We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming Hotel and noisy during night due to plumbing”
Review of Brig-y-Don Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brig-y-Don Hotel
Ranked #91 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2011

went with David Urqharts tours will not be going again. reception staff unwelcoming running guests down couldnt sleep during night as ensuite toilets are fitted with macerators that are incredibly noisy, so bad i went and booked into another hotel i had used before to get a nights sleep. i complained about the noise but the receptionist just laughed and walked away being very rude and saying we already know about it.
Food poor and i couldnt get a decent drink due to them only supply free cheap booze and i was willing to pay for mine, but couldnt get one. staff didnt help guests at all our coach driver had to look after us during the stay. You were only issued with one sachet of tea and coffee and once used you had to purchase additional ones for 10p each.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank austinallegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

despite one or two problems mainly wit the staff on reception the holiday was very good ,the food was good with good choices entertainment good ,the free bar and glass of wine were well recieved and also the free daily paper.
the rooms were fair ours was lovely with a lovely sea view

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

went to hotel with david urquhart tours hotel room was filthy staff were surly food was barely edible tatty dining room and the bar was like a third world dentists waiting room

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tansy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My Mother and Father , both pensioners had visited this hotel on 1 occasion previous.
This being their 2nd visit to this place.Through no fault of the hotel my father died there on there 1st night of a 4 night stay. Although an ambulance was
called, Iam sorry to say that my mum
was left unattended in the room for 20 minutes whilst my father died, so this is an obvious conclusion that at the time there was mot a
First Aider in the hote. There would have been nothing they could have done to save him anyway.
Upon collection of my Mother from a St Asaph hospital we returned to the Brig y don hotel in LLandudno to collect my Fathers car and clothes.
As you can imagine the family where gutted by our loss, so the last thing on or minds was any money concerns however a male member of staff approached me and
stated that a sympathy card and a refund would be posted to my mother. I thanked him.
We colllected there goods from the rooom and proceeded to leave the premises.
Upon exit we where confronted by the said member of staff and a second staff member(female). They both then again stated, without any prompting that a refund and
card would be sent out to my mother.
Needless to say after 4 calls and a recorded delivery letter and well over 3 months we have not recieved one phone call or letter back,correspondents,
which was promised by the owner to My Mother never turnde up, ever attempt has been fruitless.
So we enlisted the help of Help the aged. Who where confronted by this lack of compassion in a dread situation.
I have now also sent a recorded delivery letter to the owners and have not recieved any correspondents,
which was promised by the owner, ever attempt has been fruitless.
As for the standard of hotel I cannot comment on the treatment as a guest but it is a shoddy run down place and at £100 a night for a double room, it is also
well over priced with miss match furniture and wall paper peeling off the walls. And as can such is not even graded.
The Family do not care about the money owing to My Mother, it is the arrogant, ignorant attitude that has depressed uwhen we have had also to contend with the
loss of our Father, not even a sympathy card, no compassion.
I do hope this will persuade peoople not to waste time with these folks.
How do people sleep at night, does it make you wonder.

Stayed: May 2010
5  Thank mikeyspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

we enjoyed our stay at the brig y don hotel. For this sort of break, five days by coach, the food was as good as any we have ever had. The staff were friendly and accomodating and the entertainment of an evening was fair. OK so the place is a bit tired but so are most of the old seaside hotels. we had a brand new telly in the bedroom the beds were comfortable and clean and the towels were changed daily.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Being a seafront hotel,you would expect it to be well looked after.How wrong we were,first appearances determine what is inside.Lack of maitenance and upkeep of the hotel are in abundance,is this why it is for sale?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dondi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank rosi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig-y-Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig-y-Don Hotel

Address: Central Promenande, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brig-y-Don Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Brig Y Don Hotel in Llandudno. Glenn, Lisa, and staff at the Brig Y Don Hotel offer quality guest accommodation. We are a family run establishment which provides warm hospitality in a clean, relaxed and friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Brig-y-Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig-y-Don Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing