We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!”
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Ranked #26 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: US$17 - US$62
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Don't be put off by location and setting - up the stairs to large impersonal room. The food is first rate and with good service. Had the Set Meal for 2 - could not fault it for quality,taste and variety.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    259
    115
    53
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First time here”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First time visit on a Saturday night in November whilst in North Wales. We chose Asia as it looked busier than a similar restaurant opposite and the outcome was very good.

The restaurant is upstairs so not ideal for the less mobile diners (gents tolilets are down another set of stairs). Once in the restaurant we were asked to take a seat in the bar area which took a few minutes but once seated the service was quick and friendly.

It was about 6.30pm and the main part of the restaurant was full so we were ushered into the 'overflow' area. In there most people were seated in the windows (was it for the view or to make the place look busy?). The second part of the restaurant was full by 7pm so we made it just in time!

The prices were reasonable and there were quite a few house speciality dishes to chose from. Two very slight grumbles - the popadoms were very thin and tend to crumble easily (usually just as you are about to place in your mouth) and if covered in chutney this can be messy! On the menu it would help if a spice ratings can be added next to the dishes, as in similar establishments, especially when looking at house dishes that customers may not have seen before.

Overall the food and service was excellent.

The room decor is an acquired taste and from a H&S point of view I dont think the mobile heater should be placed in the middle of the entrance to to 'overflow' room (especially if young children are present).

Plenty of positive Trip Advisor' comments in the entrance area outside but these are quite old - a nice idea but put the newer ones in as well otherwise folk will think no one has enjoyed their visits in the last three years!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb example of a top class indian restaurant”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have eaten in many indian restaurants and this is one of the best I have tried. We booked for nine but could arrive until ten (having rung to rearrange) - it was not problem, nothing was too much trouble! The service was very friendly and efficient, easily coping with our large party of 12. Food arrived piping hot and in good time. The menu contains a good number of house specialities which are a cut above the normal menu offerings. I tried one of these and it was delicious. The restuarant was clean - could do with some redecoration but this was nothing serious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rock-me-Amadeus-Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“why did I leave it so long to eat here?”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This has just got to be one of the finest Indian restaurants in Wales ,if not the UK.My family and me had originally booked to dine at another highly rated by TRIP ADVISOR local Indian restaurant but because I made a mistake in my booking arrangements we could not eat there so we opted to try ASIA.I am so glad we did.The service was warm,friendly and efficient.The food was simply stunning.The price a very reasonable £120 between 5 people including drinks ,starters and dessert for 3/5.The restaurant is large and on the night we were there fully filled with many people waiting at the bar and this was at 7pm.I cannot recommend ASIA enough.Cannot wait tro go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getaboutalotwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“Be prepared to be spoiled”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited this restaurant last night (07.11.13). This is one of the most delicious Indian meals we have ever eaten. The menu is extensive and varied and caters for all tastes of Indian cuisine. We had the Asia platter (for 2) to start and this was absolutely delicious. For mains we had Chicken Danshak and Chicken Samber, both wonderful and filling. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I listened in to other diner's commenting on their meal and all was positive. We will certainly go back here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smythann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing