We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing is too much.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel as we were have my Dads celebration party there. We stayed there for 2 nights and had my Dad's celebration on Wednesday. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much for them, they made our kids welcome. The Queens is a very understated hotel and people should make sure that they stay there as the food, the staff and the overall experience is fantastic. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you ever so much for leaving such a positive review, and for choosing us to host your Dad's celebration party - so pleased you all enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    139
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
100
123
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Visited the Queens for lunch on a cold but sunny day in March. We were not disappointed.
My wife had hot and tasty bacon and cheese soup while I chose the chicken curry. The curry was with either chips or rice..I asked for a little of each and was accommodated without a problem. There were a lot of visitors there, obviously like us trying to get into a warm place for lunch. Although there were many customers the staff served us quickly and efficiently. I recognised some of the staff from visits there many years ago which is always a good sign.We had a brilliant table overlooking the promenade. It was a very pleasant interlude from our day out shopping in llandudno. The only problem is parking which applies to everywhere in this town not just to the Queens - I found a space two blocks down and sprinted to the hotel to escape the cold wind as quickly as possible. We spent 1 hour there and £15.00 which was very reasonable,

Room Tip: It goes without saying always try for a sea view room but avoid the seagulls on the top floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I was delighted to read your review; thank you ever so much for leaving such positive comments, we are so pleased that we provided a suitable refuge on a cold day! Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Book this hotel for my grandad to stay in year after year. Amazing place, so warm & inviting. All the staff so helpfull and caring too. On the seafront with beautiful views, food is excellent, cooked to perfection! Would recomend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming your grandad to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Went with a coach party the staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble. The food was excelent and the choice outstanding.The hotel was also very clean and i would have no hesitation in telling my friends to go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meme042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I attended an organised week end at the Queens, last week end. The function (A Masonic function) involves several speeches being made. Unfortunately there was a "Line Dancing" convention on at the same time. The hotel, although being a meeting point for the local "Round Table and therefore, one would assume, used to catering for such functions, decided to put the Line Dancing party in the next room to our dining room. We could not hear any of the speeches. Why they, the Hotel, could not have allocated the downstairs ballroom to the dancers, is beyond me? It was just bad management.
Apart from that, the room which we had was a little tired, but we thought the food was good.

Room Tip: If you arrive and haven't booked a room, ask to see the room before you exchange any money. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavisidesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for leaving the review. I understand and accept your comments re the speeches; the problem was caused by a combination of circumstances, some unforeseen, and I am sorry if it detracted from your enjoyment of the dinner.
I am pleased to say that the organisers have provisionally re booked for next year, and I can assure you that the same problem will not re-occur. Do hope we see you again then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went for two nights midweek getaway, we didn't book in advance, just turned up and were offered 2 rooms just over the road in the Queens Lodge, rooms 1 and 2, as the hotel was mostly full. The rooms were large enough and the beds comfortable. My room didn't have a bath, but I had a soak in the other room and the power shower in my room was snug but great.

It was all just a little regimental. We had dinner as well, and a fellow guest told us off for going into the dining room three minutes early. We had to order for breakfast and dinner the meal before. The food was of reasonable quality and the portions were ample. There was entertainment on offer, but bingo and a singer wasn't quite for us.

The hotel was bang in the middle of town on the prom, great for dropping off shopping halfway through a spending spree. There is a car park just round the back which is great, as free parking seems to be in short supply.

The vibe that we were getting was that this is the perfect venue for larger coach trips and those who are a bit traditional in what they want. I'll definitely visit Llandudno again, but will stay somewhere with a little more va-va-voom.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for leaving the review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall.
Yes, we are a traditional British seaside hotel, offering mainly British/Continental traditional food and entertainment.... we welcome both coach parties and private guests and always strive to provide a high quality of service and accommodation to both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just got back from Mothers day break with family. Hotel nice and staff accomodating, however we were all kept awake all night with the wind whistling through the single glazed windows and rattling all night long. They money they are putting into modernising bathrooms should also be put towards secondary glazing in this day and age. As some of us were older mothers with young children (and there to celebrate mothers day) we were looking forward to the evenings entertainment and having the family all together. However the majority of guests made repeated rude comments and stares and made it clear that children were not welcome in the entertainment, and ushered us off the dance floor with active children in tow!! We tried to go into the family room where toys were kept, where elderly guests were watching t.v and again made it obvious children were unwelcome (this was before 9pm).

So unfortuanety this ruined our stay as the evening had to be spent in our bedrooms. The party had to seperate so only grandparents could enjoy the evening. It should be stated that this hotel caters for OAP's only and does not welcome or cater for families with children.
As we were also celebrating a birthday we asked could they announce it in the restaurant as we observed others being brought a birthday cake and singing etc only to be told we would have to leave our meal and table to go to reception and book it, which defeated the object of it being a suprise so we did'nt bother.
Very disappointed, if you are over 70 then great, if not then know what to expect, to be treated like a leper if you have children!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. I was sorry to hear that you had been disturbed by the wind whistling through the windows. Although it was windy on Sunday night, we did not have any other comments, or complaints, and wonder if the windows in your rooms were closed properly? Re the sash windows, we are of course unable to replace these with 'standard' windows due to the local by-laws to protect the Victorian heritage, but your suggestion regarding some form of double glazing is noted with interest.
I am very surprised by your comments re the events in the ballroom, and can but wish that you had contacted a member of the management team at the time; we often have children staying here, and, as long as they behave reasonably well(!), their presence is welcomed by staff and customers alike.
Regarding the birthday, as we are such a busy hotel, we do see - and enjoy celebrating - a lot of birthdays! This particular problem arose as another guest had pre arranged/supplied a cake, decorations etc., and had it brought ceremoniously to the table: this guest then asked for the same, which we obviously could not do, without some prior notice. The waiter did try to explain this but perhaps there were communication problems.
Finally, I can but add that whilst, in common with all British seaside hotels in the winter, the majority of all our clientele are retired: however, we do cater fully for families/children, and many enjoy their stays with us throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Clonmel Street, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#23 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#31 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Queens Hotel, Llandudno. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. Ideally situated on the seafront, all 83 ensuite bedrooms (many with views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Extremely accessible - situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reach. Our friendly team will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing