We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond find!”
Review of Hen-Dy Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
workington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A diamond find!”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

What a gem of a find! We stayed for two nights in the family suite. Two beautiful bedrooms and a bathroom - all superbly clean and really pretty. The owners have thought really hard about the decor and it is stunning. Lots of lovely individual touches too that give the hotel a truly unique feel. The breakfasts were brilliant - hot, tasty and plentiful. The best we.ve had in any British hotel whatever the rating! Worth staying just for them! There isa beautiful lounge with fantastic sea views where you can sit and people watch and a really friendly bar if you are feeling sociable. This hotel is convenient for the beach, the shops and the pier. You could park your car and not move it again for the duration of your stay. The owners are friendly and so helpful - and very much hands - on in all aspects of the running of the hotel. What a difference that makes!.We will certainly stay again and next time would like to sample the evening meals which sound delightful and were thoroughly recommended by other guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingtonJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
122
200
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We have stayed at this hotel many times and find the hosts Loiuse and David very accomodating and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. Good range of menus and value for money. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We have stayed twice, each time in a sea-view room on the first floor (one larger than the other), both of which give wonderful views of the whole sea-front. The larger of the two rooms has two very comfortable yet compact chairs to enjoy the view. Although so close to the promenade it was not noisy even at high season, and also seemed shielded from people looking into the room from outside. Easy access to the town centre, and almost next to the Great Orme and pier, yet only a walk away from the alternative beach on West Shore. Due to the care of the hosts, we did not once have to pay for parking outside the hotel for the 5 days even though it was during high season. The host made porridge on request at breakfast (in addition to the cooked menu) and it was very nice indeed, as was all the food. A special feature of this hotel is the lovely (optional) evening meals - 3 well-chosen alternatives are provided for each of the 3 courses, and the meals are great to look forward to during the day, the food being delicious and very well presented. Also the ground-floor lounge is comfortable and very pleasant to sit in, if required. Although there are a few steps down to the dining room which should be considered if mobility is a problem, for us it was not an issue and the dining room had a nice atmosphere. Everywhere is very clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_MT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We have just spent a very enjoyable two nights at the Hen Dy. We only planned staying the one night but the reception we received from Louise and David was excellent, nothing seemed too much trouble. The room (8) was large and very well presented very clean and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was both filling and good quality. After going out for the evening We returned for a night cap and an enjoyable chat with our hosts and other guests in the bar and were made to feel very welcome. We have already booked to stay at Hen Dy again next year and would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest_Travller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Having stayed in several other hotels in Llandudno, i can not fault this one! It is excellent value for money, the food was exceptional, the staff/proprietors were courteous and friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toogoodtobetrue_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Booked the room only a couple of days before our visit. Chose because of the good reviews given. Very pleased with the choice. Our room was bigger than we expected. The picture on their website gives the impression that it is smaller than it actually is (room 8). Beds were comfortable and we had a good nght's sleep both nights we were there. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Louise and David were very friendly and welcoming. David sorted out parking for me so that I would not have to pay. I sat in the bar both nights (not something I normally do) and had a good a chat. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hen-Dy with my elderly father-in-law from August Bank Holiday Monday for 3 nights. This was our second visit and once again we had a fantastic stay. Louise and David are a friendly couple who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts and evening meals are of very high quality, home cooked and plentiful. The rooms are well decorated and everywhere is wonderfully clean. The location is great - right on the sea front. This hotel cannot be faulted and we have booked to return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen-Dy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen-Dy Guesthouse

Property: Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Address: 10 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Business Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hen-Dy is situated on the seafront opposite the pier and beach,in possibly the best location inLlandudno,convenient for all the best restaurants,shops,and attractions.We offer bed,and a full Welsh breakfast,with plenty of other choices available to suit vegetarians etc.we also offer limited car parking and Internet accessibility in all rooms,and have a bar and lounge for the use of our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hen-Dy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hen Dy Hotel Llandudno
Hen-Dy Guesthouse Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing