We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Went with a coach party the staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble. The food was excelent and the choice outstanding.The hotel was also very clean and i would have no hesitation in telling my friends to go there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meme042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I attended an organised week end at the Queens, last week end. The function (A Masonic function) involves several speeches being made. Unfortunately there was a "Line Dancing" convention on at the same time. The hotel, although being a meeting point for the local "Round Table and therefore, one would assume, used to catering for such functions, decided to put the Line Dancing party in the next room to our dining room. We could not hear any of the speeches. Why they, the Hotel, could not have allocated the downstairs ballroom to the dancers, is beyond me? It was just bad management.
Apart from that, the room which we had was a little tired, but we thought the food was good.

Room Tip: If you arrive and haven't booked a room, ask to see the room before you exchange any money. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavisidesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for leaving the review. I understand and accept your comments re the speeches; the problem was caused by a combination of circumstances, some unforeseen, and I am sorry if it detracted from your enjoyment of the dinner.
I am pleased to say that the organisers have provisionally re booked for next year, and I can assure you that the same problem will not re-occur. Do hope we see you again then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went for two nights midweek getaway, we didn't book in advance, just turned up and were offered 2 rooms just over the road in the Queens Lodge, rooms 1 and 2, as the hotel was mostly full. The rooms were large enough and the beds comfortable. My room didn't have a bath, but I had a soak in the other room and the power shower in my room was snug but great.

It was all just a little regimental. We had dinner as well, and a fellow guest told us off for going into the dining room three minutes early. We had to order for breakfast and dinner the meal before. The food was of reasonable quality and the portions were ample. There was entertainment on offer, but bingo and a singer wasn't quite for us.

The hotel was bang in the middle of town on the prom, great for dropping off shopping halfway through a spending spree. There is a car park just round the back which is great, as free parking seems to be in short supply.

The vibe that we were getting was that this is the perfect venue for larger coach trips and those who are a bit traditional in what they want. I'll definitely visit Llandudno again, but will stay somewhere with a little more va-va-voom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for leaving the review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall.
Yes, we are a traditional British seaside hotel, offering mainly British/Continental traditional food and entertainment.... we welcome both coach parties and private guests and always strive to provide a high quality of service and accommodation to both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just got back from Mothers day break with family. Hotel nice and staff accomodating, however we were all kept awake all night with the wind whistling through the single glazed windows and rattling all night long. They money they are putting into modernising bathrooms should also be put towards secondary glazing in this day and age. As some of us were older mothers with young children (and there to celebrate mothers day) we were looking forward to the evenings entertainment and having the family all together. However the majority of guests made repeated rude comments and stares and made it clear that children were not welcome in the entertainment, and ushered us off the dance floor with active children in tow!! We tried to go into the family room where toys were kept, where elderly guests were watching t.v and again made it obvious children were unwelcome (this was before 9pm).

So unfortuanety this ruined our stay as the evening had to be spent in our bedrooms. The party had to seperate so only grandparents could enjoy the evening. It should be stated that this hotel caters for OAP's only and does not welcome or cater for families with children.
As we were also celebrating a birthday we asked could they announce it in the restaurant as we observed others being brought a birthday cake and singing etc only to be told we would have to leave our meal and table to go to reception and book it, which defeated the object of it being a suprise so we did'nt bother.
Very disappointed, if you are over 70 then great, if not then know what to expect, to be treated like a leper if you have children!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. I was sorry to hear that you had been disturbed by the wind whistling through the windows. Although it was windy on Sunday night, we did not have any other comments, or complaints, and wonder if the windows in your rooms were closed properly? Re the sash windows, we are of course unable to replace these with 'standard' windows due to the local by-laws to protect the Victorian heritage, but your suggestion regarding some form of double glazing is noted with interest.
I am very surprised by your comments re the events in the ballroom, and can but wish that you had contacted a member of the management team at the time; we often have children staying here, and, as long as they behave reasonably well(!), their presence is welcomed by staff and customers alike.
Regarding the birthday, as we are such a busy hotel, we do see - and enjoy celebrating - a lot of birthdays! This particular problem arose as another guest had pre arranged/supplied a cake, decorations etc., and had it brought ceremoniously to the table: this guest then asked for the same, which we obviously could not do, without some prior notice. The waiter did try to explain this but perhaps there were communication problems.
Finally, I can but add that whilst, in common with all British seaside hotels in the winter, the majority of all our clientele are retired: however, we do cater fully for families/children, and many enjoy their stays with us throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

WE visited the hotel for Mothering Sunday with a party of 17 over 50's club WE arrived at midday but couldn't check into our rooms until 2-00pm but there was a nice cloakroom to leave our overnight bags while we went shopping. It was freezing cold so it wasn't long before we were back in the welcoming lounge for a drink and snack. Our room was well presented . comfortable and warm with all the bathrooms having been newly refurbished. At 6-30 we all had a lovely three course meal followed by tea/coffee and chocolates, and were all given a ceramic mug and coaster for mothers day which was a very nice and unexpected gesture from the hotel An evening of dancing singing and entertainment followed enjoyed by the whole company until 11-00pm when we retired to very comfortable beds. We all enjoyed an excellent breakfast breakfast before departing. I would thoroughly recommend this location for group outings family occasions or just a weekend away and all for the low price of £33-50 per person,

Room Tip: Hold on to your hats, the wind is mean in North Wales but the scenery of the Welsh mountains is spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irist2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you ever so much for leaving such a positive review, and we are, delighted that we contributed to your enjoyment of the Mothering Sunday Celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I'm just back from a four day break at the Queens and as much as I've travelled all over Europe and worked in the hospitality business ... the Queens nears perfection. A lovely cosy, homely feel with all the mod cons and wow, the food ... AWESOME ... beautifully prepared and presented, and such diversity. And one could make a request for something which was not a part of the menu. Reception and Waiting staff all excellent, and Dave at the bar so nice to chat to, and a good laugh. Everyone is so helpful and make you feel right at home.

I had googled quite a bit before I headed for Llandudno, and I'm only delighted that I found the Queens. No-one should miss it. And I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you prefer cold, minimalist black & white monochrome decor ... the Queens is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucretia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thanks a million for leaving such a great review, it made our day!!! Your kind comments have also been passed on to Dave and the other staff. Do come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had a lovely stay at the queens hotel, seaview room was lovely, spacious and very clean and warm. Food and service excellent, Glass of wine and little pressies on both evening meals plus bucks Fizz at breakfast very nice.. It is my husbands birthday on valentines day and we usually go away, usually down south, as the weather was so unpredictable we didn't want to travel that far, so after seeing this hotel advertised we decided to give it a try, we were so pleased we did. Looking forward to a return visit .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Queens, and trusted us to help you and your husband celebrate Valentines Day and his Birthday. Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Clonmel Street, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#31 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £45 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Queens Hotel, Llandudno. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. Ideally situated on the seafront, all 83 ensuite bedrooms (many with views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Extremely accessible - situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reach. Our friendly team will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing