more to say .... deborah bolton

Room Tip: we were staying in another hotel but on looking around spotless and clean beautiful decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a beautiful hotel right on the sea front and only a 10 minute walk from the town centre. The rooms are lovely, with everything you need included. We have never stayed anywhere where the owners are so friendly and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The food was excellent with a great choice at both breakfast and the evening meals, the evening meals are what you would expect to get in an expensive restaurant.

I wouldn't have believed you could get such great accomodation, food and hospitality so cheaply.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I booked a 3 night special stay comprising of B & B and dinner on 2 nights at a cost of £220.00.
The standard cost of a room based on 2 sharing B & B is £56.00 as displayed in the hotel foyer and the fixed cost of the 2 course evening dinner is £13.50 per person which is £27.00 for me and my wife each night so 2 nights = £54.00
The b&b cost would be:- 3 x £56.00 = £168.00
Total £222.00
This works out at a £2 saving or £1 each!! not much of a special offer!!!!
We were allocated room 2 on our arrival which was small & very cluttered due to the large bed and the view was rooftops and tv ariels.
I had the steak for my evening meal which was weird to say the least! the list of ingredients was amazing eg: orange, grapes, celery, spring onions, soy sauce, chilli sauce, lettuce, spinach,cucumber, tomato to name a few!! all piled into a large bowl with the steak on top.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grunty_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neilpond, Manager at Carmel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear guest
You missed the word 'FROM' in your comment about the notice in the foyer, presumably for dramatic effect. If you care to check our website you will see the standard tariff for your room is, and has been all year, £64.00 per night, add in your meals & this totals £246.00 saving you £26.00 .Room 2 contains a standard 4'6" double bed, a built in wardrobe and a small chest of drawers, not sure this counts as cluttered and as you did said everything was fine when asked I was unable to offer you any alternatives. The view does contain rooftops and ariels, as will any town rear room, it also contains views of the Coed Gaer & Bryn Maelgwyn Hills and also distant views of Snowdonia. With regards to your meal, the menu does clearly state that the steak is cooked with a garlic & soy sauce and finished with a sweet chilli dressing and served on a bed of salad, the 'soy' sauce you tasted on your salad was probably a balsamic glaze. I'm not sure what you were suprised about as salad can contain cucumber, tomato, spinnach leaves, celery & spring onions. Perhaps you might prefer wetherspoons version of salad as it may be a bit less wierd for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Went to this "hotel" on honeymoon, booked four nights bed and breakfast. Was welcomed by neil and was shown to our room, lovely sea view but awful damp smell especially when entering the bathroom. During the night my wifes asthma got really bad she has an allergy to mould spores, even though we left the window open, she was quite ill, went down for breakfast the following morning and had a nice welcome from neil , who seemed quite concerned about my wife and how she was feeling. Decided to check out after our first night and head for home for my wife to get to see her doctor. I was informed by neil that we would have to pay the full amount for our stay, as the company we had booked through had already taken the money, contacted this company who in turn then told us that neil had taken the full amount not them and that it was hotel policy, this i find absurd, we spent one night in this hotel and it cost us 320 pounds, just check the hotel policy before booking, total nightmare and a very expensive night in what should really be called a guest house !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neilpond, Manager at Carmel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest

Whilst we always welcome constructive critisim, I feel compelled to answer some of the points you raise.
You state that you and your wife were on Honeymoon and that you wife has an allergy to mould spoors, if so, and you smelt damp on entering the room and bathroom, why, in the 20 hours you were at the hotel, did you not mention this rather than leave your poor wife to suffer? I suggest that this is a fabrication on your part, due to you feeling aggrieved about the fact that you had to honour your side of the reservation and pay. Your room has been in constant use all year with nothing but positive reviews, see the review 'Absolutely Brilliant' 03/09/11. Your wife was undoubtably unwell and I am sorry that you had to leave early, but the booking had been made and subsequently honoured by ourselves. I did not say that the booking company had taken payment, as they are unable to do so. I again feel that this is a fabrication made to discredit ourselves, because of your ill feeling, due to the fact that you had to pay. I actually told you that we had taken debited you account as this was our policy which is clearly advertiesed on our website.
We advise all of our guests to take out travel insurance, which, when you checked out, you stated that you didnt have. The Booking site which you used does not promote this suggestion so I suggest that you take up your grievance with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Quick two night overstay. Room was very comfortable and the owner made you feel special. He knew everybody's name.
One slight niggle are the breakfast times. 08:45 - 09:15 so if your after that Sunday morning lay in forget it. About 1 mile out of town but with that comes the benefit of no late night noise.

Dianne and Ade Arnold

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#30 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Property: Carmel Hotel
Address: 17 Craig y Don Parade | Conwy, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmel is a relaxed & comfortable family owned hotel located on llandudno's stunning promenade. We have a wide variety of rooms, some benefiting from panoramic sea views. We take great pride in knowing that, where possible, the ingredients used for our breakfast & evening menu is locally sourced and freshly prepared on the premises by a qualified chef, giving you a true taste of wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing