We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sunset_Lad
Derby, United Kingdom

Relax and be treated like a friend

Review of The Shelbourne
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2023via mobile
Enjoyed a great 3 night stay here at The Shelbourne. Was warmly welcomed at a very efficient check in by Sarah. I had selected Room 16, a lovely clean compact single, with a great view out to the Little Orme.
Comfortable bed which was very welcome after a days walking and a few evening beers!
Great start to the days with a selection of breakfasts, which are all freshly cooked and piping hot. The dining area has a large window, allowing views of the promenade and both the Great and Little Orme.
Perfectly positioned for the town and shops/restaurants and bars but retains a peaceful environment where you can relax after a busy day.
Make sure that you book direct with the hotel and subject to availability, you are allocated a parking space at the rear of the hotel
Would definitely recommend a stay here. I look forward to returning
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Book direct
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£140
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Agoda.com
    £113
  • Vio.com
    £131
0.3 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Free parking
£150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Hotels.com
    £141
0.1 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Free parking
£121
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • Agoda.com
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £109
0.5 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Free parking
£45
  • Booking.com
    £45
  • Agoda.com
    £27
  • Vio.com
    £28
0.1 miles from The Shelbourne
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£86
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £70
  • Hotels.com
    £90
0.4 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£69
  • Priceline
    £76
  • Agoda.com
    £64
  • StayForLong
    £77
0.5 miles from The Shelbourne
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
    £68
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Bay County Hotel
£45
  • Expedia.com
    £47
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Hotels.com
    £47
0.4 miles from The Shelbourne
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£59
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £51
  • Hotels.com
    £59
0.5 miles from The Shelbourne
Beachfront
Restaurant
£117
  • Expedia.com
    £117
  • Skyscanner.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
    £117
0.5 miles from The Shelbourne
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Llandudno
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
115
22
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
115
22
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews allocated parking venue cymru lovely view from our room recently refurbished rooms dog friendly room parking space view of the bay well stocked bar tea making facilities hosts were lovely plenty of choice nice breakfast easy walking distance sea front superb location lovely clean hotel family holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2023

What a wonderful relaxing stay again. Berin and Sarah are amazing hosts, nothing too much trouble. We had the top floor suite room 18, recently refurbished, superb views so spacious & relaxing.
We would highly reccomend this hotel, great hospitality, friendly staff and the breakfast is amazing.
One tip, book direct and you will get a free parking space....a must for busy Llandudno

Room tip: Book direct with the Shelbourne to get your free parking space!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank N1216WWkeithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed there for four nights with a group of twelve ageing golfers. We had stayed there a few years ago when under different ownership and were disappointed, however the new owners have completely revamped the place, what a difference. Berin and Sarah couldn’t do more for us, superb, they even washed our cars following a rain shower full of Sahara sand. We have already booked for next year.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scenic50751105872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2023

Had a great stay at The Shelbourne . Complimentary car parking is a great start , all the staff are so helpful and pleasant , as are the rooms and the food. It’s location is perfect for the town centre and within walking distance of most places including bus stops and the train station. We can’t wait to go back again .
Ian & June. Manchester

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2023

Excellent friendly couple clean an comfortable welcoming stay you couldn't wish for better surroundings
Will definitely be back excellent views from hotel an on seafront hearty breakfast to set you up for the day

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023

memorable for all the wrong reasons! we had to cut short our 3 night break after the first night after a sudden unexpected bereavement and as the owner wasted no time in deducting the full cost for the unused nights from my credit card without any communication whatsoever I'll give my honest opinion of his little establishment, firstly the breakfast arrangements are awful, you get allocated an exact time you are expected to come down for breakfast, we were offered the last slot available which was 8;30, which is annoying as when on holiday you like to decide yourself what time you choose to get up and go for breakfast, normally breakfast is offered up until at least 10am, you have to pre-select the day before what you want to eat,, you have to tick off on a card either scrambled eggs, cereal, bacon etc etc, must admit i like to choose on the morning what i eat for breakfast not pre decide what i think i might like the day before, the rooms would have been lovely had they not been divided up to get the most bedrooms possible, the sea view we paid extra for was one window from a bay of 3 windows with a dividing wall right up to it, it was incredibly small and claustrophobic and just felt wrong with the beds squeezed in at right angles to the window, after entering the hotel on the first afternoon my son and my misses saw a chap loitering and asked if he worked at the hotel to be quite patronisingly told `i own it who are you and how did you get in?` he changed his tone slightly when they replied we are guests and used our key, according to my son he was a smart arse although i didn't meet him personally, overall the place has a small guest house feel and non of the buzz and excitement of there larger hotels we normally stay in at Llandudno, the location is a good treck from the pier which is the heart of the town, i personally would never recommend this place but the other reviews seamed good which is why we booked, well it wasn't actually we only booked as we couldn't get anywhere else near the centre and this was the only place with rooms available!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Jones, Owner at The Shelbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Firstly can we once again extend our sympathy to your wife and family for the sudden death of her brother.
We understand how upsetting it can be to lose a close family members, however having not stayed with us or been party to any of the conversations that we had with your wife or son you have no idea of what was said.
Im not sure who your wife or son spoke to, who was "loitering", but it was not us as we were out. The only time we spoke with your wife of son was when they informed us on the second evening they had to leave as your wifes brother had passed away.
Your wife was very concerned that the bill had not been paid and we assured her it was not a problem that we could take it off the credit card she had supplied when booking of which we did the following morning. That night our main concern was to get a taxi for your wife and son to get home.

As for our rooms, nothing we can do about them, when we bought the property this was how it was laid out. We have made some rooms larger, but cannot just keep knocking down walls.
Breakfast, at check in it should have been explained to you that we do a pre-order to help us keep our waste down and stop throwing away so much food. We are just trying to do our bit for the environment, and yes we give guests times for breakfast so we can control how many are in at anyone time. Particularly when we are busy. Its not nice to be kept waiting for breakfast as there are too many guests to serve.
I would also remind you we are a small property, if you wanted the "buzz" of a larger hotel your wife should have stayed in one. We have a small team of staff and we all work very hard and have a lot of pride in what we do.
We can only assume it is the grief talking and again our sincere condolences to all the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews