We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Min y Don

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min y Don
Ranked #52 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Returned home today after a lovely weekend at this hotel. Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff were friendly and efficient and the food was home-cooked excellence! Superb location close to pier, beach, shops, etc. The only drawback is lack of a lift (which we knew in advance!), Otherwise would have given 5 out of 5. Would most definitely recommend and stay again when in the vicinity Thank you mine hosts and staff for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy_mae113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us such a lovely review!

It is always nice to recieve good feedback from guests, and we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and food. We are very lucky indeed to be in such a wonderful position on the North Parade. It is a big factor as to why guests return time and time again, as we hope you will!

Happy holidaying,

Miriam Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    17
    9
    19
See reviews for
26
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I went on a coach holiday and this hotel was where we stayed. It is near the Grand Hotel under the Great Orme and gives great views of the beach round to the Little Orme.
The hotel is excellent for keeping us fit, we had a great room on the top floor and there are only stairs so you can walk your breakfast and dinner off as you go to your room.
The food was excellent and plenty of choice too. It was hot and tasty served by willing and helpfull staff. The staff greeted us when we arrived and waved us off when we left.
We hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for a lovely review!

We are very pleased you enjoyed your trip and found our staff so helpful. The views from here are really great and hopefully you'll think of us next time you come to Llandudno.

Happy holidaying,

Miriam Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Greeted with a warm welcome. Staff very hospitable and obliging nothing too much trouble. Good value for money. Food very good. Looking forward to return later in the year. Thank you very much. The gibson party.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoomy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We work really hard to deliver good value and our team of staff work very hard so it is always appreciated to recieve such great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Thanks again,
Miriam Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A warm welcome awaits you on arrival at this Hotel. Pleasant management and wonderful friendly staff. Meals are plentiful and homely. Situated close to the pier with a lovely to take walk along the front. Shops are situated behind the hotel where you could spend most of the day shopping and having coffee breaks. The red bus stops opposite the hotel for trips out to Conwy and around the town. Now the room. I could have cried when I saw the room we were given. I wanted to complain but my wife said not to as they were so busy. The room was the smallest I have ever been in, with the shower toilet and washbasin situated in the corner in a space about 5 feet X 5 feet, I consider this measurement generous. It was so small I had to back into the WC. Decoration wise the paper was falling off the roof, with the curtains coming off the pole. The DB had a castor missing and the bed was ripped along with water damage on two sides. There was a bed in a skip round the corner that was in better nick. I will not put the pictures on here, but should you wish to see them ask me about this hotel. It could be that this room has been refurbished (I hope) as it was October 2013 I stayed here. I will never put up with this in a hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flisscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are glad that you find our hospitality pleasing; our staff really do work hard so it is nice to receive good feedback.

It would have been helpful if you had addressed your problem with your room during your stay in October 2013 so we could have rectified the situation.

We have had some redecortating work done since your stay, and we hope future guests enjoy them.

Thanks again for your review.

Happy holidaying,
Miriam Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is the epitome of the saying "You get what you pay for". The service was good and the overworked staff always managed to stay cheerful. The food was good but we got the impression that most of the meat was not cooked on the premises and there was never quite enough of anything. The room was compact to say the least and reasonably clean. The view consisted mainly of fire escapes and satellite dishes, though if we had been lucky enough to be at the front of the hotel I think the view would have been excellent. To sum up, it would be hard to beat the Min-y-Don for location and price but they missed out on the little touches like shower gel and shampoo and replenishing the tea/coffee facilities was a bit hit and miss. If Albert Arkwright and Auntie Wainwright ran a hotel this is how it would be, and If this hotel ever wins an award it will be for smallest portions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Andy M,

The Min Y Don Hotel is a family-run establishment and we take pride in being able to offer the 'personal touch' that many of the larger hotels in Llandudno can't. We have been welcoming guests for over 25 years, many of whom return to us again and again and recommend our service to family and friends.

We pride ourselves on the service and the food we provide. We cannot agree with you that the portions are small - if any guest feels that they would like more, we are more than willing to provide more since food is plentiful here. Your comment about the meat 'not cooked on the premises' should not be taken in isolation by any other guests as this is certainly not the case. All of the food served is freshly prepared and cooked on the property.

I'm sure you can appreciate that we allocate rooms to people who've submitted requests first, and had you requested a sea view room we would have done our utmost to honour it.

We continuously thrive to better the hotel, and we believe that tea and coffee facilities should be replenished daily. We are looking into why they weren't on this particular occasion.

I'm afraid we find your 'Arkwright and Auntie Wainwright' comment quite offensive as we are neither miserable or money-grabbing as those characters were.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about the Min Y Don,

Happy holidaying,

Miriam Verma, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I resently stay at the Min -y-Don with my friend. In my opinion this is lovely location for a hotel. It is in the centre of Llandudno. It has a very friendly atmoshere and the food is first class. The owner and staff make you feel so welcome it like walking into your own home. I would like to thank, the owner and all the staff for makeing me feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Seaveiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review!

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and our staff - our small team work so hard to ensure the enjoyment of our guests.

We are very lucky to be in such a good position on the North Parade and we find this a reason for returning for a lot of guests.

Thanks again.

Warm regards,
Miram Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just had another weekend at the Min-Y-Don, as usual great food, clean & comfortable and the service is excellent. This hotel is in a great position on the sea front opposite the pier, it is close to the shops, cafes etc so you don't have far to walk. There is no lift so you need to be mobile but you can request rooms on a low floor. It is value for money and we will return again. A special thank you to our waitress Chloe.

Room Tip: Request a room on a low floor if you feel you can't manage a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Manager at Min y Don, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a very convenient position for a nice lesuirely stroll along the prom or popping to the shops!

Our staff work very hard so it is always appreciated to recieve a 'thank you'.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,
Miriam Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min y Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min y Don

Property: Min y Don
Address: 20 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Min y Don 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Min y Don Hotel is a small, family run hotel on Llandudno's famous North Shore. We are in a fantastic location for the town's main attractions like The Great Orme, The beach, The Victorian Pier and tram way and of course, the shopping centre. Our lounge/bar and our dining room overlook the bay, as do many of our bedrooms. We have a small car park for residents only and well appointed gardens for enjoying the scenery. Thank you for your interest among the many hotels in Llandudno, we hope you choose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Min y Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min y Don Hotel Llandudno
Min y Don Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing