We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service just needs a smile to complement the surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service just needs a smile to complement the surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed for a mid week break, and having read some very positive reviews here, were looking forward to the experience. On the whole, we were not disappointed. The rooms were very nice, decorated in period furniture, some obviously original, but with well equipped modern bathrooms. The hotel is well situated and close to the town centre. The food was on the whole good, portions were generous, although if I were to be picky,some dishes lacked subtlety, and were slightly overcooked, possibly cooked in advance and re-heated.

The aspect of our stay which I feel could have had the greatest impact on our enjoyment however was the service. To be fair, I cannot say the staff were unhelpful, slow or inefficient, as service was quick, and any requests we had acted upon. What stood out for me was the universal seriousness of all I encountered, from the front of house, through to the dining staff. No-one smiled; There was no small talk or the usual checking that all was ok. It felt as if there had been a tragedy, and everyone was upset and unhappy. A small point maybe; as I say, the service was otherwise good, but surely this is the hospitality industry, and guests should be at least greeted with a smile. It would make such a difference!

  • Liked — Decor/rooms
  • Disliked — Pool area very busy/noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    173
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
195
430
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

We have just spent a really relaxing time at the Empire Hotel, LLandudno, North Wales, the welcome was friendly and help offered with luggage.The room was beautifully furnished with an extremely comfortable bed, the bathroom had just been refurbished, and tea & coffee making facilities in the room were very good. We had a choice of eating either in the Watkins Restaurant , slightly more formal than the newly refurbished Pool Side restaurant and bistro, both enjoying a high quality of food. The staff were attentive but not over the top and we enjoyed coffee and drinks after dinner in the warm ambience of the lounge/ bar area. Although our stay was quite brief this time we will certainly return to the Empire to enjoy again the good food, friendliness of staff and the hotels ambient surroundings.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PAKloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We have been regular visitors to the Empire for Easter breaks for a number of years. Our most recent visit was Easter 2008. The standard is consistently high. Despite trips further afield in the summer we rarely, if ever, find anywhere to match the standard achieved by the Empire.

The Empire offers wonderful traditional Victorian opulence. It is located in a commanding position facing down Llandudno's main street; Mostyn Street. The hotel is palatial in both public rooms and bedrooms. It also offers all the luxuries one would expect to find in a modern hotel including an indoor heated swimming pool, extensive fitness facilities, all rooms en-suite and all rooms with wide flat screen TV & DVD.

The hotel's "Watkins & Co." restaurant serves excellent food including wonderful 4 course dinners, followed by coffee, at a fixed price. Half board deals are worth considering as they make the food even better value. Food is also offered at the poolside bar.

The hotel is independently owned. This shows in the attention to detail in all respects, and particularly in the high standard of service.

A free car part is available to the rear and an additional one to the side of the hotel.

Highly recommended. Give it a try.

  • Liked — High quality everywhere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank goldngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

This is a hotel stayed in regularly for business, always good. So good I booked my family in to celebrate my wife's Birthday with my two sons (6 & 10.)

All staff were very friendly, helpful & great with the boys.

Our deal included breakfast, dinner & Sunday lunch. All can be highly recommended.

Pool is newly renvovated and good but gym is excellent.

The hotel exudes old-world charm and how hotels should be.

  • Liked — Food & friendly service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GJP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

We didn't stay at this little gem but we ate in the restaurant!We didn't book,arrived at 7.30.The last time we set foot in the hotel was 8 years ago so thought it may have lost some of its charm.Wrong!We bought a drink then asked if they had a table.They now have two restaurants ,one overlooking the indoor swimming pool and the older ,more formal dining room.
The charming young man by the pool said that due to a car rally (beautiful ,old cars of all sorts!)that they had a large party in but if we were willing to wait a little while then he was sure he could get us in.So we went back into the lounge where a waiter we recognized from all those years ago approached us asking if we wanted to dine.We said yes and he said he had a table whenever we were ready in the older restaurant!Very nice it looked as well!They are in the process of adding modern touches to it.

We had a fantastic meal ,4 courses for £19.00 and a coffee.Our waiter had been there 31 years as had the others,they worked like clockwork,prompt service with a smile and a chat(Not so long your food got cold,very professional)lovely and hot and the rib-eye steak was the very best I have tasted.I like to think I'm a bit of a foodie,love to cook and like to use local ,fresh products whenever I can...this steak in red wine sauce was to die for!

Back into the lounge and plenty of free coffee,by this time the car folks had arrived and the place had a real buzz to it but the lounge was so restful ,great for people watching so all in all we had a super night!This place has a lot to answer for as far as my husband is concerned!The hotel has one of the largest collections of Russell Flint's watercolours that you will see together.8 years ago ,we fell in love with his work and have collected his prints ever since!

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastMidlandsMarash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

The perfect boutique hotel in the American sense. I could go on and on lauding its excellence but rest my case with five spheres. You will not be disappointed.

Allan Watson

  • Liked — Decanter of sherry in room
  • Disliked — not applcable
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

This is a hotel that never has a problem filling its rooms. Why? Because its loyal customers return year after year, and are always assured of a warm welcome, the beds are among the most comfortable you will have ever slept on, and the eccentric layout notwithstanding, the rooms are pleasantly furnished with lovely genuine antiques. (i.e. the furniture, although I'm sure the antique guests are genuine enough too.)

It is not without its problems (hence I have only clicked at 4 dots rather than five). Because of the demand for rooms, there is little care that while some of the public areas are being refurbished to bring it out of the 1960s, people are having to wade through builders rubble. A boutique hotel would either close down a section of the hotel, and get in overnight contractors. But this is not a boutique hotel, and thank goodness for that. I feel that many a popular boutique hotel will have closed in a decade or two, and the Empire will still be grinding along, providing old-fashioned courteous attentive service, and comfortable, well furnished rooms at a reasonable price.

I don't know where they got all of their bedroom furniture from, because I have stayed there a few times now, and each room has really gorgeous antique beds, bedside tables, drawers etc. All different, all unique. It really works. It is not some kind of anodyne/insipid "bought for hotel" job-lot, it looks like these pieces are chosen, well loved, and well placed. Some rooms have fantastic big flat screen tvs with a great range of channels. Some don't. It's a bit of a lucky bag really. Most rooms have free wifi access, I never had a problem accessing it. One of my colleagues couldn't. But he had an excuse to watch Sky Sports all night on his massive HD screen instead of catching up on work, so he didn' t mind.

The hotel's public area has a pretty lounge/seating area chocker with leather sofas and newspapers. Although the bar area behind it is trying to be extremely modern and sports bar-ish, which is, in my opinion, out of keeping, and will date very quickly. The loos are lovely, and immaculately kept, as one would expect. The main dining room has character, although it is an ambience that would have appealed more a decade or two ago. Similarly, the food is a bit dated. And a bit over-cooked. But then, most of the people in the dining room prefer it like that, so I can see where the management are coming from.

The poolside food area is a bit strange, although it seems popular. It's lighting makes you feel like you are an extra from Logan's Run. It also put us off using the pool, partly because we felt that baring our ample swimsuit-clad flesh would put people off their dinners, but mainly because we didn't want to be goldfish while people ate. Gawping at us chomping on dinner while we splashed around self-consciously.

Saying all that, I would go there again. I felt totally at home there, totally relaxed. And I don't think I have ever slept on a more comfortable mattress. And the management and the staff were courteous, hard-working, unstuffy and effortlessly charming.

  • Liked — Great, friendly international staff.
  • Disliked — Building Works. And the dreadful shared iron that doesn't work and stains clothes.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Property: Empire Hotel Llandudno
Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing