We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Tynedale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tynedale Hotel
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just returned from Tynedale. As usual we had a great time. The food, entertainment (except comedian heard all jokes before ) and staff were a credit to Nathan and Tracey We enjoyed the Welsh 8 course dinner better than the usual Gala meal. Although the food at the Gala dinner was excellent we preferred to be waited on. All the guests we spoke to preferred it.
Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalopiansShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in the tynedale again and it was even better than before. The entertainment was really good. Loved "Ollie Murs" . Not too keen on comedian as not our cup of tea a lot of people do. Always love Morgan. The 8 taster menu was so good and I think everyone agreed was better than the gala buffet which was also good. Nathan and his wife really work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time. Well done on the dining room. It was beautiful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If possible choose a sea-view room but as you don't spend too much time in your room they are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audiologist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights, where nothing was too much for the staff to do to ensure you enjoyed your stay. The meals served at this hotel was absolutely delicious and what standard you would expect in a five star hotel. I read in previous reviews that this is for the "older generation" and yes being aged 43 I was the youngest in the hotel. However this was not a problem as the entertainment that was put on at the hotel especially the comedian was great. Would I return "yes" as your stay is what you make of it. The hotel has great staff, great food and is clean and should be a four star not a three and is central for any attractions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

well once again a great hotel just come back from a long week end Fri til Mon we go every Jan with friends its clean the staff are friendly and the food well once again so much the place is so nice and we meet the same people so that say it all there's entertainment every nite afternoon tea then up to a comfy room and get ready for the nite later on into the nite we have light refreshment before we turn in to bye byes well done Nathan and Tracey cant wait till next Jan when we shall be there god willing xxx

Room Tip: if you want a room on the front its best to book up early they are the ones that go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My first time in Llandudno and what a fabulous hotel to stay in. Great rooms, fantastic food and plenty of it. All the Entertainment was first class and the Staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank brilliantLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Without wanting to sound stupidly critical, the hotel had a certain charm about it, when i visited with my partner in May last year (only now got around to writing a review as i plan on visiting llandudno again soon) the hotel was very clean, the lighting was nice, dull enough to be relaxing but not so dull you're struggling to see.
Also had evening entertainment by a male and female singer, lots of people were up and dancing and me and my partner even got dancing with another couple which was great fun!
Nice clean room, with crisp white bedding :)

Now for the cons, which unfortunately outweigh the pros....

£100 a night, yet the room was very basic, uncomfortable bed, tv with terrible signal, kettle, few mugs, no fridge, bathroom, only 3 hangers in wardrobe yet 2 people were in the room!

Tiny elevators, i have a disability that means although i can walk, i struggle with my knees sometimes and therefore stairs are hard to manage.
When i approached the elevator to be taken to my room there was a couple of wheelchair users waiting for the elevator like me and my partner, upon the elevator arriving, all 4 of us were quite shocked at the size of it, the wheelchair users had to go up separately as they couldn't fit in together!
Alongside this, there is only 1 elevator in the entire hotel, so me and my partner ended up waiting about 5-6 minutes for the first wheelchair user to get to his level and then the next wheelchair user to get to hers before we could make a move.

The double bed that me and my partner requested was actually 2 single beds pushed together, making it super uncomfortable to sleep right next to each other, which is what most couples would like i think.

We got a sea view room, which although the view was nice, the window was up very high, meaning i had to stand on 'tippy toes' (i'm 5'8, so not exactly short either) to see the sea, oh dear!

The window area was also filthy, green like sludge (more than likely mould) was forming in the corners and this almost made me regret trying to look out of it!

Thin walls in the bedrooms! No sound proofing at all!
As mine and my partners visit was meant to be a romantic weekend away by the sea, we ended up doing what most couples would do, and i'll say this much - i was aware i was in a hotel and therefore there was no shrieking in delight or any loud noise making at all, however this still resulted in the people in the room directly beside us banging on the walls to shut us up!
I was mortified by this, in fact i was so worried about being seen by the people who'd been banging on the walls in the morning that i delayed going down for breakfast due to embarrassment.

Quite an early vacate time, 10am!
Most hotels are 11am, some even going up to 12pm, therefore a heavy night of drinking beforehand would have been regretted badly when you'd have to get up at 9am to get showered, dressed and get out!

All in all, i don't think i'd visit this hotel again, they need to invest in sound proofing the rooms and being a bit more thorough with cleaning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel and rooms are nice but this hotel takes coach parties so they seem to get priority especially at meal times, we didn't like the food either, people from the coach party all know each other and sit together so we couldn't get seats for the evening entertainment which started with bingo ! (glad we didn't book for a week) on our last morning we had to wait for breakfast while the staff went outside to wave the coaches off, wouldn't mind but they expect you to vacate your room by 10am. We would not go back to this hotel or any other on the sea front who take coaches, it's not for us.

Room Tip: In another Hotel away from the sea front if you want a peaceful holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snoopy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,450 reviews
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynedale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynedale Hotel

Address: Gloddaeth Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Business Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tynedale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tynedale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tynedale Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing