We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for exploring Llandudno”
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Merrion and were very happy with our break. The sea-view room was smaller than expected and the furniture rather shabby, but it was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and there was a very good choice of meals, especially desserts! The portions were more than adequate! Staff were friendly and very helpful, and the location is perfect for exploring Llandudno. We did think the lounge area could use some comfy armchairs and biscuits on the hospitality trays would be appreciated. Otherwise, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgysmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food in the restaurant, we work very hard throughout the year to ensure we maintain our high standards. I take on board your comments about the room, we will be carrying out refurbishment work during the winter to repair all the knocks and bangs the furniture and fixtures receive during the year.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We've been revisiting the Merrion for over 5 years now, we go every summer and occasionally in February with our family, there's usually between 7-11 of us. The staff are 1st class, nothing is ever too much trouble and they are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. We always stay in the family room 318, which although it doesn't have a sea view is incredibly comfortable. The food is absolutely fantastic with a great choice every evening and a selection of desserts like no other hotel we've ever stayed in. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel for people of any age, Our family ranges from 11 to 74yrs and we look forward to going back to stay in the Merrion year after year. The only downside is that we never want to go home at the end of our stay :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but obviously a sea view is always a better choice when staying in a beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharpe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure to see all your family once again this August, we appreciate all your comments and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Kind regards
Paul Bream

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend just recently. This was a last minute decision to go away. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. All of the staff were very pleasant and vey friendly. Nothing was any trouble for them. The food was excellent. If we go back again we would definitely try and book this hotel again

Room Tip: The room we had was very good even though we booked at the last minute. We did notice that there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend and that you liked the hotel, it has been in my family for three generations and we are proud of our hotel and our loyal customers.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed as a couple with our small dog - at check in we received a very efficient and friendly service and throughout our stay we found all staff to be very professional and friendly leading to a very ambient atmosphere
The hotel is very impressive from the outside and is very well located for the promenade, pier and shops/restaurants
Inside the hotel is very well looked after and the cleanliness of the bedroom was excellent the only downside being that it was quite small
Breakfast was excellent and we will certainly return

Room Tip: sea view preferable but there is a premium price to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorhomemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review and the nice comments, as with all these Victorian properties in Llandudno, the rooms are all different, please contact us in advance of your next visit and we will do our best to find the most suitable room for your holiday.
Regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is the 5th year out of the last 6 that we have visited the Merrion and I am under strict instruction by our party to keep August clear next year for a return visit! While we first used to travel with a coach trip here, the last two years we have booked privately having received such excellent service everytime. My daughter (now 8) loves it being so close to the beach and the pier and she's always made a fuss of.

The food is always excellent and the staff exceptionally friendly - nothing is too much trouble. It's also lovely to see familiar staff year in, year out who often remember you.

There is no doubt we will be returning in the future, not only for the proximity to the best Llandudno has to offer but also due to the excellent experiences we have had at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thanks for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your glowing report. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Visited on business .asked for a seaview on arrival and given a lovely room on 1st floor with balcony

Breakfast gorgeous.local produce ,which was of a high standard
Right from the reception to the breakfast service the customer service at The Merrion was excellent ,nothing is too much trouble and there is a genuine desire to make your stay a good experience .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozzamozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the Merrion, all the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and they will be pleased to read your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

stayed three times before with my mum she has stayed 7 times . not happy with my room paul breem said he would move me but the hotel was full. however on on of the hoteest weeek days 55 percent of seaveiw rooms didnt have windows open , sorry think it was a stock answer to complaint. the room was like a poor nursing home room and smelt like it!
the hotel needs money spent my mums shower was hanging off the wall! my room was like a cell .
its geared for repeat custom and coach parties paying half what the average punter pays. you can get luxury else where for same price. sorry to the staff they are nice but its dire and the impovement to the reception no style . i could say so much more but a hotel that smells of urine and the worst condition ever even with 50 pound off is not for my generation. uck

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UkTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, the room was a single room on the third floor which is smaller than you might have wished for, however when I told you that the hotel was fully booked and that I could not move you, it was not a stock answer, it was the absolute truth.
I take issue with your description of the room as smelling of urine, the room was spotless and I am very proud of the very high standards my housekeeping department maintain week on week throughout the year.
I reduced your bill by 30% as a good will gesture in view of your mothers history with us, I am sorry to hear this was not enough for you.
Best wishes from us all at the Merrion
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#16 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £106 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing