We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evans Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evans Hotel
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Arrived on a David Urquhart coach holiday, not sure what to expect. Superb from start to finish. Hotel clean, friendly. Food very good. Rooms kept very clean new towels every day. Entertainment great every night.Staff all British and as good as the normal overseas personel. Caught local sightseeing bus with unlimited stops this is a must do. Caught cable car up Great Orm and visited the old copper mine. First time to Llandudno but will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stu4art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    83
    29
    16
    22
See reviews for
26
86
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

This hotel had a very unpleasant ( old cabbage type) smell, in the reception area and up the stairwell. Reception disinterested to the point of rudeness. Shabby room with the smallest shower stall ever ( no bath).
Food was of the poorest quality , whatever you had. One starter consisted of 4 thin pieces of old tomato with vinegar on. Brusque disinterested waiting staff, rushing the food to you .
The tariff is extortionate ( we paid nearly £100 for a room for 2) . You can do much better in Llandudno. This was an expensive disaster for us

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fair1Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Very good food, great value for money with Free Bar 8pm- 11pm entertainment most nights
centrally situated for shops and railway station. Cater for special diets. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingarthur1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Went with a large bereavment group from the local hospice for aTurkey and Tinsel and were expecting as at a Warners hotel last year a full entertainment programme but this was not to be! The only Christmassy thing was an afternoon tea with a mince pie and piece of cake also thecoach driver dressed as father xmas gave all a felt tip pen-New Year entertainment finished at 11pm-no chriatmas tree!Rooms were pokey annd not clean welooed at 4 before finding one barely suitable9toilet brush had no handle'sower had mould and could only be used pointing horizonta not vertican.Food back to school dinners though not so good First night ran out of bottle still water next grapes andthird breakfast no scrambled eggs but boiled fried or poached available.Regularly bar and reception left empty as staff went outside together for a smoke Only plus point smiling waitress

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank Roygill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

the food was lovely, nice portions, service was good
rooms where clean and staff friendly
entertainment every night was very good
situated a walk away from the town

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bettyboop036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We travelled with a tour group, and although I had requested, in advance, a brochure from the hotel directly, we were prepared for it to be quite basic - even a little old- fashioned and shabby. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Location was superb, just a round the corner from shops, cafes and the bustling centre of Llandudno, and a short level walk from the Promenade. My husband requires a lift (cannot do stairs,) and I had previously read (in reviews) that the lift didn't always work. This had caused us concern before we arrived, but we had no such problems at all. The lift was very 'cosy' if shared with strangers (only held 4 with a squash!) but it did the job. Rooms were a little on the small size, but again were adequate for a short stay. Bathroom was clean.
The staff were the real stars. Meals were included in our deal, and were very good. Plenty of choices on the evening table d'hote menu, and adequate full breakfasts to start the day......
Our waiter, Sion, was so helpful. A very nice young guy, who hadn't been there long, but was polite and sociable, and good at his job. Hotel-type entertainment not really our thing, but we did join in with a quiz (which was surprisingly funny,) and on the third evening, a young female singer sounded competent enough. All in all, not nearly as awful as some reviewers would have you believe - and I think we are quite discerning! As someone else said, if you pay 5* you get 5*, but as for value for money, well no complaints here!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GULLIVERHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We recently went on a trip to the Evans Hotel. We booked the tour before we read the reviews and wondered if we should cancel, how pleased we are that we didn't. Superb food, excellent service, about 100 people in the restaurant, served a four course meal plus coffee ( tea if you asked!!! ) in about one hour twenty. Spotless room ( perhaps a tad small, however it is a bedroom) clean towels, tea, coffee, milk as required. Entertainment provided most evenings in the lovely bar area, tip top holiday. How people can write such misleading reviews is so unfair. well done Evans Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinmel Hotel
Kinmel Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#31 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Property: Evans Hotel
Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2 star — Evans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing