We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We came to the Empire as part of our holiday touring North Wales and found it to be a great hotel. The service is excellent and the room was gorgeous. The food in the main restaurant was very good , with attentiive waiter service. Loved the mixture of old and new, as the hotel had obviously been recently refurbished but had selectively kept some of the old pieces of furniture eg. welsh dressers. This meant that you didn't feel it was part of a chain. The car park is small and very tight so would only recommend it if you are good at parking. The location is just up a side road from the main promenade, so the position is quieter, but you have everything within 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    173
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
195
430
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having needed to travel to the Llandudno area to work most weeks requiring a minimum of at least one night overnight stay per week from Aug 2010 to Mar 2011, I can tell you that I've stayed in a few places in Llandudno, but that my favourite is the Empire!

The Empire is one a just a few that has leisure facilities including a swimming pool, gym & beauty salon. There is a range of rooms available to suit most budgets - with comfy rooms that are well kitted out including flat screen tv & multiple channels, safe, fridge, sewing & shoe polishing kit, complimentary sherry & the homemade shortmade with the tea & coffee making tray is fabulous - it makes my mouth water to just think about it!

The food is excellent & both the poolside & main restaurant offer lovely menus at a very reasonable price & indeed you can order from these to have as room service too if you need to do some work in thje evening in your room or you just want to relax in your room.

There are a couple of small car parks around the hotel & there is free wifi throughout the hotel - just ask at reception for the password.

Staff are very pleasant & with do their best to assist with any request.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

After the hustle and bustle of Christmas and New Year, we love nothing better than our relaxing weekend at the Empire, Pure Luxury..

Room Tip: On arrival the staff are so friendly and continue for the rest of our break, food is excellant and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

what a brilliant hotel, we have stayed in the sister hotels as well, anyone with adverse comments isvery hard to please, beautiful bedrooms, excellent restaurant, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kqv65y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Cannot fault this hotel, from the minute we stepped through the door to the time it was for us to leave. The staff were attentive without being overbearing,nothing was too much trouble, if you asked for anything it was there within a blink of an eye.Loved the Russell Flint prints, chandeliers and the mirrors. Everwhere was spotlessly clean.The food was excellent, served by really friendly staff. The swimming pool was lovely,very relaxing . Just a minor problem in the mens changing rooms, it was very dark.
The standard of service and customer care, was very high. Well done to everyone who works there.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Empire and we definately return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divine2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My mother in law booked a table for 4 of us in June for my birthday. On arrival we decided to have drinks in the lounge, on ordering drinks, we were informed that were we unable to open a tab!! The atmosphere was very stuffy and warm until we went through to the poolside restaurant which was freezing and we had to ask members of staff to turned off the breezy air conditioning twice, only to be told that they needed to keep it cool as other customers have collapsed in the past! Eventually, we did start to warm up after our watery powdered soup and could then take our coats off! We were surrounded by other diners in the coats and fleece jackets. Three of us ordered the steak, the other ordered beef stroganoff. The steaks were over cooked and luckily we all ordered the peppercorn sauce to come separately, it would have made the meal even worse if it was all over the meat as it tasted like a gravy granule concoction. The stroganoff was dry & tasteless, I think it is safe to say we have all, in the past, had better supermarket ready meals. The staff were polite but only did the bare minimum and when we asked for mustard, it was handed to us in the actual jar, no effort was made with presentation and no drinks were offered thorough out the meal! We had to wait over half an hour to be asked if we would like dessert, and for the record, not one of the 4 desserts we ordered was worth the wait! The tables were laid up next to us after the previous diners had left and bread was put straight out on the table, it was there for over an hour before the next diners arrived!!!! I would not return to the Empire and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HannahScottLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Myself, my husband and his parents have stayed here every year for the past three years. This is by far the best hotel in Llandudno, we would not stay anywhere else. The rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The food is great and we dined in the restaurant and also in the bar where the food is excellent and lots of it too. The staff were very well mannered and polite and allway found time for a laugh and joke.The pool and gym are also really good and the pool is of a good size, Only gripe would be for the curtains to close easily as they are on pull cords and hurt your hands!!! Well done the Empire keep the standards going!!

Room Tip: most rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Property: Empire Hotel Llandudno
Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing