We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent food”
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 2 December 2010

From arrival to departure Neil could not do enough for us. We stopped for 2 nights at the end of November along with my wifes parents. The food was excellent with homemade yogurt for breakfast and a "full Welsh" if you wanted it. We ate in the Bistro on the Saturday night (along with a party of 10 ladies) and we were astounded at the quality of the cooking, presentation and service all at a reasonable price, really you would have paid at least double elsewhere.

The only downside, if you can call it that, was that, even with the heating on, it got a little chilly but to be fair the hotel isn't generally open during the winter and in the short term the owners are planning on installing double glazing, and anyway it was probably the coldest weekend of the year up to that point.

We would absolutely not hesitate to stop here again although it would be when the weather is a lot warmer next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayTr1pp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

A small group of us stayed at this hotel after a strenuous days walking. The welome was very warm and hospitable. The food was fantastic, both breakfast and dinner and the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean even down to the fluffy towels! I would most certainly recommend this hotel to others and will be staying again if I ever return to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

we stayed at the carmel for 3 nights and was greeted by Gill who showed us to our room wow what a view.
Nice room and excellent breakfast nothing was too much trouble for neil we ate in the bistro on the saturday night and the food was to die for pity it was closed sunday and monday but Neil recommended Osborne house and the food was equally as good.
Llandudno was a lovely traditional seaside town went up the great Orme on the cable car great views well worth it
we will go back again to Llandudno even if we use it as a base to travel around north Wales

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Having visited Llandudno many times as a child (my grandparents lived here), I decided that I wished to visit again to celebrate my birthday. When searching for the perfect place to stay, I had very specific requirements. I wanted a hotel on the main promenade, with a room that had a king size bed and a bay window overlooking the sea - The Carmel delivered this.
The view was breathtaking, probably one of the best on the bay. There was a nicely placed table and comfy chairs to have a cup of tea whilst watching the world go by with a pair of binocculars that were also provided. The bed, whilst king size was very bouncy, which was not good with a restless sleeping partner. I disagree with a previous comment about it being too big for the room. The shower, which was mentioned by another reviewer was still having problems, so I had to have a shower in cold water. We mentioned this to Neil when leaving, and he said he plans to replace it in the winter. The room was spotless, with many nice touches such as cotton buds and makeup pads.
The breakfasts were delicious. The home made yoghurt was very tasty, and the generous cooked breakfast cooked perfectly with quality ingredients. The only thing that let the breakfast down was the coffee. As regular filter coffee drinkers, we were pretty sure that the coffee was ground instant, which was a shame.
Neil was charming and friendly, greeting all of the guests by name and having little chats with everyone. We would definitely stay again, and hopefully not leave it so long until next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystaltipps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife Sue booked this hotel at very short notice and so glad she did, the hotel is incredibly clean with every attention to detail including makeup wipes and cotton buds in the bathroom, fantastic freshly cooked breakfast to start the day, Sue commented that Gill's homemade yogurt was very nice indeed, Neil is very hospitable and nothing is too much trouble, we cannot recommend this hotel enough, go try it for yourself.
Paul & Sue, West Midlands.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizardskins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and myself booked 2 nights Bed & Breakfast for our Wedding Anniversary and we found exactly the right place to stay. The owners Neil & Gillian Pond couldn't have been more friendly-the accomodation and food were excellent-we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This was our second visit to the Carmel Hotel and once again we were not disappointed. The views from our en-suite room over the Bay, Great Orme and little Orme are amazing. Our hosts Gill and Neil Pond, are so welcoming, you feel special. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the decor amazing, with all the extra special touches that Gill is so good at doing. The meals are wonderful, cooked by Gill, who uses the finest Welsh produce that she can get. The breakfasts, set you up for the day, with so much choice, from cerals, home made yoghurt, fresh fruit, to a wonderful full cooked English breakfast. Neil, looks after you extremely well and is a pleasure to talk with. We will be back again next year and look forward to it alreay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
1.5 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,453 reviews
0.7 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
#86 of 146 in Llandudno
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Address: 17 Craig y Don Parade | Conwy, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmel is a relaxed & comfortable family owned hotel located on llandudno's stunning promenade. We have a wide variety of rooms, some benefiting from panoramic sea views. We take great pride in knowing that, where possible, the ingredients used for our breakfast & evening menu is locally sourced and freshly prepared on the premises by a qualified chef, giving you a true taste of wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing