We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydro Hotel
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Hydro from 15th to18th August and had a fantastic time, the room we had was a large twin with a big bay window and a brilliant sea view. We just called in on the off chance and the staff were very helpful, polite and couldn't do enough for you. Well done everyone at the Hydro, we will definately be back and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Best three days me and the hubby have had for a while. Breakfast was very good too, can't comment on the evening meal as we were only staying on a Bed & Breakfast basis.

Room Tip: We had room 120 it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thehappywanderer120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. we had a room with a sea view which was worth the supplement. room was spacious and clean. choice and presentation of food good. Entertainment average,

Room Tip: Sea vie worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed one night on spur of the moment. Room with bay view (118). Hard to find a restaurant for an eveing meal so opted for hotel dinner. Food wholesome and well cooked. Three courses & coffee £10 Bargain. Nice airy dining room and a lounge with a sea view. Hydro caters for coach parties but service is excellent througout the hotel. Large car park at rear is accessible via the basement. Don't be put off by the age of this hotel the warmth of the staff more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view it's worth it - nice to relax and pepople watch with in room coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBREAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Large hotel, convenient for Venue Cwmru and new shopping precinct. In need of refurbishment. Good sized car park at rear. My friend and I had two single rooms which were OK, with nice bathrooms. However my bed was very uncomfortable as the mattress sloped to one side and the springs dug into me.

Large ballroom with bingo every night, followed by entertainment, with one film night per week. Lounge area overlooking sea but could have done with more chairs.

Restaurant very impressive with original features and high ceiling. Breakfast though was not very impressive, although the dinner was good. Staff were all very helpful. Hotel and bedrooms were clean.

All in all it was good value for money, but I would prefer to pay a bit more for improved surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Brilliant hotel and value for money. The rooms are modern and clean. The meals are very nice but you are given a meal sitting time, which is can be inconvenient, it should be that the restarant is open between a specified times for your meals and most of the staff which are foriegn find it hard to understand you which can be difficult, these are the only things that let the hotel down.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbolton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We have just returned from 5 days at the Hydro Hotel. Having read some of the reviews Iwas a bit worried, I need'nt have been.we have travelled by coach to Llandudno before a few times and stopped in a competitor hotal never again . The Hydro is excellent. The room was clean airy with a new modern bath room, the food was great as was the waiter service. We will be going back

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRIPPERManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A clean, spacious, well situated hotel. However some of the staff could of been a little bit more helpful and trained a little better. The evening meal was of poor standard and had little choice, we did end up ordering a takeaway and taking it into our room 2hrs later as we were still peckish. The breakfast wasnt very appealing, the meat was a bit poor. The t.v. could not receive BBC1, its only small thing but one thing that sticks out is that a member of staff had said when we mentioned it was that it had been like that for 3 weeks. The bedding could have been a little bit more inviting, rather than turning back the covers to reveal an itchy blanket, a duvet would have been better. The entertainment is more suited to the older 'knees up mother brown' type people.

However, the cleanliness of both the room and the bathroom were faultless, and throughout the hotel was of a high standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollydrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
495 reviews
0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 59 in Llandudno
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel

Address: Nevill Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#19 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hydro Hotel - Llandudno [3 Alpha & AA Three Star Symbols]Ideally placed on the sea front close to the Aberconwy Centre and a short walk from Llandudno's wonderful shops, pier and Happy Valley gardens. Large entertainment suite with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Superb "Looking Glass" bar with views over the bay, sun lounge and games room with snooker. 120 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Many rooms have views over the bay or over the town to the Snowdonian mountains. Lift serves most floors (split level floors mean some stairs to most rooms). Some ground floor rooms available. Car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing