We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holilay that was not”
Review of Min y Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Min y Don
Ranked #54 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Holilay that was not”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Maxine2101 Covers the situation very well. My wife and myself both in our late 70,s in need of a break booked for 10 days, the biggest mistake of our lives. Having travelled for 5 hours we also found reception unmanned. Eventually we were welcomed only to be told that our allocated room on the first floor was still occupied by a contractor who wanted to stay the weekend. A room on the 3rd floor was offered and on inspection was refused. We were later informed that flooding had occured in a room and the occupants were put into room 7 which was our allocated room.They were due to leave on the Sunday so were offered a room in the next hotel for one night at b&b which we did not have to pay (They owned that as well). On the Sunday we had to wait until midday to occupy our allocated room. What a room. Very small and well in need of updating. 1 dark ble wall, 1 light blue wall, 2 cream walls.Filthy dark blue curtains and carpet. Shower was filthy, wash basin and toilet acceptable. Paper was coming off the walls. SASH window.Top half was solid due to so much paint and the bottom would not stay open due to broken sash cords.We had booked 2 single beds but a double was in situ. FOOD. Described as sought from local sources and was fresh. All veg was frozen and the meat appeared to also have been brought in and heated up. Portions were very small. A roast was provided every night or a salad if preferred. We ate better in the war years. The waitresses were fantastic. Overworked but always with a smile, (Thankyou girls). We were informed when booking that entertainment was on twice per week. This also was not so. For anyone wanting a weekend break its acceptable but for anyone wanting a holiday, think again. We shall never return. Much more could be said but i do not wish to write a book.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    16
    9
    19
See reviews for
25
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Where do you start!!! On arrival you are met by a sign stating the reception does not open until 4.15pm which after heading off for an early start did not go well. We requested a lower floor due to my husband awaiting a hip replacement and myself a knee replacement we were ushered to the 3rd floor. The room was in great need of a refurbishment. We had the fire exit door in our room which would not shut properly and gave me great anxiety about leaving anything in the room . To flush the toilet you had to do it anti clockwise (very bizarre). The wall paper is coming off, the nets were dirty, stains on the duvet, a very small television on the wall. Meal times are 8.30 till 9.00 for breakfast but don't be late and dinner is served at 6pm on the dot. The portions are very small and not really that good. They state fresh but to be honest you can tell they are all either out of a tin or frozen even the potatoes. We had to share the dinner table with another couple but luckily they were a nice couple but you never know who you are going to get. During breakfast you have to choose your dinner (again bizarre). You have to be out of your room at 10am but we were ushered out at 9.40am. The only good thing I could add about this hotel was the waitress service they were pleasant but looked underpaid. The only thing really to add is you get what you pay for and they take that to the extreme. Good luck anybody who stays there..... Be prepared as they saying goes you get what you pay for and you certainly do at this hotel....

Room Tip: God help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxine2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for the weekend, found rooms to be small but adequate, as your only sleeping there, the bed was comfortable and very clean.The manageress and staff were very friendly, and service was very good. We were half board for 2 nights and the food was home cooked plentiful and most enjoyable. The location right facing the Pier was great for all our amenities. All in all for a cheap weekend break it was lovely and we will return.

Room Tip: we had a sea view which was on the 2rd floor, and if any one with difficulty climbing stairs, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickmac186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

For those of you thinking of paying a visit to this hotel -think again. If ever the old adage " you get what you pay for" applies then it applies here in spades.
First of all, those under 75 yrs of age do not apply as there is a distinct whiff of old peoples home about the place.
The accommodation itself, although in an excellent location, is tired apart from the carpets in the communal areas. The warm welcome offered by the proprietor was tempered by a warning that to drop litter may result in immediate incarceration form the local litter police.
Our bedroom was tiny with a wardrobe you couldn't open and a shower that trickled tepid water if other guest were already using theirs .
Meal times were an experience !! One fixed time to eat and a share table!! don't expect to be full after your meal. fruit juice is classed as a starter and a scoop of ice cream as a dessert! The thinly sliced meat that was expressed as roast leg of lamb was a real winner. Breakfast was even better you are offered a variety of cereals to start. I chose Weetabix - bad decision ! you get ONE !!! Best of all, fried bread was an option on the cooked breakfast menu. However not on the Sunday as the fried bread pan was being cleaned!!!
As we left our breakfast table our fellow diners told us that they had been advised that as they were the only guests booked in that evening for an evening meal, they would not be offered a cooked meal as it wouldn't be worth them putting the oven on however they would be offered a salad instead! Another gem
You shouldn't have to lower your expectations even if you are on a limited budget. There are a lot of better options out there which I know from experience.

Room Tip: Don't book room 12 despite the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dednjobooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

After deciding last minute to book a weekend in Llandudno we found this hotel online at a reasonable rate for the area. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised as other hotels we have stayed in before have been rather dated n shabby! Our room was very spacious for a family and bonus we had a sea view which made it all the more fab. Short walk from the town centre, Pier on doorstep and beach. Food in the hotel was homemade, tasty and plentiful and drinks were reasonable for a hotel in the area. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, would return without a doubt. Great find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned and verdisappointed,after reading reviews on trip advisor we expected a palace,however not a bit . My 81yr old Father and Mother were in the ground floor twin,cold and smelly extremely old fashioned with peeling wallpaper no view except a brick wall.Me and my husband were on the first floor a tiny double you could barely swing a cat,shower room stank of wee and you could hardly sit on the loo without banging knees on the closed door,the shower was dirty tiles and filthy ceiling,dust webs on bedroom ceiling.We booked evening meal and had paid a couple of weeks before, we were told when we arrived by the female owner that she was surprised she had took our booking as the dinning room was fully booked! We were put in a viewless room with some foreign students on emergency tables and served a 3 course school like dinner in major rush, the joke is we paid £180 for 1 night ,normally stay at Lyndon house on church walks spotless andd lovely lovely family run and all mod cons but we couldn't get in,never again, all I can say is whoever puts a good review on here must have low standards and the owners must be raking it in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

stayed in room 7 fantastic views,room a nice size,comfortable bed,all very clean.rest of hotel lovley and clean.staff very helpful and freindley.
food was brilliant. staff and owener work hard are rewarded with a well run hotel.
recommend !
we wll be back

Room Tip: ask for a front room and 1st floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min y Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min y Don

Property: Min y Don
Address: 20 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Min y Don 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Min y Don Hotel is a small, family run hotel on Llandudno's famous North Shore. We are in a fantastic location for the town's main attractions like The Great Orme, The beach, The Victorian Pier and tram way and of course, the shopping centre. Our lounge/bar and our dining room overlook the bay, as do many of our bedrooms. We have a small car park for residents only and well appointed gardens for enjoying the scenery. Thank you for your interest among the many hotels in Llandudno, we hope you choose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Min y Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min y Don Hotel Llandudno
Min y Don Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing