We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a shame about the decor”
Review of The Lilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lilly
Ranked #127 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“what a shame about the decor”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we stayed here a few years ago and we still feel the same about it that the hotel is desperately in need of renovating properly. We were in a seaview room which was tiny and the decor awful but they had tried with the bathroom but there was no extraction fan or shelf and the water was only lukewarm and considering it was december was not very good. The radiator in the bedroom wasn't working properly neither did the tv!
BUT.. the food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely and the staff so friendly it compensated for all of the rest of it, unfortunately the really tasty breakfast was spoilt by it being served in the brasserie which we felt was a cold and empty room which had the tv (working !) on one side accompanied by a radio playing on the other side.
Everywhere just looks so tatty and cheap , i wouldn't be able to recommend it to friends because i would be embaressed!
We have to visit this area regularly and will probably not stay again but would call in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    28
    23
    13
See reviews for
20
90
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It's hard to know if the hotel is being renovated and therefore some issues can be accepted or if they are just not bothering and you feel you're not getting what you paid for.
We stayed in room 4.

Positive aspects:
good location with great views
good breakfast
good bathrooms
comfortable bed
independent hotel
good decoration (furniture)

Negative aspects:
it was cold in the room because the heating was on a timer and only started working at 6pm! We had to ask to have it all day.
the front door of the B&B needs being replaced. As a first contact with the establishment, a door with cracked paint and broken window panes isn't very inviting.
the room door hasn't been painted (doesn't look nice at all) and looks quite thin and not very good at keeping the room safe.
there was no wifi available
no shower gel in bathroom (but shampoo and conditioner)
lighting in bathroom not very good
no lift (wasn't a problem for me but may be for some people)

I don't like writing negative comments on an independent hotel and I don't want to harm the owners if they're working very yard at keeping their hotel, but are they really?
Personally, I can't say I had a negative experience, howeverI wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room4: if no heating in the afternoon, it's because it's set on a timer and only starts at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evmasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I agree with some comments left on this site regarding The Lilly Hotel Bar & Restaurant, condition, size etc.
Having booked with Trivago, we got a sea fronted room for £65. Bed + Breakfast.
We stayed in room 6. To list a few areas that the owners could attend are;
Down light in shower not working.
No shower shelf in cubicle to put soap, toiletries etc.
When you turn the temperature of shower colder, the pressure of the water sprays out of the back of shower head and over the cubicle.
No extractor in bathroom - A big turn off for the wife! Nobody likes the bodily smells to transfer into bedroom, especially if it's a romantic weekend.
No wall light above or next to the bed.
Now for the plus+ points.
Staff were very well trained, very polite and smartly dressed.
We were the only couple/people to have dinner in the restaurant, the hotel staff made sure everything was set up, candles lit, correct atmosphere.
The manager when questioned about the hotels selection of Chardonnay wines was very knowledgeable. He brought out 3 bottles for us to look at and then let us make our selection.
The meal was fantastic, a balance of sauces, flavors and cuts of meat/fish cooked perfectly.
As I always finish off my reviews - Question; Would I go back again?
For the food yes. 10 out 10. For the Hotel - No. The owners have tried there hardest in decorating each room with modern bathrooms and good quality beds, sheets etc. Rooms are a bit small and some of the finishes need attention. i.e. copper pipe work running down the wall. Why not block work it in with some ply and then paint it over? Ceiling, shows signs of poor craftsmanship.
Many thanks to all staff for a very good weekend at The Lilly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Approach the front door and you pass through a door, badly needing some paint, glass cracked and door bell hanging off.

Once inside,the place is so uninviting with wall paper hanging off, lumps out of the woodwork and carpet which looked like they had buried the cat under it. I know it was Halloween but it looked like the cobwebs had been there for years. Don't forget to look out for the dead daddy long legs behind the door.
Nobody on Reception, so rang the bell, and rang the bell and rang the bell. Then set off to find someone. Surely there will be someone in the bar? I could hear voices so stood at the bar for a few minutes, the voices were coming from a back room. What a lovely welcome, listening to staff members swearing!

Finally got someones attention who checked us in. No information provided about meals or bar etc.

Up to the room and was unpleasantly surprised. Dirty carpets in the hall and more chipped paintwork, wallpaper hanging off and wallpaper which had been badly painted over.The room itself was not too bad as was spacious and had a lovely seaview accompanied by a very comfortable bed. The theme of the room is somewhat confusing as it appears to want to be Victorian but has really naff copy furniture. It was a freezing cold evening and the heating was not put on till 7pm. Should have taken my hot water bottle! Overall, the room appears to have been decorated/furnished on a very tight budget. These comments have been made several times before on reviews and nothing appears to be getting better.

Seperate spacious bathroom but little details like no toilet roll holder and Jacuzzi bath not working let it down.


Breakfast is served from 8 am. That's strange, we went down at 8 and the place was deserted. We waited and someone turned up for work at 8.05. No apologies.
Breakfast is served in Brassiere which, as someone else has stated is grubby and uninviting. No cereals out or juice out. Asked for toast at 8.10 and it arrived at 8.35. We waited that long for our breakfast that if we hadn't of already paid, we would have walked out. Clearly this was as the result of the staff member rolling in late.

Conclude that this establishment has an identity crisis. It doesn't know if it wants to be a fine restaurant, a hotel or a pub. It is trying to be something its not.Its trying to get 4* and in my opinion, it has a long way to go.

Shame really because I visit Llandudno every few weeks and was looking for a regular base. One shoddy experience and they have blown the opportunity for me to return over and over again and spend alot of money. No doubt they will have done this to many other guests.

Room Tip: Shop around and if this place is cheapest, fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here bed and breakfast for £85 apparently reduced from £200 through Late Rooms. We had room 4. Although they are trying very hard its overall a little ill conceived. They have tried to put in a flashy bathroom but in reality it is not practical and looks a bit naff. It is not antique furniture but reproduction stuff which does not appear to be standing the test of time terribly well. The bedding felt cheap but was very clean. The breakfast was delicous!! But the brasserie where it was served was grubby and the coffee was instant. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but if i had paid the advertsed headline rate of £200 i would be very dissaponted. Also did not get our home made chocolates or bath robes. If they are aiming at the luxury market here i suggest they have a rethink on the refurbishments taking place. In conclusion its a bit too much style over substance and what makes a good hotel excellent is the little things like fresh coffee and sunday papers with breakfast and better attention to details such as cleaning the chairs in the dining room, Im sure this place will get there and all in all I look forward to trying them out again in a year or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Most reviews on here really compliment this so nearly 4 star guest house ,we we re so excited to get a room for £70 with breakfast.Almost half the rooms are getting a face lift but all the sea view ones are finished.We were shown to room 6 ,double with sea view,nice bed ,furniture all good but no room to swing a cat ,no bed side tables ,no lamps ,curtains hanging off ,dirty marked walls ,half painted ceiling,mould inside double glazing ?marks on bedding ,cushions shabby and tired.Bathroom is fantastic and sleekly done but no were to put your toiletries ,no shelve near sink or in shower,and our luck toilet flush button was broke.A big emphasis is on the restaurant and it looks fab .brasserie and bar smartly done too.Staff were great and helpful .All in all a gem on the horizon in great location but 3 star at present,more attention given to hotel side as food side ,this up coming guest house could be 5 star ..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideMike1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our stay in the Lilly was o.k. We had room 4 with the red tiles and electric flashing shower but the bathroom lighting is very poor and almost impossible to see in the mirror to have a shave. The plumbing was suspect as the shower tray didn't empty and the w.c. had a very low level of water and I suspect that there is no air admittance valve fitted to the soil vent pipe as the w.c. is on an interior wall and cannot benefit from an exterior soil vent pipe! This problem could be cured relatively simply and their local plumber could install one fairly easily. The bathroom fitments are lovely but the way they have been fitted leaves a lot to be desired.
The young couple who have purchased the Lilly are lovely people and need to have a little time to get things sorted out and I hope for their sake that they do take on board some of our criticism in the positive way it is offered.
Overall this will be a very nice little establishment in a lovely position overlooking the sea in Llandudno and we wish every success to the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusPassHolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodnant Guest House
Bodnant Guest House
#39 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lilly

Property: The Lilly
Address: West Parade, Llandudno LL30 2BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lilly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lilly Hotel Llandudno
The Lilly Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing