We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We recently visited Llandudno on August Bank Holiday weekend. Wow nothing changes - superb service throughout our stay. The family run hotel is as it states in the title Fantastic and Friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for the the proprietor (Jean) or her staff. The staff were friendly, polite and went out of their way to be of assistance. The breakfast and the evening meals were excellent and prepared to a very high standard (Well done to the Chef). The whole hotel including the rooms were very clean and well presented and maintained. The hotel is close to all amenities - Pier, The Great Orme Tour, the open top bus tour to Conway + plenty more. We would return to the hotel without no hesitation as we have done so for the last 5 years. We had room 213 which looked out onto the the front but also had a fantastic view of the Great Orme and the cable cars. We would like to thank Jean for making our stay very enjoyable, but also our thanks go to Chris and Callum as they are a credit to the hotel and went out of their way to be of assistance. Well done both. Looking forward to revisiting in 2015

Room Tip: We have stopped in various rooms and all rooms are well maintained, the last one we stopped in was 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were booked in as part of a coach party.
My pre-conceived views were of an old-fashioned outdated crumbling venue, with minimum portions and take-it or-leave-it attitude
How wrong I was.
The staff were friendly, polite and went out of their way to be of assistance.
One of our party (it turned out) had left one of their cases at home containing all their medication. The reception staff quickly sorted out all details, made phone calls, allowed calls to be made at no cost. within hours the matter was sorted and the holiday resumed with little disruption
The choices for breakfast and main meals was excellent and prepared to a very good standard, with full portions for all.
I would return their with no hesitation

Room Tip: The front rooms look out onto the main road, but there is little noise and at a pinch you can see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3drakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a family run hotel in which nothing is too much trouble for the proprietor or staff.
Close to Llandudno Pier and just around the corner from all major shops.
Would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived on Monday and was greeted by the staff in period costumes. Each day is a different theme so it was quite nice to have "the Dickens Period" on arrival.
At first glance it looks a large hotel that's well presented from the front.
All the staff were very polite and could not do enough for you throughout our stay at the hotel.
The rooms were clean and well presented also and all halls, reception, corridors and public area toilets were very well cleaned and maintained.
The beds were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was very possible.
The food was first class whether it was breakfast, evening meal or a snack all was well cooked to perfection and not overcooked as with some hotels who cater for large groups.

The bar area although small opens up into another room where the entertainment takes place. Also off the bar is a small conservatory where you can sit and watch the world go by in peace and tranquility.

Overall this is a very well run and caring hotel. Others could do well to take a look at how this is run and presented and change to a similar policy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Cornellyjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As soon as we entered the hotel we were made to feel very welcome and offered tea and scones on the house. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and as my wife is disabled nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay an extremely enjoyable one. The food was of very high standard with a good choice of items on the menu, the evening meals being more like a delicious banquet with no less than five courses. The hotel retains its old world charm but has all modern day comforts and we found it to be spotless in all areas. We have booked again to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 105 which has a large bay window overlooking the promenade and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvyn_S72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Trying to find somewhere to stay when you have a dog is limited. The one before the Marlborough was awful. I booked to stay at the Marlborough through Late rooms on Sunday 9th March. We are frequent visitors to Llandudno but had never stayed there previously. It beat all our expectations. The staff were wonderful and genuine and we had a lovely sea view room.
It is not the "Savoy" (which I have stayed in) but for a reasonably priced sea front that accepts dogs it was excellent. The breakfast was cooked to order and was very good. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gill1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Four of us have just returned from a two day break over New Year at the Marlborough. Although the hotel is old it makes up for in hospitality. Jean the owner and all the staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Most of the people go there year after year and are treated like one of the family. Although it was our first visit we were treated just the same.
The food was amazing. We had a six course meal on New Years Eve and a five course meal on the next day and considering they were serving around 100 people the food was hot and to a very high standard, the service was quick and efficient.
The entertainment on New Year was not really to our taste but most of the guests were sixty plus and seemed to enjoy themselves.
If you want a really nice relaxing break with good food and hospitality this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a lovely view of the pier and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDSEY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: South Parade | Prince Edward Square, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £117 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Hotel built in the Victorian era, has been tastefully modernised throughout. The hotel is under constant supervision of the resident proprietors. This is your guarantee of an excellent holiday in a warm and friendly atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing