We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I visited with my husband & two small sons during the Easter holidays. I had booked a treatment in the spa-but was gutted to find out the beautician has called in sick-I guess these things happen. Our family room was pleasant but on the small side, breakfast was pretty good-with lots of choice for both adults & kids. We didn't each in any of the restaurants, as we are vegetarian & there wasn't much choice on the menu. I had a prosecco cocktail in the bar-but the prosecco was flat so I didn't try another. Staff were pleasant & helpful, plus they were happy to let my kids play computer games on the computer in the foyer. The hi-light for all of us was the lovely pool with its steam room & sauna, which we used every day we were there. We went up the Great Orme on the tramway, which was lots of fun-but there is very little to do once you get to the top.

Room Tip: I think the lower room numbers will be bigger inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I booked into the hotel with my new wife after spending the last 2 nights in a 5* hotel in Cardiff . What a dissapointed .
The room is very small , which surprised me as I booked a larger than average room . The pool was nice but why had the hotel decided that guests wanted to view people in the pool, ( people actually got out of the pool as the restaurant tables starting filling ). The jacuzzi temperature was cold and unexpected . My wide and I dined in the restaurant , the soup was burnt (we informed the staff and recieved an apology) the vegetables were over cooked and the desert , mine being banana and peach crumble was dry , hard and not very nice . We attempted coffee in the lounge (no coffee) . Tomorrow we go to a top hotel in Lancaster .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevehaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Been to this hotel several times over the years and have to say it just gets better. You tend to experience a bygone age where service, cleanliness and civilization are this hotel's prime concern. Treat yourself to a massage - the best I have ever had. I know it's only Wales but you always return feeling rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgeorge28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would love to give this hotel a higher rating but I think taking everything into account 3 star is about right.

I will start with the good.
The main restaurant is very nice with excellent service from some very friendly staff. The food is absolutely fabulous, probably the best hotel food I have ever eaten. It has to be said that in some areas the restaurant is getting ready for refurbishment.

The leisure centre was excellent with a well equipped gym, small swimming pool, steam room and sauna.

The bad.
The room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, so small it makes me wonder why they try to cram extra chairs and a table in it. The paint was peeling off the window sill and the walls had large cracks in them. The chandelier rattled every time someone walked in the bedroom above which was annoying to say the least. The rooms have air conditioning which would be welcome in summer. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was modern but the shower was very poor with hardly any water flow.

This was a standard room and was not the cheapest room in the hotel.

The reception area and lounge. The lounge needed cleaning and looked pretty scruffy with paint peeling off a glass panelled roof, yes glass painted! The reception area was pretty untidy and not very welcoming as a first impression.

On a point of waste, we counted over 20 bulbs in the bedroom most in a ridiculously oversized chandelier that dwarfed the room. The lights can be left on all day as they were by the cleaning staff on the Saturday, no card operated system to turn off the power when out of the room. The hotel has single glazed windows.

This hotel is let down by a lack of maintenance in some areas and would easily get 4 stars if it was well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmanuk37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Because of all the excellent reviews of this hotel, I was expecting something truly sumptuous and so was surprised by the shabbiness of the reception area. We arrived a little early and a large party was checking out, so we were kindly offered drinks in the lounge while we waited. The reception area was cluttered with suitcases, the reception desk looked cluttered and disorganised (unappealing looking kitchen type cupboards at the back), the large vase on the front table was covered in dust. A bizarre "display" cabinet with tins of gillette aftershave etc and the lounge looked in need of a vacuum cleaner. Although to be fair this was probably caused by the large party just leaving and when we came down later it had been vacuumed and looked less cluttered without the suitcases.

We booked a standard room and I think it was possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. It had a very impressive chandalier which overwhelmed the room somewhat. The paintwork and furniture looked very tired and battered - however the room was spottlessly clean, with lovely crisp white bed linen and a very comfortable bed. There were a few nice touches - a fridge, a free safe and a decanter (with sherry? - we didn't drink it though)

The bathroom looked new and was of a lovely, modern design. However, it looked like there had been water damage to the ceiling which hadn't been remedied and the flow from the shower wasn't good.

I was surprised that like most hotels these days there was no system to ensure the lights were automatically switched off when we left the room. The cleaner had left the lights on when we returned on Saturday afternoon - I know I'm being a bit picky now, but I hate to see such waste. I suspect the electricity bill for this hotel is much higher than it need be and is surely not a sustainable way to organise things?

Although I would say I generally had a relaxing stay, I was awoke at around 4am on one of the nights by the tinkling of the chandalier when someone in the room above was walking around.

We used the pool and spa bath on the Friday which was very nice with its lovely subdued lighting. The pool was just the right temperature.

We were rather amused by the old-fashioned, sensual artwork in the hotel. In every room there are paintings of half naked ladies, some with saphic undertones. Perhaps they could do with some Herculean pics to balance them out ;~) My mother-in-law tells me the same pics were in situ when she stayed at the hotel more than 30 years ago.

The food at this hotel was excellent!!! There are so very few places these days where you can get a breakfast cooked to order served on a table with proper table linen. My only slight gripe at breakfast was the tinned rather than fresh fruit :(

There was lots of choice for the evening meal which was fresh, excellently prepared and delicious. We stayed at the hotel on a half-board basis, but noticed that to just eat in the restaurant cost £21.95 for five courses - very, very good value we thought for the quality of the food. Judging by the older age of the average clientele I was a bit worried that the restuarant might be a bit stuffy and overly formal, however there was a very relaxed ambience without any loss of style.

It was great to stay in a hotel that was a bit different, rather than some standardised, homogenous recipe, big chain hotel and although my review has whinged a bit about a few issues, I can see why so many others have raved about it. I think I would be happy to stay there again, but I would upgrade to a better room

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Went to The Empire with my partner to celebrate our anniversary - what a treat. Rooms were clean and spacious, nothing too much trouble for staff, breakfast perfect. We were able to use the spa even after booking out - looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We visited the hotel in the company of friends who had been going there for over 20 years.
It more than lived up to our expectations offering a standard of Welsh hospitality so rarely achieved today. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully furnished. The hot breakfasts were individually prepared from an adequate choice. No having to help yourself from an overheated buffet as is so often the norm today. Dinner was excellent both in terms of quality and choice. The service through out the hotel was exceptional with longstanding staff who greet returning guests as old friends. We were delighted and are returning again in June. We have obviously joined the army of regular guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stirky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
706 reviews
1.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £121 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing