We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visit to The Empire.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Once again we visited The Empire.(37 years.) I'm sure that speaks for itself. Eight friends had our annual expedition to Wales and were blessed with wonderful weather and the normal excellent service.
We had a slight problem with dinner on the first night because one of our party loves traditional vegetables and not the new rage ' crushed etc!' However a word with Elise ,(the ever professional hostess) and calm returned the following evening.
The accomodation was it's usual high spec and we are looking forward to the re-vamp of the roof terrace when we return next year,
Just one little niggle from us 'unclean cigar smokers.' Could we please have ashtrays on the terrace tables to indulge our 'filthy habit' after an enjoyable dinner.
Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dottherot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights from 18th July 2014 in room 41 which is also known as Bronwen

Room 41 is a corner room situated on the top floor in the eaves with open beams and a dual aspect looking towards the promenade and the sea and down along the Main Street and across the estuary to the hills beyond

The room was reasonably spacious with a big comfortable bed with 2 easy chairs, a bedside cabinet, a table which could be used to work at, open hanging space, a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities plus a bathroom "box" that has been built within the room containing a modern suite with a very controllable shower over the bath - so far so good - but the hotel also provides little welcoming touches such as homemade biscuits, a tea towel and a decanter with enough sherry for 2 glasses - in addition the sash windows open to allow for a breeze and if its gets too hot there is air conditioning to cool the temperature - for digital surfers there is an acceptable wifi signal - there is a large wall mounted tv in the corner of the room - during our stay the only noise we were aware of were the seagulls

The hotel has 2 car parks with spaces for 50 cars for 60 rooms - parking is not guaranteed and spaces are double parked so you need to leave your keys at reception so your car can be moved to let others out - we didn't use our car during the stay and whilst it was moved it was no problem to get out when we left

The hotel is well located at the top of a slight hill - it is close to the Great Orme tram station,restaurants, pubs, shops, the promenade and the pier - it also has 2 of its own restaurants serving 3-4 fixed priced courses in 2 sittings - we didn't get to eat there but on the basis our breakfasts and a sandwich lunch we would not have been disappointed

There are also indoor and outside pools which we didn't have time to try

And yes there is a Punch and Judy show on the Prom

We enjoyed our stay and would return - thank you

Room Tip: room 41 had everything - a top floor corner room wih dual aspect which made it light and airy - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rooms were lovely. Complementary cherry on arrival! Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent!! We even took advantage of the indoor pool and sauna which were both lovely and clean.

Location was ideal in the centre of Llandudno. Just a few minutes walk from the beach, Pier,Great Orme, Shops and restaurant.

Would visit again!

Stayed: August 2013
4  Thank student987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and 3 year old son stayed here for the first time in July for a short break. On arrival staff were very friendly and made each of us feel very welcome. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a superior room which was very clean and spacious with lots of nice touches. The hotel benefits from a lovely indoor pool area (although it is very dark, much darker than on the online pictures- in reality not sure my 3 year old would have felt happy in there) and a really nice outdoor pool area with sunloungers. Pleny of space to enjoy a drink in the lounge areas and breakfast was superb. Also, another plus point is that the hotel has plenty of car parking. Overall a great place to stay with family and we shall return again next year.

Room Tip: superior rooms are very spacious should you be bringing children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Poolside at The Empire is one of the best places to eat in llandudno. My most recent visit was last week and as usual the food was amazing and such good value. The atmosphere is always lovely, the staff are very polite and welcoming and for under £18 pounds you get a three course meal with wine and coffee or tea! There are a lot of hotels in this area that act like they're something they're not and charge extortionate prices as a result, the empire is not one of these. I'd be happy to pay double for the fabulous experience of visiting this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Liv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I wanted a night in Llandudno prior to a tour of Bodnant Gardens but I struggled to find somewhere that stood out and really appealed online. Then I noticed that the Empire was offering dinner for free on a Sunday evening if we booked by phone and that sealed the deal. Boy am I glad it did...

Since dinner was a freebie we upgraded to a superior room at £135 B&B, (in effect DBB). The Empire is in an elegant corner of Llandudno, close to the promenade and to the lower terminus of the Great Orme Tramway. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed warmly and immediately struck by the high standard of decoration everywhere. Parking is admittedly challenging, but at least they have 40 or so spaces so we couldn't complain. Our room was huge, well appointed, elegant and clean, with several nice extra touches. The corridors and public spaces are all immaculate and full of character and the friendliness we found at check-in carried through to all the staff we encountered. Dinner was a pleasant surprise. The Empire is family-run and the Maitre D was quite the most elegantly dressed I have ever encountered, really setting the tone for an evening that was very enjoyable. Drinks proved to be amazingly good value, (go for the doubles - barely more than single measures!), and we remarked several time how it felt like something out of an Agatha Christie novel or film. The food was decent if not spectacular but really no complaints at all, and even at full price it's good value. The only downside I would say is that the spa pool and steam rooms didn't really work for me. The pool is subterranean and feels very enclosed, (plus it's not really big enough to swim in), and the sauna was so cool I couldn't even break a sweat! That and the whole pool area breaks the '30's Vibe' that is so successfully carried out across the rest of the hotel so it doesn't sit comfortably. But frankly I didn't care. It was a great place to stay, great value and I'd happily stay there again. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a superior room I think. There's no view to be had but the extra space and fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brynmelyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have recently returned from a stay at the Empire Hotel, Llandudno. We enjoyed our stay and we are never disappointed with the service, comfort and especially the wonderful food that is served. We have been staying at this hotel for the past 15 years and must say it's one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,794 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £122 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing