We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service great food but location of rooms disappointing”
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great service great food but location of rooms disappointing”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

First time at the Merrion but it will not be our last! Stayed three nights. The staff were great especially the waiters' in the dining room who could not do enough to please. The only let down was the location of our rooms, the family room was directly above the stage/entertainment area (entertainment every night but thankfully it finished at 1100) the other room was directly above the kitchen area (some chatter around 0615 followed by the smell of bacon cooking). Despite this we plan to return and, hopefully, get quieter rooms! Breakfast was very good though the one lunch of toasted sandwiches was disappointing (burnt chips, soggy salad leaves and 'unusual' taste to the toasted sandwiches). Had one evening meal consisting of three different main courses all of which were very good. We do not usually eat in the hotel we are staying in preferring to 'eat out' but we would have no hesitation in taking our evening meals at the hotel when we visit again. All-in-all a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel on the first floor as some are directly above the entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Stewart S.
Thank you for your recent review, great that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I note your comments about noise in the rooms and Bar Snacks, we will look at these issues and your comments and feedback are extremely important to us.
Once again thanks and see you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    67
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
102
105
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room for 4 nights at this hotel via Late rooms.com. Chose it mainly cos of location very near to shops & pier. First impressions very friendly, attentive & helpful reception staff. Lovely room, nice decor & very clean. Room service staff very on the ball in cleaning the rooms & all very friendly & polite.
Treated ourselves to meal at the hotel on first night. Absolutely delicious! Lamb shank was so tasty I could have eaten two! Very friendly & attentive waiting on staff. Would have eaten dinner here every evening but couldnt afford it. Although expensive, well worth the money. Excellent chef! Breakfast delicious too! Wide selection of food & drinks. Cooked breakfast made with quality food. Not cheap sausage & bacon! Will be returning again to this hotel & will save enough to eat there every evening! Thanks Merrion!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank atkinsonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Atkinsonfam.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the lamb Shank was so memorable, food is the trademark of our business with both Gareth and I in the kitchen each day, please have a look at out "Merrion Hotel Bread" video on Youtube for an look into the kitchen.
Many thanks
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here bank holiday weekend for the first time. My impressions of the hotel were expensive but nice. We had paid extra for a balcony room which in my opinion was well worth it. Room was lovely with en suite shower flat screen tv etc and food and entertainment were good. There is also plenty of entertainment in other places that you can access. We were also able to park in the secured car park at the back which was excellent.

The down side was the noise outside of the room (125) which came from a radiator WHICH WAS VIBRATING FROM DOWNSTAIRS and sounded like a generator. This noise started at 6.30 am and lasted for an hour. I have read a previous review of the hotel posted only 4 weeks ago which mentions this same complaint however, knowing that this happens the Merrion have decided to let this room which is expensive and let the poor unsuspecting clients be subject to this unbearable noise. Before breakfast I complained, it was noted and staff said something would be done about it. In the evening about 11.30 pm it went off again just as I was falling asleep. My partner went downstairs to complain and someone said they would turn the heating off and then it wouldn't happen. I never heard it again. I also think the staff on reception could be better as every question I asked was answered with a Yes even if It didn't apply! On checking out and leaving the hotel and asking what was the procedure for leaving the key for the secured car park I was told to just drop it off in the box on reception. 40 minutes later into our journey home I received a phone call saying I hadn't paid! Although I was given a receipt with deposit amount on and the balance at the check in on arrival. The hotel assumes everyone has been before and just knows the system. Also worth mentioning WIFI does not work in bedrooms which is only a minor problem and didn't matter to me.

Room Tip: A room on the front with a sea view and a balcony is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Frances25.
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, I would like to apologise for the noisy radiator outside your room, this was the first morning we have used the heating system for 4 months, I saw the forecast for temperatures dropping to 3 or 4 degrees and decided we needed some heat. Unfortunately we had not had the chance to run the system and bleed any problem radiators, the one outside your room was noisy and I am sorry if it woke you up.
The WiFi is available free of charge in the public areas however due to the stone wall in this Victorian building the signal will not travel up to the rooms, we are looking into the possibility of providing WiFi through the phone line into each bedroom, I am told it may be possible and we are looking into it at this moment.
Thanks for your comments we do take notice and we hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We decide to go to Llandudno for an overnight stay on the spur of the moment. we being my 22yo daughter, wife & myself. I managed to book one double & one single room, both of which were located to the rear of the building, so not the best of views but in all honesty we were not there to sit and stare out of the window for the next 24hrs! The rooms were clean and in good condition, ideal for what we wanted for a short stay. We had booked B & B and breakfast in the morning was good with a choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by a full Welsh breakfast.
The Merrion is in a good location on the front, close to the pier & main shopping areas, however parking proved to be a bit of a problem & we resorted to parking some distance away and walking to the hotel. In summary a nice decent hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviespsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi DaviesPSL
Great review and thank you for taking the time to tell other travellers about the Merrion, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments about the staff, we are very proud of them, they work very hard and its nice to see it is appreciated.
See you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from a week in Llandudno, wish it could have been longer!
Excellent hotel
Location excellent
Food 5 stars, in a 3 star hotel!
Staff mostly local and first class.
Our bedroom had was a good size with a good sea view.
Service was FIRST CLASS.
Lift needs updating, and why in Wales no Welsh TV stations on TVs in bedrooms for local news?
We WILL RETURN!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, parking at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Robert.
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First time staying in Llandudno. A very good experience. Quite a large bedroom, plenty of cupboard & wardrobe space. Beds very clean & comfortable. A very good night sleep, no noise from anywhere else considering we were quite close to the bar & entertainment. Breakfast was more than enough to set you up for the day. Car parking can be a bit of a problem but the hotel has a private car park just around the corner. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with children as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms suitable for disabled visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Ian S.
Thanks for a great review and thank you for staying with us for the first time, parking in Llandudno like everywhere else is a problem, we are fortunate to have parking to the side and rear of the hotel for 6 cars as well as a garage compound for around 20 cars, all provided free of charge. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at the Merrion. We are a family with age range from 70 yrs down to 6 yrs and find the hotel suits us all perfectly. The staff are excellent, the location is wonderful for pier, beach and town. Cannot fault management of hotel when we had minor gripe- immediate and personal response. We always highly recommend the Merrion to all our friends for a short family holiday with fabulous food. Thank you again to the Merrion staff for a lovely break.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi CE.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay, I am pleased you were happy with the hotel and the service and that the issue you had was dealt with quickly.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing