We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go!!!!!”
Review of Evans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evans Hotel
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont go!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked a weekend break with my partner.We arrived Friday afternoon entrance needed sweeping and mopping,rang the bell on the reception desk to be greeted with a bellow of" i'm on the phone"when the curt receptionist appeared she checked us in and told us part of our deal was Welsh tea on arrival but she couldn't do it as she was on her own.fair comment however she needed to be a little bit apologetic and certainly needs a course in customer service.The bedroom.. very small,clean white bedsheet and pillow cases, but very grubby bedspread,bed very old,couldn't bring myself to check mattress and pillows!!!!,curtain hanging off rail, small bathroom with a very very old shower cubicle,fittings missing off back of toilet,again grubby in desperate need of refurbishment in fact all the hotel is tired and dated.The dinning room decor table settings and cutlery were ok.Adding paint on top of paint isnt the answer new furnishings and fittings are needed.We decided to leave after one night as this hotel is of an unacceptable standard,Went to unmanned reception desk to inform staff of our dissatisfaction but nobody answered bell.Its a lovely building in a good location but is in need of serious attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clembo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    88
    30
    19
    22
See reviews for
27
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel for the week-end on a voucher code and considered it to be good value for the B&B we wanted and on arrival we had a Welsh tea included..The hotel's main trade is in coach parties and so it has a very large bland function room where we unerstood there was niightly entertainment. Whilst we were there the planned coach party had cancelled so there were only 8 residents in on our first night and four the second and no entertainment. Our room was 11b on the first floor and was a large family room, having a double bed and bunk beds, which was large with a high ceiling and also had a nice raised sitting area. The room was clean but needed updating as painted wood chipped walls went out with the arc but there was a full complimentary hostess tray, hair dryer but a very very small TV on the wall which we didn't even switch on. The bathroom was small in size and adequet but again needed bringing into the 21st century. Breakfast was served in a huge dining room with - no buffet in sight - you ordered from a menu - choice of juices and either cereal or grapefruit (tinned) segments and then a nice fully cooked breakfast or you can order poached,scrambled or boiled eggs and kippers if you wish. Personally we were glad there was no coach party as the hotel was nice and quiet and the staff very friendly and obliging. One note when we were trying to find our room there were no lights on and we honestly could not see and I fell down a small step until we eventually found the light switches - the staff were apologetic and said the previous week had been quiet so that's why the lights were off. - just be careful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotsman in Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This review is on behalf of my mother and sister who travelled here with Caledonian coach tours.
On arrival the coach was met by staff from the hotel who boarded the coach and checked everyone in and had their luggage taken directly to the rooms.

The room was a reasonable size twin ,clean and comfortable with a good bathroom.The food was of very good quality and plenty of variety. In fact it was some of the best she has ate in hotels with coach trips.

The staff were very pleasant and very helpful with my sister as she has learning difficulties and nothing was too much trouble for them.

All in all my mother would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and she is planning on returning again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Must say was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, nice room, good size ,nice bed linen and very comfortable bed , I think it caters for coach trips and it was like going back in time with only one sitting for breakfast and evening meal , the hotel was nearly full and I didn't know how they would manage to serve a full dining room ,for breakfast, but they did, with very friendly staff who were quick and efficient the whole breakfast experience went like clockwork and the breakfast was delicious , the location was superb . If you just want a base I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the Evans Hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel but I could not complain about the staff or the ambience. All the public areas are well decorated and nicely presented. OK the rooms are a bit dated and on the small side but they are spotlessly clean. We just had a two night stay and only had the evening meal once. It did not dissappoint, it was well cooked and efficiently served by friendly staff and good value for money. Each night there was live entertainment in the bar area, a genuine effort to keep the customers entertained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As organiser of a coach party of 50 pensioners I would like to express appreciation for the whole holiday of 8 days in June 2014. From the moment we arrived service was excellent, all the staff very efficient and friendly. We had no complaints about bedrooms, as expected in a Victorian hotel they were not all identical as in a modern hotel so were different sizes and shapes but all in a good state of decoration. Throughout the week meals in the restaurant were excellent with plenty of choice and variety,something to please everybody and all served piping hot. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were especially helpful to one of our party who had the misfortune to have a nasty fall when out in Llandudno. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers and we will certainly return again in the future. Mrs Heather Day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Evans Hotel for 7nights we had a lovely time the Hotel was very clean. food was Home cooked. different menu every night. better than some 4&5 star hotels i have stayed in Rooms were cleaned every day bed linen changed every day staff were very obliging nothing was to much trouble would stay there again THANK YOU EVANS FOR MAKING OUR Holiday A GOOD ONE

from Brian&Jan Merridew Southampton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merridew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Ash
The Grand Ash
#59 of 60 in Llandudno
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Property: Evans Hotel
Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Evans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Evans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing