We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was dissapointing and less than I was expecting!”

Barnacles Chip Shop
Ranked #36 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was dissapointing and less than I was expecting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and my partner both ordered the "giant" Yorkshire pudding with high expectations and were met with an over priced, greasy and disappointing meal. The veg was a little under cooked and it was very greasy. As it was £7.50 each we left dissapointed.. Chips are nice though!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chloeebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    120
    63
    28
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Basic fish n chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Fish n chips freshly cooked .... offered the special which included tea/coffee..... peas.....bread n butter but only wanted fish n chips and a cold drink ..... but due to high price(£1.80) of a very small glass of coke wish I had picked the special !!! I was told after that I could have had coke instead of a hot drink but too late then.Food itself was hot and service was ok ...... wouldn't rush back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank imagine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for here,£7.50 for cod, oven chips tea and one b@b,if its quality that you are after this is not the place for you, ok for a cheap meal !

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Just A Chippy~ HOMEMADE Lasagne Is Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We were just walking past Barnacles, haven't been in before but the smell of fish n chips is like a magnet to my old man, aka Victor Meldrew, he loves his fish & chips:) The menu isn't just your typical chippy menu which we were expecting! I was so pleased to see a specials board & both the Fish n Chips & the HOMEMADE Lasagne were REALLY tasty. The young waitress was so lovely ( it does make a difference when the staff are genuinely friendly) A basic cafe but with a first class service, lovely food and reasonably priced. I would go back time and time again just for the lasagne, really nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good quality food at a reasonable price. The service was fast and efficient with very friendly staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TH652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnacles Chip Shop also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Barnacles Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing