We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but a bit expensive for the room and food that we had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

the empire is a nice hotel the spa facilities are excellent the steam room and sauna is a really relaxing treat but £190 pounds for one night for a family of four is a bit steep the room was nothing special i.e a closet with no doors on as a wardrobe, dust on ornate mirror frames and pictures and a bathroom with grotty tile grouting and fillers does'nt make a four star hotel worthy of the price we got charged and the restaurant was also overpriced fancy food maybe it's me and my family who don,t have a pallet for so called fine dinning and prefer to eat good value filling meals that is of a good price i.e wetherspoons or crown carveries but i found most of the guests at the empire to be upperclass anyway you know the sort we are considerably richer than you are type and who look down there noses at normal working class people we saved up for ages to take our two sons somewhere special as a treat for one son for passing his exams at college and for my second son for working hard and getting good results in his sats tests so i found it a bit of a let down really we could of saved a lot of money and gone to a hotel in blackpool really. also the cheapest bottle of white wine is £15.69 what a rip off

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Empire Hotel Llandudno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Having spent many times in hotels in Llandudno we were assured the Empire was one for the best. Boasting a pool and spa, it certainly looked impressive..but I guess you can be deceived!
Check in was chaos, we arrived on a Sunday and the reception area was packed with people and luggage strewn everywhere, staff standing around with disinterested looks on their faces etc.
We were shown to our room, accessed via the restaurant...so had to drag our luggage through the packed restaurant where people were having Sunday lunch.
I had booked a superior room , but wondered what you actually got which constituted anything vaguely superior.
Room small, tired and grubby looking, no towels or robes, told they were on their way. Pool towels stained and scruffy...pretty dreadful to be honest.
Food in the 'restaurant' very poor, you can't have coffee at the table unless you pay extra, but ou can have it in the lounge for free, so if your partner wants dessert and you just want a coffee, you are told 'sorry it's not possible'
Overpriced, overcrowded and overrated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

from the minute you enter this hotel your every need is attended to with courtesy,nothing is too much trouble .cases taken to the room,,complimentry drinks in the room,air cond,excellent shower,real hot water,food to die for and repectful,pleasant staff throughout the building at all times,we stayed 4 days and will be back,to sample the indoor pool and gym facilities.
great tiime,thanks.

Room Tip: front rooms overlooking town have the best views 2nd floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Me my partner Debbie and our long legged Jack Russell Terrier "Alfie" have just enjoyed a two night stay in this hotel.
We had what they term a "budget" room -which in effect is an inside room ( Room 59) without a view which obviously is reserved for people like us who wish to take along their pets.
Let me say straight way, that there was nothing " budget" about this room.
The room was superb, as was everything about this hotel.
Our first night we dined out (Seahorse , sea food restaraunt across the road from the Empire -see my review)
On the second night we dined in one of the two restaraunts -"Watkins" -Food was beautiful, and the service was second too none! I used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room , my partner went for a manicure. No complaints at all..
This hotel was recommended to us by a friend. He and his wife have stayed there several times.
We will definitely be going back. Also, they have a sister hotel on the front called the Osborne hotel. We went to have a look, WOW! it is beautiful. We will be going there to, but without our dog.
We have been fortunate to stay in some lovely hotels throughout the UK , THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoystonBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you like quaint old fashioned style this is the perfect choice. I've stayed twice now and each time it was really good. The rooms are clean and very individual, they not only provide a hospitality tray with tea, coffee and very nice biscuits they also provide a little decanter of sherry. Another big plus for me is they are doggie friendly, so my bischon frise was very welcome. The food is also very good, we had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and it was excellent as was breakfast. I can't fault the customer service either, the staff were friendly and attentive without being overbearing. One of the waiters saw us with the dog and each morning had a couple of sausages wrapped up especially for him. Will definately be back!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms do not have a view but they are still very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A family run hotel, presenting a warm and welcoming face.The Hotel is quality, shabby Shiek, in a bright Edwardian style, Rooms first class, and sort of romantic, but if it's romance you want, go to the Empire's little sister, Osbourn House, WOW,. First Class food in both dinning rooms, with excelent value. If you feel you fancy a swim then try the pool, a bit public, but great fun. go on give it a try, its the best place in Llandudno

Room Tip: Deal with the Hotel direct, new rooms on top floor, Quiet rooms are at the back. Big cars will have...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Its_Dunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As soon as you arrive you feel at home. We love this hotel, and enjoy every minute of our stay.
All the staff are very attentive, and remember you from your last visit.
The rooms are so comfy, and such a treat to have free wifi in your room.
Elyse and Mrs Maddocks always make you feel special. Mary on reception always makes sure your bill is in order.
The food is excellent. We booked Dinner for each night and is the best in town.
We have already booked again for our next stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCarolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
1.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £117 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing