We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“another great holiday”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

once again we have had a good holiday at this hotel.small niggle that the waitress service at our particular table was a little lacking at times. on the last morning the waiter took half my order and never returned to complete it and it was left to another waitress to finish his job. otherwise it was a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynanny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for leaving the review and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Ever so sorry about the problem with the waiter service on the last day, your valuable feedback will help to maintain high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    138
    57
    25
    15
See reviews for
98
122
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had a very enjoyable weekend. Hotel room clean and lovely sea view Staff very friendly.. But I have to say the food was not good. I understand for the price they have to think about portions being small. But it doesn't cost any more to cook the food correctly. The vegatables were overcooked,obviously been sitting there for a while, potatoes not cooked enough, and not hot. The the fish was overcooked.. With our dinner, we had a very nice bottle of red wine. Ater dinner we went along to the sequence dancing, which was very enjoyable. We got a bottle of White wine from the bar which we shared with a couple of friends. We were all of the same opinion. It was the worst wine I have tasted and it made my friend and myself ill. We had the most dreadful heartburn throughout the night. Breakfast was ok for the price. No fresh fruit or any other extras. Again for the price, you can expect that. My friends and I have already booked and payed deposit to go again in February. I know what to expect next time. I am not in the fhe habit of complaing but in February I will send the food back, and bring my own wine.

Room Tip: We chose one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend. I was very sorry, however, to read that you were disappointed with the food - here at The Queens we have, over the years built up quite a reputation for both the quality & the quantity of the food we provide, and even last weekend, we received numerous compliments from our guests. I would also add that , even though we had one of our special offers on last weekend, the food portions are never reduced!
Regarding the wine: this is a puzzle, we have never had any complaint about the bottled wine in the past, and wonder whether that particular bottle was "off" in any way? We can but wish you had sent the wine back!
Finally regarding the breakfast: - we serve a (very) full breakfast, guests are invited to ask for extras - such as fresh fruit - at no extra charge.
We look forward to seeing you again in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked to stay here for 3 nights on late rooms... I found it very good value for what I paid. Breakfast was good and served on hot plates as all hot food should be! Staff were friendly and hotel was clean. I would stay here again.. Oh, and I must say 'they do the best fish, chips & mushy peas in Llandudno!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myjugssmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay at The Queens and Thank You for leaving such a great review. The chefs were particularly pleased with your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is an old-fashioned hotel in every sense. It operates on old-fashioned values in that literally nothing is too much trouble. For example, one of our party of four was ill one day and the reception staff could not have been more obliging, offering drinks, food and anything else we needed to be brought up to the room. Another old-fashioned value - service in the dining room was slick and efficient at both dinner and breakfast and requests for water, extra butter, more toast etc were accommodated immediately. The food was traditional simple British fayre, well cooked and hot. Gourmet it's not and the selection would get very boring if one stayed for more than a few days.

It is also old-fashioned in its appearance - some would say "dated", others including me, would describe it as "faded charm", well certainly in the public rooms, which I would surmise, have been decorated fairly recently. The chairs in the Balmoral dining room could do with a good clean - the fabric on most is very grubby.

The two rooms we had were both in need of a good makeover! Faded and torn wallpaper, carpet with dirty marks and shower rooms of the tiniest proportions with nowhere to put soaps lotions etc. The beds however were comfortable and the linen clean.

The "proof of the pudding" here is best expressed by one delightful fellow guest, a sprightly ninety-two year old lady from the north-east, who gleefully told us of her visits here over the past forty-five years! That must count for something.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback! we do try to exceed customer expectations in all aspects at the hotel, and I am pleased that you valued our efforts.
Regarding the decor; all public rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard, in traditional style as per the Victorian theme of the hotel! All bedrooms are also part of our ongoing refurbishment plans, with each room being individually styled and decorated in the traditional way. Your other comments are noted, thank you, and will be attended to a.s.a.p.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed a week in this lovely hotel on the Promenade and had a great time. The bedroom was very clean and had a walk-in shower. No need to struggle with those showers over baths! There was a wide variety of food both at breakfast and dinner and plentiful portions. All staff including Reception were very pleasant and helpful. There is entertainment most nights in the hotel. The hotel is full of Victorian features and charm. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with Bath/shower ask for room with walk-in shower. Corner rooms are adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you ever so much for posting such a great review and we are so pleased to hear you had a brilliant holiday here at the Queens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were in Llandudno for the day walking along the promenade in July when we noticed a display board outside The Queens Hotel advertising a forth coming special 60's and 70's event on September 1st including dinner,bed and breakfast.
These sort of functions are quite difficult to come across these days.
We are just back from the lovely event.
We would like to express our thanks to the lovely staff and for our very memorable stay at the Queens Hotel.Our lovely room had a beautiful picturesque view of both The Great and Little Orme and the bay,pier and promenade.
The hospitality and food were first class.
Many thanks to Gill & Allen for the excellent entertainment.
We are now looking forward to our next stay at The Queens.

Paul & Maureen

Southport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technicpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving such a positive review:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

As we have 3 children it's so hard to find a hotel that will accommodate everyone without having to book multiple rooms at crazy prices, but the queens were extremely helpful and managed to get us all in the family room together. The lady at the front desk was lovely and chatted away while we checked in. The room was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very good the next morning with a good selection of food for everyone. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Clonmel Street, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#23 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#31 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Queens Hotel, Llandudno. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. Ideally situated on the seafront, all 83 ensuite bedrooms (many with views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Extremely accessible - situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reach. Our friendly team will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing