We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor Breakfast”
Review of Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydro Hotel
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
telford shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“poor Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

we have just returned from a trip to the hydro,the hotel is old but clean it is in need of a few changes ,we paid £60 b and b for a double room which is average but were very dissapointed with the food.They are probably used to catering for old people who may not enjoy a geneous serving but sorry we are not greedy but found the breakfast portions pitifull,1 sausage a slither of bacon egg spoonfull of beans and half a tomato,one morning my husband chose kippers and 1 kipper arrived on a very large plate .Ths staff are all very nice ,but I do think you need to improove on quality and quantity of food. Also car park very limited .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    134
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
65
138
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

My husband and i have just come back from a five day holiday at the Hydro Hotel in Llandudno which we both enjoyed very much .The trips in with this holiday are very scenic and the Hydro hotel, every one where very friendly and help full.
Good food.
Nice and clean.
Staff very helpful

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canteenmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I went here for a Yoga Weekend, with about 26 other people.My friend and I were given a fabulous character room with the most incredible view of both the Sea and the Little Orme. Also two georgous resident seagulls, who kept tapping on our window for food. (of course we didn't give them any seeds or chewy bars as it is contrary to local bye law!!!!)

The staff , mostly young students, seemingly, from all across the globe, were all extremely professional and very eager to please, and improve their English in so doing. We asked for fried mushrooms and got breaded ones but hey nobodys perfect ! (and in any case they were delicious) Being vegetarian we anticipated 'cheese with everything' and so were pleasantly surprised by the meal choices, for example: veggie chilli, pasta, veggie sausage, nut roast in a delicious gravy etc. They provided salads (if you didn't want the vegetables) and fresh fruit salad, along with a full range of ice creams, and lovely stodgy puddings with, fresh cream, ice cream or custard etc. Oh yes, there was also great choices for meat eaters too. Also they catered for diabetic and gluten free diets etc.

Together with a round of bingo, there were some great entertainers in the evenings, all of whom were very professional, and gave us a great deal of good music and songs to dance and/or sing along to . On the Sunday night, although there were only about 10 of us in the ballroom, Dougie Ebrell, the comedian and singer was amazing, we were on the dance floor and practically splitting our sides with laughter all evening. Brilliant!

Llandudno is a lovely area for walking, everything is so flat, with nice wide streets and a good lot of shops There is a swimming pool across the street, and a cinema around the corner from the hotel. We visited Happy Valley (with its little druidic stone circle) and went off to the smallest church in the British Isles, St. Trillo's (lovely and peaceful) in nearby Rhoss-On-Sea. Also Weatherspoons pub (previously a theatre) is a fabulous building which has retained all of it's character. Plus as all you Weatherspoons regulars already know, some great menu choices.

Anyway I loved all of it and hated none of it, and would definately recommend The Hydro Hotel n LLandudno to anyone who wants a great holiday at a great hotel and at a great price. Way to go Hydro!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolisticGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I went for the second time to this hotel this week and had yet another marvellous time. The Hotel itself stands on the front opposite promenade and is a short walk to shops (on the level - no hills to climb)

Our room was large, comfortable and airy. The staff are from all over the world and are the most helpful I have ever experienced even though have travelled to lots of places. They couldn't do enough for you and were so happy all of the time.

Two beaches - one is cobbled - one is sand.

Food - outstanding - always hot and a good choice. Breakfasts excellent - consisted of, for example fresh orange, porridge, cereal and a full english breakfast or alternatives such as kippers, melons, cold meats etc.

There are staff on reception 24 hours a day so there are no worries if you have any problems, day or night. From this hotel we visited numerous attractions and I would say that if you are going to stay in Llandudno - stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax west yorks
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Great weekend room and shower very good, entertainment excellent, and very honest staff that found my mp3 player I left ing the room many thanks! Would use the hotel again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

What a lovely place to stay. I booked it through Coachtoursuk which is apart of the leisureplex and alfa travel group. We bought a package through the company which made the trip to a lovely part of Wales value for money. The staff where excellent and the rooms where basic but cleaniness was to a high standard, we had a new shower in our room which made even better, especially when we have stayed in 4 star hotels and we have problems with the shower which tends to ruin your stay. Location was excellent, right along the beach with all the shops walking distance from the hotel. Would recommend anyone to stay in this lovely part of ways and this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonext83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Visited Hydro hotel with Alfa travel on a 5 day holiday. Pleasantly surprised when arrived at hotel, lovely greeting from manager and all the staff were very friendly. The room was a little on the small side but it was very clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. The food was always good and the service excellent. Location is just right, overall a super hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checkitoutLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel

Property: Hydro Hotel
Address: Nevill Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#27 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hydro Hotel - Llandudno [3 Alpha & AA Three Star Symbols]Ideally placed on the sea front close to the Aberconwy Centre and a short walk from Llandudno's wonderful shops, pier and Happy Valley gardens. Large entertainment suite with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Superb "Looking Glass" bar with views over the bay, sun lounge and games room with snooker. 120 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Many rooms have views over the bay or over the town to the Snowdonian mountains. Lift serves most floors (split level floors mean some stairs to most rooms). Some ground floor rooms available. Car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing