We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgrace”
Review of Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydro Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disgrace”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Went to party weekend 8/12.2012 Looked ok from outside but inside was sad. Our room and rooms of our friends we went with had no hot water or central heating. We complained to reception and they said they would deal with it. Dinner was dreadful the food was poor. Unfortunately the waiter had not been trained properly. We where served our first course and then main was served with us struggling to give the waiter our first course dishes as the table had not been cleared the same with the dessert. His English was very poor and it was difficult for him to understand us. Entertainment poor toilets in ballroom dirty and I mean dirty. On returning to our room we found an oil heater plug in which was like striking a match to heat a cave. The blankets where paper thin. We spent the night sleeping in dressing gowns and putting our coats on the bed to stay warm. No hot water to take a shower in the morning. I would say except for the company our weekend was pretty miserable and would adviser that you stay clear. We where also told on the way to our hotel that it had been closed for a week for intense cleaning after a virus outbreak Alfa travel never informed us about this prior to going on holiday and if they call that intense cleaning well I think they need to take a course on housekeeping. I would never return to this hotel. PatMag

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    131
    49
    19
    11
See reviews for
62
131
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I agree with the statement of previous reviewer and our party night ended up in witherspoons at 8.30 as singer was rubbish and he told us to go if we did not like it. The food was not good, resturant staff ignorant and bar staff rude. Plus ended up with norovirus not a good weekend

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RotherhamLisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We went on the Turkey and Tinsel weekender. Wasn't sure really what to expect from the hotel having read some of the comments on here.

Positive things first :- we went with Alfa and can't find fault with John the coach driver. He was a really nice chap, very friendly.

The waiters and waitresses were very efficient and attentive. Food was good as well. Nice 3 course Xmas lunch and a filling breakfast.

The rooms were basic, but adequate for one night. We had a twin room with a shower. Granted the room was next to the lift, but we didn't really notice it when anyone got in or out of the lift.

The shower you had to hold by hand. The way the shower head was fitted in the cubicle meant that you couldn't stand under the shower head & have a proper shower. Seemed a bit weird the way it was fitted.

The decor could have done with being updated. There were bubbles in the wall paper as well as marks.

The radiators were a different matter. Some people complained of being too hot, in other rooms (ours as well) the radiators were clock cold. We have to sleep in our trousers just to keep warm at night.

We mentioned this to other members of the group. They stated they had spoken to the receptionist who had had a list of names given regarding the rooms being cold and no radiators working. They were told that the manager was not there and was not in until the following morning when we were due to check out. Some good that was. It gave us the impression that we didn't matter as we were only there one night so there was no point in getting it fixed. Well yes there was, because if there were people coming in for 5 days or a week, surely it would need to be fixed for them as they couldn't go that long with a cold room now winters coming.

Drinks seemed a little expensive. We ordered a coke and j2o. It cost £5.30. A man in our group ordered a pint of Tetleys & was charged £3.80.

Entertainment seemed a bit poor. Bingo at £3 per ticket. Now if you play 6, that's 6 x £3. £18 for 3 games of bingo seems a bit steep. Even your Gala's and Meccas give you more games for your money than here. After bingo there was a raffle for wine, spirits and chocolates. A male singer was on. Not great in my opinion. A bit outdated, but seeing as the audience there were mainly retired and the more mature audience, they may have enjoyed it more.

We paid £52 each for 1 nights bed breakfast & evening meal. Coach travel was included.I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Hydro again this year but were disappointed with a few things; One was hardly any Christmas music or carols. The fun element was lacking and the entertainment rather boring with male singers every night. The food was good mainly although the fish on the menu was awful. The bedrooms were spotless and the beds comfy. Seriously considering whether to visit again next year or not.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Went with a party of friends hotel is in need of some tidying up but our bedroom had been updated room317 although we stayed in this hotel 3 years ago we wre slightly disappointed
with the entertainment it did not feature a staff carol sing song or simome playing .The staff were very helpful & polite .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff461658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireneslass
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just come back from a 4 day coach trip to this hotel and had a wonderful time.

The building itself needs some work doing to bring it up to standard - peeling paint and rotten window frames.

That said, our room was clean and comfortable, the bed linen and towels spotless. Plenty of hot water when we wanted a shower in the small but modern bathroom.

The meals were very good - well cooked, tasty, plenty of choice and hot food was served on really hot plates.

The staff were all very friendly, courteous and helpful and extremely hard working.

The hotel is in a very good location too, right on the sea front with the shopping areas only a short walk away.

The evening entertainment could do with a shake-up - there again whilst people were down in the entertainment room there were plenty of comfortable chairs and tables in the lounge for anyone wanting to have a quiet drink whilst chatting with people.

Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireneslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Went with a coach load of friends, something we do twice a year so we know the drill.

I can’t praise the reception staff highly enough. Everything ran so efficiently and continued to do so throughout the five days we stayed there. The hotel caters for the mature traveller and their systems were geared towards a smooth and hassle free stay.

Food in the restaurant was the usual standard for the price. Around £45 pppn including breakfast, evening meal and coach tours/travel. The restaurant staff were well trained, friendly and went out their way to accommodate the most demanding of guest. The staff made up for the general lack of taste in the food.

Housekeeping provided everything that we needed and always left the rooms looking spotless. However I would suggest that the hotel invests some staff time into giving the general areas a good clean and freshen up. It didn’t spoil our stay; we went to have fun with friends, but for those looking for fluff on the stairs, they wouldn’t be disappointed either.

Best staff team I have come across in a long time. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw when you're on a coach trip but friends had a lovely view looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel

Property: Hydro Hotel
Address: Nevill Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#27 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hydro Hotel - Llandudno [3 Alpha & AA Three Star Symbols]Ideally placed on the sea front close to the Aberconwy Centre and a short walk from Llandudno's wonderful shops, pier and Happy Valley gardens. Large entertainment suite with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Superb "Looking Glass" bar with views over the bay, sun lounge and games room with snooker. 120 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Many rooms have views over the bay or over the town to the Snowdonian mountains. Lift serves most floors (split level floors mean some stairs to most rooms). Some ground floor rooms available. Car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing