We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albert

The Albert
Ranked #18 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family run pub in the heart of Llandudno, serving a wide range of main courses and local specials, fantastic lunches and filling dinners. All the meals are accompanied by a range of local beers, and popular lagers, wines and spirits. Food is served in a family friendly environment, with seating indoors and outside. Perfect for couples, family get togethers or large gatherings - a very popular place with holidaymakers and locals alike.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only place to eat”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Was in Llandudno for 5 nights went to the Albert first night had the Seafood Spaghetti it was delicious and full of Salmon, Haddock, Pollack, King Prawns, Scallops and Muscles all cooked in White Wine and Cream, even the Spaghetti was nice, what ever we had was good quality and amount also very good service, that's why we went every night, highly recommend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    361
    85
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good meal in lovely settings...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spotted this pub during the day and seeing the large numbers of happy diners enjoying their meals out in the terrace we decided we would go back later for an evening meal. On arrival we weren't sure whether to wait to be seated or to find our own table - the place is set out more like a restaurant than a traditional drinking pub. We enquired with one of the bar staff who told us to simply find a free table and order our food and drinks the bar when ready. Most of the tables were reserved but we managed to find a free table a little further inside the pub.

After browsing through the menu I decided to go for the scampi and chips and my partner the Italian meatballs in tomato sauce. The scampi was lovely and the server was happy to comply to my request of substituting the usual side of peas for a portion of dressed salad leaves. The chips seemed to be home made and were some of the best I've ever had - crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside, just as they should be. My partner generally enjoyed his meal of spaghetti and meatballs but didn't think it was anything particularly special given the price.

Our two plates of food and a round of drinks (a pint of lager and a small glass of lemonade) came to £26 altogether, which seemed a little steep considering it was essentially pub grub - albeit very nicely presented pub grub. However overall it was a good meal and we agreed we would definitely be back the next time we're in Llandudno.

The pub itself is delighted decorated, very clean and inviting. However I think the place would definitely benefit from providing proper table service to justify the prices. As it is, the Wetherspoons-style self service ordering means the service in general is rather minimal and I would imagine might put some diners off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iMacourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good meal + Good Ale...what more?”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Met up with friends and enjoyed a good meal with a good ale to wash it down. Service was very good and meal arrived in good time. A cosy pub with a nice atmosphere. If you are in Llandudno give this place a try. Both ales and food reasonable in price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welsh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Salmon fish cakes, king prawns in ginger, coriander and garlic and also the most tender, succulent braised beef ever..returned for a second visit and would go back again...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We visited here on 26th July 2014 and sat outside as the weather was lovely. The food was very nice I had a roast dinner and my boyfriend had a double beef burger. The portions were very generous and the staff were very helpful. The only slight issue was we had to sit and wait at a dirty table until a waiter cleared it but seeing as we sat outside it is understandable and we would definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Jessicaalice92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Albert also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing