We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is an ideal location to start your holiday, away from the hustle & bustle of the town centre. It's a short stroll along the lovely scenic coast to get to the town centre and there's a handy bus stop at the back of the hotel to Conwy and other towns. Neil the owner is very welcoming & friendly & will tell you of local attractions and things to do if you ask. He also told us of a local brewery & which beers to look out for (Atlantis). The hotel had everything we needed & was lovely & clean and there was plenty of tea/coffee/milk in our room. The Welsh Platter breakfast with a poached egg was lovely & was enough to start our day off. Amazing stay and will definately be returning.
G & L.

Room Tip: There is an option of mountain view or sea view. We stayed in room 4 with amazing sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
60
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

just stayed at hotel for weekend. Neil (owner) really goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and can recommend good activities locally. the hotel was nice and very clean. lovely view of the seafront. lovely breakfast, would defiantly recommend to family & friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_and_Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We found this hotel having stayed two nights in a not so wonderful hotel following evacuation from the floods of last week. Our room (4) is very comfortable and has wonderful views of the bay. The hotel is charming and spotlessly clean. Neil is the consummate host and nothing is too much trouble. He welcomed me hours before check in with a pot of tea and an area to work in. The food is excellent both at breakfast and in the bistro.This hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recently stayed here with my wife and 8 month old son. The owners go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The décor is a mix of traditional and contemporary with serveral rooms over looking the sea. The Bistro is particularly well presented and is worth a visit even if your not staying as the food is of a very high standard and very reasonably priced.

If your used to modern, contemporary city hotels then this may not be for you. But in terms of food and service you will struggle to find better in Llandudno, of that I am certain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_n_Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the family run Carmel Hotel. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel very special,this is a great place to take family. I can not recommend the Bistro enough, the food is exceptional and the care taken to provide us with a wonderful experience was second to none. The rooms at the front of the hotel provide a wonderful view of the beach and the Great Orm, particularly beautiful in the morning sun. It is a short walk to Llandudno town where there is plenty to do. We were also able to take advantage of the Chirstmas Market.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel, No.5 is one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Just came back from the carmel Neil the owner was very friendly food was excellent very clean rooms hope to try the bistro next time this was our first time in Llandudno and won't be our last we enjoyed walking along the promenade and the shops lots to do thanks again to the carmel for a enjoyable weekend mark and Donna Preece

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank preece64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend at the Carmel. We went with our adult children and one small baby to celebrate my 60th birthday, and had four rooms in total. Neil, the owner, was superb and could not do enough to help us. We loved the décor, each room was different and there were interesting bits and pieces everywhere. The rooms varied in size but were well appointed and the beds superbly comfy. We had a room at the front with excellent views of both little and great Orme. It was lovely to leave the curtains open and wake to the sea view. Everything was spotlessly clean, and little touches made all the difference. Breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt and quality cereals to start, followed by an excellent choice of hot food. Between the six of us we tried all the options! Neil helpfully moved furniture around so we could sit together. The Bistro was superb, a beautiful room and attentive service and very good value for money. The food was so good we ate there both evenings. There was a small but well chosen wine list. The bar was cosy and welcoming. The location at the quiet end of the promenade was nice, parking was no problem and it was a pleasant walk to the pier and town centre. We will definitely be returning here, good location, lovely food and fantastic host. Neil went out of his way to remember all our names, and even gave me a small gift as we left - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#30 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Property: Carmel Hotel
Address: 17 Craig y Don Parade | Conwy, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmel is a relaxed & comfortable family owned hotel located on llandudno's stunning promenade. We have a wide variety of rooms, some benefiting from panoramic sea views. We take great pride in knowing that, where possible, the ingredients used for our breakfast & evening menu is locally sourced and freshly prepared on the premises by a qualified chef, giving you a true taste of wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing