We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Seaclyffe Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Min y Don(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rose Tor Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Tudno Hotel(Llandudno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity House(Llandudno)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
725
195
47
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
195
47
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside restaurantdecanter of sherrywatkins restaurantoutdoor poolsunday lunchfour coursessteam room and saunahomemade biscuitsthe main hotelspa facilitieslovely hotelosborne housesister hotela family run hotelmostyn streetdvd playerhigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

old world decore very stylish the clockrooms were unbelievable very clean ,you feel as if you stepped back in time the bedrooms were very spacios clean with seating area flat screne tv and even sherry when you arrived the dineing room was loverly it was our aniversary and we had a private booth the four course dinner was very impressive only complaint we were to warm but hay ho the staff could not have done more to make our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissiewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were really impressed by The Empire Hotel - it's great to find a hotel which has that 'just right' quality. The room (in No 72) was spacious (but not cavernous), decorated in a style appropriate to the age of the building but not twee or chintzy. We loved the little touches such as real leaf tea (as well as tea-bags, if preferred), real coffee and a cafetiere, milk in the fridge. Plus the decanter of sherry. Towels were fluffy, the bed was very comfortable and there was a double chaise-settee for reading and lounging. We ate in the restaurant the first night and thought the meal was exceptional value for the price - £21.95 (I think) pp for 4 courses plus tea or coffee. The dining room has a nice ambiance and the service was excellent - fast and efficient without being obtrusive. The weather during our stay was fabulous so we were out walking (as opposed to using the spa, which I was rather looking forward to) but we did take advantage of the hotel's excellent DVD collection (free loan from reception). Wi-fi free too. The hotel's in a good position close, but not on, the sea-front so we had less noise than most of the other hotels. Finally, car parking was fine - they've got two or three little pockets of car parking spaces/car parks and will let you double park if necessary and they'll move the car for you if they need to. All in all an excellent comfortable stay and very well recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the annex building (No 72) which was lovely and very quiet. Just be aware there are quite a few stairs. Didn't bother us but we're pretty fit. There are lifts in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

we have just returned from a weekend break for our friends 50th birthday celebration. ( he and his wife are regular guests) we had a great time from begining to end. we were a party of 38 and were seated a the end of the resteraunt on 3 tables for all meals. Food was great. fantastic choice and service.
our room was in number 72. great room, spotless and lovely touches. we were on the top floor as stated there is no lift but rooms were fab. The disco on the sat night was great fun with a good atmosphere with all joining in.(all ages). This really is a true gem and the family feel and commitment is evident throughout.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckinneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a midweek break at this gorgeous hotel and have been telling everyone about how gorgeous it was. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Parking was no problem in the hotel car park. Had no need to move the car over the 3 days we were there as we were happy to wander into town, up to the Tram to visit the Great Orme (only a few doors up the same street!) and to be honest we didn't want to leave the hotel it was so comfy and relaxing! The spa is simply devine. The pool is really special, the lighting is so relaxing. I happily moved from sauna to steam room to pool to the loungers to read my book. I had the added luxury of a hot stone full body massage treatment from Leanne which was total luxury. We ate both nights in the restaurant, 4 courses, delicious food that I can't fault. Service very fast and very attentive staff. It was busy both in the restaurant and poolside restaurant (which is a good sign in my book!) so there was a good atmosphere. Hopefully we'll get the chance to return here again soon, I'd certainly recommend The Empire for a relaxing midweek break.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor which was nice and quiet and handy for the lift to the spa with your robe on!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyroseGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just returned once more from a great midweek break. We have been staying here for short breaks at least once a year for more than twenty years. It is like returning home, having known each generation of the family that has managed the hotel. Seen numerous changes over the years; always for the better. All rooms tastefully furnished and long serving staff who are happy to look after your every need. Dining experience wonderful with an extensive and well cooked menu. Perhaps it does help when the executive chef, Michael, is the husband of Elysse, the current manager. Well done to all and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room. Obviously the larger ones are dearer and the rooms in No 72, next to the hotel, are quieter but there isn't a lift if you are on the first or second floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews