We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Evans Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evans Hotel
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely and Friendly”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We were really worried after reading some of the reviews (it had been a large booking before we read them). We could not have been more surprised and delighted. The staff were very warm and welcoming, organised and efficient. Yes the rooms are basic, but the bed was very comfortable and the room and en-suite were very clean. The meals are very good, served quickly with waitresses who are so lovely. For the price, which includes dinner, bed and breakfast, you can't go wrong. Don't listen to the snobs!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choops65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    83
    29
    17
    22
See reviews for
26
87
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel this week,the staff were friendly and polite.The hotel is very dated and our room 11a was very small,and decorated with artex, the furniture was cheap and showing signs of wear,we had two dining chairs in the room which were paint spattered, the very small television could not be viewed comfortably,the beds had soft mattresses on very hard bases not very comfortable. Breakfast was available between 08:30 and 09:00 when we ordered our food arrived very very quickly leading us to believe that everything had been pre cooked .this hotel is not one I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

spent 2 nights on deal £89 which was worth every pound,room was nice clean and tidy ,staff were friendly,breakfast was nice and fresh, cereals fruit juice then a cooked breakfast,central for shops and the promenade.

Room Tip: would go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just spent 2 nights here ( August Bank Holiday w/end) only paid £89 so can't complain.
Arrived at 2:00pm and found a parking spot opposite the Hotel much to the disgust of a resident who must have thought she owned that piece of road. Luckily we arrived in the Hotel at the same time as the very pleasant Receptionist (who informed me that it was, in fact, her parking spot I'd nicked) and it took 2 mins to check in, then up to the 2nd floor in the tiny lift to room 27B (ABC&D makes you think the rooms have been divided into 4, surely not,LOL.) Well, the room was small but clean and OK for 2 nights with a very small TV and En Suite. No duvet, just sheets and blankets, which is fine by me.
There was no entertainment or Bingo at night and we didn't see anyone on the Bar.
Breakfast was 8:30 to 9:00. Good choice but the Full Breakfast was a bit small ( 1 egg, 1 small sausage, half Tomato, 1 rasher bacon, spoonful of beans and fried bread ). The Hotel is close to Railway Station and very handy for the shops but in a quiet area.
So, not that bad for the price (£89 through Amazon Local, full price £250) you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david7aylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Ok so please do not pay attention to the review tittled: Avoid,Avoid ,Avoid!..
The hotel is perfectly fine the staff is nice and there is a shower and a bath and its quite big the place isn't run down and there was a lot of stuff for vegetarians on the breakfast menu as am I a vegetarian so I would know the snooker table and pool table that,that person "couldn't find" was just downstairs so if you would have looked you would have found it. There is actually bing and entertainment and the bar is open.the bed wasn't 'lumpy' so I don't know what that person is talking about there is plenty of staff there and you could get the wifi code if you asked. And about the parking it's true that you can't park outside but on the corner there is a church and can park there.PLEASE DO OT PAY ATTENTION TO THAT REVIEW

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you like formica furniture, blankets on the bed and a carpet which looked from the fifities then this is the hotel for you. I have no complaints about the food or the public areas but I would not go back to this hotel. The two "main men" who seemed to be in charge (looked like brothers) and an older man (father) were not very pleasant and very brusque if you dared to speak to them, we thought we had mislaid our key and one of the "brothers" told us it would cost us £50. It turned out it had been put on the wrong hook at reception. Did we get an apology, We did not. The dining room staff were very pleasant and helpful, it is the management who need to chill out and stop selotaping warnings all over he place always starting with "Do not".

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Where shall i start! Well when we arrived there was nobody on reception so we rung the bell and a lady appeared and said "i will be with you soon". Fair enough when she did come she was pleasant enough gave us a "scrap" of card with details of our table number for breakfast and when the bar was open for drinks snacks etc, ok you might think so far so good, so did we! We asked about parking believe me there is NO parking anywhere near the hotel. You could park on the side of the road BUT unless you arrive before about 6am you have no chance! When we asked about parking she told us it is just on the side of the road and i suggust if you get a parking spot dont move your car because you wont get another! Not ideal when you want to go out for the day but cant because of parking. The room to be fair was ok not the best bed very "lumpy" only a shower no bath and a VERY small one at that.
In the reception there was a board saying entertainment every evening and bingo at 8pm so we thought great we like a game of bingo, so we decided about 7.30 to go downstairs and have a drink before the bingo started. When we got downstairs the bar was closed the lounge in total darkness and nobody to be seen. The front door was locked and we couldnt find a single soul around. So we went back to our room and thought ok we will try later, still no luck! We stayed two nights Friday and Saturday night during that time there was NO entertainment and the bar did not open once? Call this a hotel i would call it a poor boarding house. The only member of staff we saw after check in was the cleaner the next morning a a lady serving breakfast. I think this so called hotel is geared for coach parties i can only assume the "good reviews" are from these people. If you are a couple avoid this hotel if i stop somewhere and i am pleased with it, it will get a good review if not then i will let people know what i think! It says there is a snooker table, darts and skittles? where i have no idea wasnt told about them and there was certainly nobody to ask! We were going to complain when we left BUT you have probably guessed there was nobody to complain too! Sorry but would definitely NOT recommend this hotel we got a cheap deal and to be honest it wasnt evne worth the price we paid. Had i paid full price i would have been furious! Breakfast was ok rushed and not much choice i am vegetarian so i was told i could have the beans and toms sorry i dont eat beans or toms! There was no offer of brown toast, you werent asked if you would like any more toast so not impressed. It is VERY dated and rundown really needs modernizing sorry but it is awful, a couple of the reviews on line have mentioned Pete the owner? Sorry didnt see Pete? Also supposed to be WiFi available? Nobody to ask to get the code and then you could only use in public areas and to be honest who wants to sit in the public areas when there is nobody around and you cant even get a drink. Would not stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kinmel Hotel
Kinmel Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Property: Evans Hotel
Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2 star — Evans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing