We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly hotel”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has some really good deals and offers. It is happy to take dogs and will set a table in the bar area for your meals if you don't want to leave them in the room. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    145
    66
    29
    18
See reviews for
105
139
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bagillt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our 2nd visit to this hotel, but not the last! Home from home the moment we stepped into reception, so helpful. Bedroom basic, but very clean. Food once again excellent, Entertainment both evenings very good indeed, especially Tuesday evening Morgan Reeves - what a great performer. He must have been on stage non stop for nearly 3 hours. Booked again to see him in a few weeks. Just 1 downside, drinks at the bar a little pricey. Very central for everything.

Room Tip: With such a fantastic prom, try for a sea view, amazing sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for leaving such a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Be careful if booking to stay here - if like us you get put in the annex across the road, it is NOT at all pleasant. We assumed like most people we would be staying in the Hotel but clearly we had been dealt a short straw. When booking this room it advertised it online with Late Rooms as a special deal - when in reality it was likely just a rate for the Annex. False advertising and it needs to be clearly stated otherwise.

The annex has windy, narrow steps (impossible for anyone not particularly mobile to climb with or without luggage), very dated decor, primitive bathroom, about 1 plug socket. The beds are also ridiculously soft - impossible to sleep on and gave us both bad backs (had to sleep on the floor!).

Cancelled and got a 80% refund (eventually after much debate) and it left us fed up, sleep deprived, out of pocket and needing to trampse around llandudo to find a half-decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Here at the Queens we are pleased to receive constructive feedback, positive or negative, but sometimes a review is so outrageous that a measured response is difficult! First, the booking:- the room description on laterooms is perfectly clear - rooms available in the Queens Lodge - opposite hotel. The exact number of steps to each room is also stated and the lack of a lift. The rooms are priced accordingly.
Second, the room, whilst everybody has different preferences for mattresses , it would be fair to say that we have not had any other complaints about the beds in that room - if we do - we check them, and change the mattresses immediately if necessary. The room was decorated 3 years ago, the bathroom is fully equipped & there are plenty of sockets - no other negative comments have been received about the room.
Third, the refund, the customers came to reception very early the next morning and voiced their dissatisfaction. They were seen by a manager who took the view that there was little point offering an alternative room or discussing the problem further. She decided therefore to exceptionally agree to waive the terms & conditions of their 3 night booking and charge instead a nominal amount to cover the cost of one night. The customers were more than happy with this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFS
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at the Queens Lodges which is part of the Queens hotel but across the road.We stayed from Saturday until Tuesday on a room only basis.
We arrived Saturday morning at 11 am during a down pour!!We were told at reception that our room would be ready at 2 pm so we went into the bar where we waited until 12 pm to order lunch.I asked about the Gluten free options but the waiter seemed not to know what I was talking about and so asked another waiter who was quite vague with his answer of "tell me what you want and I will ask" . However,I did end up with a jacket potato.I view this as not a Gluten free menu,more like what is naturally Gluten free on the regular menu which was quite disappointing.
We had Lodge 16,a ground floor room,with views from our huge bay window of the sea front to our right and the main shopping street to our left.
We had a double bed and a single and there was still loads of space!!The bathroom was clean and had a great shower.
The only fault I found was that we were right next to the front door which was allowed to bang shut hundreds of times even though there was a note on the door asking guests not to bang the door!!
The cleaner came in every day with fresh towels.
We cannot really comment on the Hotel other than what we have already mentioned as we chose to eat out and the only other time we went back into the Hotel was to check out.
The hotel and lodges are in a brilliant position.
My only criticism would be,apart from the barman,I found the waiter and reception staff a bit surly,especially when we checked out,they simply took our key,never asked if everything was O.K ,did not even say Goodbye,and carried on talking to each other.
Apart from that,the place was clean and it was in a great position.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlotte5Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your Holiday. Thanks in particular for raising 3 key issues... first. Gluten free, we offer a full gluten free menu at dinner & our lunchtime menu also contains many gluten free options. We are currently working on identifying these items more clearly on our lunchtime menu. Second, the front door at the lodge - as you say, we do have notices up, but guests still slam the door occasionally, we will continue to work to reduce the noise. Third, here at the queens we do pride ourselves on providing a friendly & efficient service. I am sorry that we did not meet our usual high standards when you checked out and your valued feedback has been passed on to the staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned home from a very enjoyable 5 night stay. Plenty of pluses, friendly obliging staff. Food service very quick and efficient. The room was clean and tidy with a partial sea view. The location is absolutely spot on a very short walk takes you right into the centre of town. There is entertainment on offer every night but the weather was that good we spent as much time as possible outside in the fresh air. The menu was varied and food arrived piping out. The only real minus for me was no water jugs on the tables, you had to ask and then was only given a glass. To be honest I found that a bit strange but, am not going to let that detract from a good holiday.

Room Tip: A hotel room in my opinion is to sleep, wash, shower, use the toilet and store your belongings safel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your valued feedback regarding the water jugs has been passed on to our restaurant manager for her consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we have stayed at the Queens a number of times with our two dogs the staff welcomed them and us every time the rooms were clean and the meals good also very good entertainment a big plus is that you can take the dogs into the entertainment lounge our two became part of the acts which was great fun for all We will be back very soon we hope

Room Tip: sea view a must twin rooms were bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephferber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many Thanks for leaving such a nice review & we look forward to seeing you - and the dogs again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Helens
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for two nights from 5th July with my Partner & elderly Parents. The staff where very pleasant & helpful, & the breakfast & dinner was very good with a reasonable choice.
The Hotel is a little dated & maybe could do with a renovation,but that's not an important issue.
Its in a perfect location for everything & easy walking distance to the shops & Great Orme.
We had a sea view room & the view was lovely with three big windows.
My parents enjoyed the evening entertainment & are hopefully going to book again soon! (We chose to go for a walk instead on both evenings) We had warm sunny weather too which made the weekend even better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Clonmel Street, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#23 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#31 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Queens Hotel, Llandudno. Welcome to the Jewel in the Crown of the North Wales coast. Ideally situated on the seafront, all 83 ensuite bedrooms (many with views of the sea and promenade) have colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and telephone. Extremely accessible - situated centrally on Llandudno's Victorian Promenade. Wheelchair access is via a ramp (gradient 1:8) in to the hotel, from where the ground floor reception, ballroom, dining rooms and bedrooms are all accessible via 2 lifts. We are able to offer parking for coaches and cars. Just two minutes from the main shopping street, the Queens Hotel affords splendid views of the bay, Great Orme and restored Pier. The Aberconwy Conference Centre, North Wales Theatre and Llandudno's other attractions are also within easy reach. Our friendly team will cater for your requirements in the most professional manner. Relax and enjoy the warm and restful atmosphere of this great Victorian seaside hotel. We continually strive to perfect the service and warm welcome, which is why guests return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing