We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, very clean but a little bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, very clean but a little bit tired”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed at No 72 - next door to the main hotel building but run as part of the hotel. All the staff were efficient and friendly, including the night porter who happily stood in as barman when we returned to the hotel late in the evening wanting a drink.
Our Queen Superior room at the top of the 2nd floor was sizeable and very clean throughout - housekeeping is spot on. The large bed was extremely comfortable.
The bathroom was a little tired in that the fittings were somewhat dated "old style Victorian" which was quite quaint but personally I prefer my bathrooms modern and updated. The toilet, with its old style flush chain was incredibly noisy and the shower had a very loud squeaky hum. No 72 isn't air conditioned unlike the main hotel and the room was very hot even with the windows open and all the radiators turned off. Because we had to sleep with the windows wide open we were disturbed very early morning by garbage trucks and other service vehicles. One might expect air conditioning for £110 a night.
The hotel's position at the top end of town is nice although there are no sea views, and if you are visiting in order to go to the theatre, as we were, its worth noting that its a fairly long walk although it was only £2-3 by cab. We would stay here again but possibly better for more than one night in order to take advantage of the spa and pool facilities in order to get better value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    187
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
212
454
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Great hotel we had 3 nights in January, very helpful staff and the service was spot on, really enjoyed it had lunch a couple of times food was very good but didn't use the evening restaurant as we like to eat out but it did look good . very reasonably priced as well

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlh0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

What a great time we had from arrival 30 December 2010 until departure 2 January 2011.
On arrival you are shown to your room, by the same staff you saw on your last visit, where you will find a bottle of Champagne in the fridge, Sherry in the decanter, a Bara Brith, and a welcoming letter with itinerary from the Maddocks and Waddy Family.
New Years Eve starts with a Champagne reception in the Lounge at 7pm followed by a Gala Dinner at 8pm. The food is a superb four courses, and after the guests are delightfully unruly when the balloon fight begins!!!!!
Then dance away up to Midnight, and ring in the New Year.
Next morning Brunch is served at 9am until 2pm, with an invite to pay 2 visits. So we had Breakfast at 9am, and returned at 1pm for lunch.
Alas you leave the next day, but knowing that you have started the New Year off on a high, with the Maddocks and Waddy Family.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedCarolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We have just got back from our annual trip to the Empire, as usual Elysse and staff cant do enough for you. We see the same faces returning every year as well as new customers, most of the staff are the same as when we first started to go eleven years ago which to us says it all. Still full from all of the lovely meals especially Sunday lunch with the harp playing in the background, Swimming pool was slightly cool but whirlpool and steam room more than made up for it, we cant wait until next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomandCaroleKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The hotel was a 4 star quality, without being stuffy or pretentious. The staff looked after us very well and especially made sure our children(11 and 2yrs old) had as good a time as we did. The restaurant served excellent fresh food and it is extremely reasonable value at just £20.95 for a 5 course meal. We can thoroughly recommend the Fillet Steak at just a £5.50 premium, it was the best I tasted for many a year. The rooms are clean, spacious and has all the mod cons you would expect, in fact our room had a rocking horse in it that delighted our 2 yr old! The Hotel has a small gym and a decent sized pool with adjoining sauna and steam room, all have been recently upgraded so in tip top condition. As you might be able to tell, we quite enjoyed our stay and will be returning again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekyscampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Enjoyed the hotel and resort , We stayed over half term. The only rooms left were budget rooms but ours were certainly excellently fitted and very comfortable, if slightly small and at the rear ( as one might expect). The hotel sadly does not overlook the sea but it is very close to the pier, tram etc.. and is well located. the hotel is well decorated throughout.

However I was somewhat taken aback by some of the service in what has been a well regarded 4*hotel over the years. The sauna was not working and despite being told the day before it was not fixed or a notice put up the changing rooms could have done with a mop.
When we asked if Welsh rarebit may be available as an off menu request we were told no. I had one a couple of days later as an off menu request in an Italian restaurant in Jersey; my daughter was just very keen to have a real welsh rarebit in Wales. We then asked where we might get one and the recepionist could not suggest anywhere at all. It turned out Wetherspoons stock them in Wales but had sold out! There were no local beers or real ales in the bar even bottled.. When hot choclate was requested at breakfast we were told no, quite abruptly with no explanation. Never been asked before? No milk or powder in the kitchen?Also breakfast had been cooked off before hand and was not particularly warm, very good melon though.

I liked the hotel in many ways but I hope they do nor rest on their laurels and decline further, Times have changed you can get a hot chocolate at a premier inn and if you ask for baked beans the Ritz you get them with no fuss. Just a quick mention for the morning receptionist who was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CirenByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle staffs uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

really nice hotel excelent standard throuh hotel that is, staff, food, room standard.
would recomend, nice and close to shops pier etc. will go again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
924 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Llandudno

Property: Empire Hotel Llandudno
Address: 73 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel Llandudno 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Empire Hotel Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llandudno Empire Hotel
Empire Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing