We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed!”

Barnacles Chip Shop
Ranked #31 of 212 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Came into Barnacles for something to eat on New Year's Day morning before catching our train back to Liverpool. I had the Cod Special and my partner the all day breakfast - it was exactly what we needed after a lively New Year's Eve celebration! The food arrived quickly and piping hot, and it was fresh, tasty, and really excellent value for money. Will be visiting again the next time we're in Llandudno.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iMacourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    138
    70
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great gluten free fish and chips and more!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I always try to have a take away from here whenever I visit relatives in Llandudno (3 times a year approx.). There is an extensive gluten free menu and the gf food is cooked in a dedicated separate fryer to order. The gf batter on thefish is crispy and indistinguishable from normal batter, apart from the fact that it is a brighter orange colour. For families with children with coeliac disease this place is a must because, besides the normal café menu, they have gf fish,gf burgers,gf pies etc all cooked without any chance of contamination. The takeaway has an eat-in café next to it. My non-coeliac relatives enjoy the food here too!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great traditional chips on the sea front”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great quality chips, not too greasy and had a decent crunch. Very reasonably priced and in a great location, not too far from the sea front. Thank you :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best places to go if you love Fish and Chips!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've been to Llandudno on several occasions and particularly enjoy stopping here for lunch. We ordered 2 specials and the ladies were really friendly and were able to change the format of the special without complaint (No mushy peas, Soft Drink instead of a hot drink)

The Fish and Chips is particularly delightful and I have to say that they are one of the best Fish and Chip Shops who cater for Gluten Free and Vegetarian diners - All the meals are very clearly described and its always a pleasure to come here

I do agree about the Decor, however this doesnt attract from the overall enjoyment of the food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Basic food at a good price”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went in because of all the reviews and Tripadvisor stickers on the window - it was your very basic British cuisine - tasty, filling, cheap. Good selection for vegetarians and gluten free and huge portions for the price. Decor is basic and atmosphere is old cafe style and it was full of local oldies - would be good if you wanted to fill up kids for a good price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnacles Chip Shop also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Barnacles Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing