We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

An extremely well situated hotel. Our room was clean, bed comfy, easy to use shower. Our 3 main requirements for a hotel room. It was a little dated though. Next, the food. Superb with an excellent choice.
We had a sea view but had to take turns to see it! Our window was quite small so if it's a sea view you are after then ask for a room with a bay window.
All the staff are helpful, especially in the restaurant.
Evening entertainment on each night of our stay. Different every night.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window if wanting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetroadq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Sodukufans.
Thank you for posting a review of your recent holiday with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and appreciate your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    61
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
97
97
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Good food at the hotel. 15 choices of desert on the menu.

Waitress are helpful and friendly, however the time between each course is to long.

Reception staff apart from one are a bit stuck up.

My hotel room was good apart from the bed wall lamp didn't work, I told reception on the first day of my holiday and it wasn't fixed by the time I had left.

The cleaners are very good, and the rooms are kept very clean.



The lift can only take 4 people at a time, so I often found I had to take the stairs.


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_roey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Mark.
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, I have noted your comments, the bedside light has now been repaired, we were waiting for a new pair of lights which had been ordered to arrive, and have now been installed, I am sorry for the inconvenience.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

First time at the Merrion but it will not be our last! Stayed three nights. The staff were great especially the waiters' in the dining room who could not do enough to please. The only let down was the location of our rooms, the family room was directly above the stage/entertainment area (entertainment every night but thankfully it finished at 1100) the other room was directly above the kitchen area (some chatter around 0615 followed by the smell of bacon cooking). Despite this we plan to return and, hopefully, get quieter rooms! Breakfast was very good though the one lunch of toasted sandwiches was disappointing (burnt chips, soggy salad leaves and 'unusual' taste to the toasted sandwiches). Had one evening meal consisting of three different main courses all of which were very good. We do not usually eat in the hotel we are staying in preferring to 'eat out' but we would have no hesitation in taking our evening meals at the hotel when we visit again. All-in-all a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel on the first floor as some are directly above the entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Stewart S.
Thank you for your recent review, great that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I note your comments about noise in the rooms and Bar Snacks, we will look at these issues and your comments and feedback are extremely important to us.
Once again thanks and see you again soon.
Regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room for 4 nights at this hotel via Late rooms.com. Chose it mainly cos of location very near to shops & pier. First impressions very friendly, attentive & helpful reception staff. Lovely room, nice decor & very clean. Room service staff very on the ball in cleaning the rooms & all very friendly & polite.
Treated ourselves to meal at the hotel on first night. Absolutely delicious! Lamb shank was so tasty I could have eaten two! Very friendly & attentive waiting on staff. Would have eaten dinner here every evening but couldnt afford it. Although expensive, well worth the money. Excellent chef! Breakfast delicious too! Wide selection of food & drinks. Cooked breakfast made with quality food. Not cheap sausage & bacon! Will be returning again to this hotel & will save enough to eat there every evening! Thanks Merrion!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank atkinsonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Atkinsonfam.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the lamb Shank was so memorable, food is the trademark of our business with both Gareth and I in the kitchen each day, please have a look at out "Merrion Hotel Bread" video on Youtube for an look into the kitchen.
Many thanks
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here bank holiday weekend for the first time. My impressions of the hotel were expensive but nice. We had paid extra for a balcony room which in my opinion was well worth it. Room was lovely with en suite shower flat screen tv etc and food and entertainment were good. There is also plenty of entertainment in other places that you can access. We were also able to park in the secured car park at the back which was excellent.

The down side was the noise outside of the room (125) which came from a radiator WHICH WAS VIBRATING FROM DOWNSTAIRS and sounded like a generator. This noise started at 6.30 am and lasted for an hour. I have read a previous review of the hotel posted only 4 weeks ago which mentions this same complaint however, knowing that this happens the Merrion have decided to let this room which is expensive and let the poor unsuspecting clients be subject to this unbearable noise. Before breakfast I complained, it was noted and staff said something would be done about it. In the evening about 11.30 pm it went off again just as I was falling asleep. My partner went downstairs to complain and someone said they would turn the heating off and then it wouldn't happen. I never heard it again. I also think the staff on reception could be better as every question I asked was answered with a Yes even if It didn't apply! On checking out and leaving the hotel and asking what was the procedure for leaving the key for the secured car park I was told to just drop it off in the box on reception. 40 minutes later into our journey home I received a phone call saying I hadn't paid! Although I was given a receipt with deposit amount on and the balance at the check in on arrival. The hotel assumes everyone has been before and just knows the system. Also worth mentioning WIFI does not work in bedrooms which is only a minor problem and didn't matter to me.

Room Tip: A room on the front with a sea view and a balcony is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Frances25.
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, I would like to apologise for the noisy radiator outside your room, this was the first morning we have used the heating system for 4 months, I saw the forecast for temperatures dropping to 3 or 4 degrees and decided we needed some heat. Unfortunately we had not had the chance to run the system and bleed any problem radiators, the one outside your room was noisy and I am sorry if it woke you up.
The WiFi is available free of charge in the public areas however due to the stone wall in this Victorian building the signal will not travel up to the rooms, we are looking into the possibility of providing WiFi through the phone line into each bedroom, I am told it may be possible and we are looking into it at this moment.
Thanks for your comments we do take notice and we hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We decide to go to Llandudno for an overnight stay on the spur of the moment. we being my 22yo daughter, wife & myself. I managed to book one double & one single room, both of which were located to the rear of the building, so not the best of views but in all honesty we were not there to sit and stare out of the window for the next 24hrs! The rooms were clean and in good condition, ideal for what we wanted for a short stay. We had booked B & B and breakfast in the morning was good with a choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by a full Welsh breakfast.
The Merrion is in a good location on the front, close to the pier & main shopping areas, however parking proved to be a bit of a problem & we resorted to parking some distance away and walking to the hotel. In summary a nice decent hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviespsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi DaviesPSL
Great review and thank you for taking the time to tell other travellers about the Merrion, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments about the staff, we are very proud of them, they work very hard and its nice to see it is appreciated.
See you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from a week in Llandudno, wish it could have been longer!
Excellent hotel
Location excellent
Food 5 stars, in a 3 star hotel!
Staff mostly local and first class.
Our bedroom had was a good size with a good sea view.
Service was FIRST CLASS.
Lift needs updating, and why in Wales no Welsh TV stations on TVs in bedrooms for local news?
We WILL RETURN!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, parking at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Robert.
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing