We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly as good as the other one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage Loaf

The Cottage Loaf
Ranked #10 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Pub,Child Friendly,Serving Food All Day,Real Ale,Log Fire,Reservations by Phone or Email,Good Beer Guide 2012
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nearly as good as the other one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I come here quite often for a drink, but yesterday I actually had a meal. I have heard good things about the steak pie, so I ordered one. Very nice it was too, had it with mash( not a lover of thick cut chips), veggies were nicely cooked too( ie not boiled to death). All in all 5 stars for the food. A couple of gripes, for my taste I would have liked extra gravy with my pie, I like to see staff wearing a uniform, and someone took my drink away whilst I was in the toilet( I hadn't finished it!). This shouldn't take away the excellent service and food .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tudor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,846
    625
    155
    60
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went with my missus and the starter of nacho's between 2 was lovely and filling. My missus main meal was top notch and so was my pie. However, it wasn't very warm so they didn't charge me for it and bought us a free pint. Very nice of them. I'd highly recommend this place :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great selection of beers to be sampled in welcoming surroundings - beer garden/terrace both front & back. Staff are excellent - friendly and efficient.
You have to try something from the menu - the ploughman's is huge but well balanced and my partners liver & bacon was devine.
If you visit Llandudno and miss the Cottage Loaf you would be foolish.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a lovely light lunch on Saturday, delicious food, lovely, bright surroundings and staff very friendly. Definitely call again when in Llandudno next.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 19moggie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had an overnight stay in llandudno and went for a wander for a decent meal at a decent price. Found a Wetherspoons but then tucked away in a side street close by was the Cottage Loaf Inn/Restaurant. We both had calamari to start...mmmmm. Then I had the streak & ale pie, with my wife going for the home made lasagne..both delicious. Waiting on was very attentive, the atmosphere was very warm and the price was well worth it, very good value. If you are looking for a lovely meal at a reasonable price ...look no further than the Cottage Loaf, well worth finding!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Loaf also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Cottage Loaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing