We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Visited on business .asked for a seaview on arrival and given a lovely room on 1st floor with balcony

Breakfast gorgeous.local produce ,which was of a high standard
Right from the reception to the breakfast service the customer service at The Merrion was excellent ,nothing is too much trouble and there is a genuine desire to make your stay a good experience .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzamozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Merrion, all the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and they will be pleased to read your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    61
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
97
97
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

stayed three times before with my mum she has stayed 7 times . not happy with my room paul breem said he would move me but the hotel was full. however on on of the hoteest weeek days 55 percent of seaveiw rooms didnt have windows open , sorry think it was a stock answer to complaint. the room was like a poor nursing home room and smelt like it!
the hotel needs money spent my mums shower was hanging off the wall! my room was like a cell .
its geared for repeat custom and coach parties paying half what the average punter pays. you can get luxury else where for same price. sorry to the staff they are nice but its dire and the impovement to the reception no style . i could say so much more but a hotel that smells of urine and the worst condition ever even with 50 pound off is not for my generation. uck

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, the room was a single room on the third floor which is smaller than you might have wished for, however when I told you that the hotel was fully booked and that I could not move you, it was not a stock answer, it was the absolute truth.
I take issue with your description of the room as smelling of urine, the room was spotless and I am very proud of the very high standards my housekeeping department maintain week on week throughout the year.
I reduced your bill by 30% as a good will gesture in view of your mothers history with us, I am sorry to hear this was not enough for you.
Best wishes from us all at the Merrion
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As a previous visitor to the hotel, there have been many changes over the past decade to the hotel. Lots of improvements which is good news but still mixed with the old so disappointing in places. I expect as a previous visitor to the Merrion my expectations are very high but sadly this trip was a bit more disappointing, slow service in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. At 8.30am all the yoghurts and croissants had gone. Which when your not having a cooked breakfast is disappointing. The entertainment is sadly still very dull. Sadly Ian Turner was ill during our stay (he is a must see entertainer on Saturdays and Monday evening). Stayed in the family room on the first floor excellent room, lots of space.

Room Tip: Family room 108 excellent room lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whisper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments, I am sorry the choice on the breakfast buffet was limited, the croissants are baked fresh every morning so there is a delay when we have to bake more, the Yogurts should have been replaced as they were used up, please let us know next time as this should have been seen to.
I am sorry you missed Ian Turner, as you know he was in hospital at the time, however I can now report that he is well again and entertaining twice a week as usual.
We try to use negative comments to bring about positive change so thank you for letting us know.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

stayed at the Merrion last week for 4 nights room 104, sea view with walk in shower. Excellent!!!
Where do you begin lavishing praise on this hotel, the food, staff, hospitality, atmosphere, you name it, it's got it. Full marks all round.

Also thank you for making a 70th Birthday Celebration so memorable.

Will be back soon with our very well behaved Scottie Dog ( Guests didn't realize there was a dog in the hotel--wouldn't have brought him otherwise!!)

Room Tip: Room 104 Sea View, overlooking the Panoramic landscape of Llandudno
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Great review thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again. I will pass on your comments to the staff.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Myself, partner and small dog recently stayed here for a 3 day break. The hotel was in a great location, opposite the promenade and beach and 5 minute walk to the pier. Shops, bars and restaurants all also within a short walk of the hotel.
Clientele are mainly elderley, quite a few coach parties arrived and departed in the short time we were there. However, everyone, including staff were very friendly and the hotel had a a lovely family feel to it.

We only stayed bed and breakfast, so can't comment on the evening meals, but the large breakfast/dining area, was clean and spacious, with a variety of juices/yoghurts/cereals/croissants available.
The cooked breakfasts comprised of either full Welsh breakfast (same as English, but with welsh products), Kippers or variations on the cooked breakfast. All very well cooked, and tasty and quality products. Again, breakfast staff helpful, friendly and very effiecient.

The room although slightly small, was very comfortable and clean, and a great view of the promenade (beautifully sunny - during the heatwave)
All in all, we would certainly return and cannot find anything to gripe about (other than the lift - that could be a little slow during busy times) and we would definately recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast menu, perhaps we can tempt you with the dinner menu next time.
Many thanks and see you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have just returned from spending the last week at the Merrion Hotel in Llandudno. The hotel is lovely, in a great location, right on the front and a short walk from the pier and shops. We stayed in Room 306, which is at the back of the hotel. The room was very spacious and clean, but very hot (we were there in one of the hottest weeks of the year) - we did ask the reception team if they could give us a fan on a couple of occasions but we didn't get one - we couldn't keep the windows open in the night either due to the very noisy seagulls outside. The food was very nice - plenty of choice for breakfast and the three course evening meals were excellent. Entertainment was ok - restaurant and bar staff were very accommodating. I would definitely stay at the Merrion again - but would try to get a sea view next time

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room - and don't stay in room 306 if you are visiting in hot weather - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewalty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for writing your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the heat in your room is unfortunate, but as you say the weather is exceptional even for this time of year.
I looked out at the promenade today and saw the beach packed with children, summer is truly happening in Llandudno at the moment.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while on a business trip. The room was very comfortable with en-suite shower and toilet. The bed was comfortable and cool (even better due to the hot weather). There was a nice 32" tv on the wall which got free view.

The hotel was very pleasant and the bar prices were very reasonable. There was an excellent selection for breakfast which was waiter service. The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating.

The hotel caters for the older generation and does it very well. I was the youngest person in the hotel by 25 years but that did not bother me.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing