We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay with lovely food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay with lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We have stayed in the Merrion Hotel ten times and every stay has been excellent! The service cannot be faulted and the quality of the food never fails to delight us. Its location is unmatched in Llandudno- the promenade, the pier and the shops are all within easy reach while the more athletic have easy access to the Great Orme. This year the room keys were replaced by swipe cards, which made life much easier. The new car park is also easier to access.
We look forward to our next visit- if only they could guarantee the weather!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    61
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
96
95
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

lovely clean hotel, great sea views. travelled with disabled relative and all areas easily accesible with wheelchair. would recommend the merrion.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejetsetter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

we stayed at the Merion hotel over easter and had a very enjoyable time there, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, the room was perfect for us,clean,warm and well equipped with towels, and toiletries. the decor was nice in the whole hotel. The breakfast was lovely and tasty and everyone was given an easter egg too !! I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Have just returned from this hotel after spending a few days there. The minute you enter the front door and walk into the reception you are greeted by warm and friendly staff who make the whole thing easy. Bedrooms are very clean, warm and cosy with everything supplied in them that you need for a home from home atmosphere. The lounge area and dining room have a warm homely atmosphere and the choice of menu is fantastic. Bar staff are also very friendly.
Entertainment in the hotel each evening is very good. Disabled facilities are also very good at this hotel if you need them.
All the staff are very friendly especially Manwella and Vicky.
Thank you for making my stay so super and for helping me to chill out.
This hotel is also now run by the 3rd generation of the same family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEAK DISTRICT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Very efficient booking in and porter to take bags to the room. Car parking can be a problem at certain times of the day - but hotel has own garage down the back streets and staff are helpful in this aspect. As we had a front facing room there were beautiful views of the bay. The room, as was the rest of the Hotel was very clean and was maintained daily, replacing everything as required. Would have liked decaf tea/coffee and biscuits on the tray.
Meals were nice - good breakfast - smoked haddock and mushrooms were off the menu since our last visit. Evening meal again good standard and plenty of it, although would liked more veg and less potatoes but they come together ready plated. Felt a little rushed at times as plates removed as soon as finished and orders taken promptly. We like to linger over dinner. Good level of efficient staff who were happy to chat and help when needed. Evening entertainment not very exciting for us but obviously suited many. One area of dissapointment was the lift, there is only one and it is very small, at mealtimes you can wait for a long time to go up or down as it is constantly in use. We will return and have already re booked. Don’t loose the personal touch

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GICHING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing