We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent value for money”
Review of Rose Tor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose Tor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent value for money”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend, last minute booking, Booking direct was £5 a night cheaper than using Laterooms! Location was perfect for us, 2 minute walk to the sea front, or the Great Orme tram stop and on your doorstep are plenty of really good restaurants and bars. We ate at the Mediterranean restaurant and another place a couple of doors down that served tapas (can’t remember the name but the tapas was really excellent), Sainsburys nearby also very useful.
Our room was on the first floor – there’s no lift and in the heat I was very glad I wasn’t on the second floor – and was very small but had everything we needed. Amused by the supply of tea and coffee that was highlighted as complimentary but we could buy more if we wanted – not a way to reward anyone booking more than one night with them! Nice freeview TV, but half the channels were coming up with no signal, again may have been down to the heat. We didn’t mind tho. Decent bed and 2 big pillows each – just what I like! The breakfast was really excellent – service very quick and the food all well cooked and piping hot. There was also orange juice and a choice of 5 cereals to help yourself to. The girls serving were very friendly.
Overall for the money I thought this was an excellent choice, would definitely stay there again if we go back to Llandudno.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, so ask for a first floor room if you don't want to climb 2 flights of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massivenapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    51
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
18
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked for a three night stay and had a lovely time. The room was very clean a little dated but still clean and that's much more important to me. The modern bathroom shown on the website was not the one in our room so was a little surprised to find a beige suite with wooden toilet seat and shelving. The rooms were a decent size plenty or room to move around.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious, the food was served by some lovely pleasant girls. One of the best breakfasts I have had and it was hot not the usual just warm that you get in many places.
Parking is an issue in this town but if you are happy to park more than half a mile away its okay, we just left our car and walked around. The tram and cable car on the Great Orme are well worth a visit. We had read previous reviews and the noise from the street was a worry, but to be fair the Friday and Sunday night were both fine. Saturday was quite rowdy as it was so hot we had the windows open so we were disturbed more than we probably would have been normally
We would book here again though very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at, Rose Tor, a middle of the range hotel. Room lovely and clean and serviced daily. A great location parking not too bad, agree with previous commenter about the tea bags, no need for the instructions of getting some from the shop, it smacks of stingyness, also could be better lit in corridors, our rooms where on second floor and had difficulty locating light switches to illuminate our way through stairs and corridors, must be a hazard for some guests.
The staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice, never ate here but going by breakfast the standard was very good. All in all a good deal, clean, well positioned, good food but room for improvement regarding lighting in corridors. Ask for first floor if mobility is difficult.
Dave was very helpful with parking information, checking in and out easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just got back from the Rose Tor Hotel well how can I start ..... Dave Dave Dave Please learn that when your geusts first arrive you cannot bombard them with rules and regulations as soon as they walk in the door, made us feel very uneasy and as for the tea and milk rule that once you have used them you don't get anymore till the next day and if you want anymore go the shop ... why risk a bad reveiw for the sake of a couple of of tea bags. Well thats the bad side of the hotel other than that the food was excellent could not fault it at all the staff were lovely and made are stay we stayed in room 4 lovely little table and chairs Iin the window so you can watch the world go by ,room was lovely but the shower is very small but we had a lovely time and will be returning thanks Dave and your lovely staff for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lainelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
503 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends 24 - 26 May (rooms 2,3,11). Lovely friendly welcome from Dave on our arrival and he and his brilliant staff always on hand to advise on car parking and where to go what to do. Have been coming to Llandudno now for well over 45 years and still love the place! Hotel in great location, rooms are very nice, tea and coffee even a tea pot! Nice bathroom/showers. Breakfast is a joy served by the lovely friendly Becks and Amy (told you I would mention you girls!). Nice bar area good beer served. Although we didn't eat at night here we have it on very good authority that the food is great so will try next time - promise Dave! You can eat in the restaurant or bar area. You can park outside hotel for 90 min but all the roads behind hotel are free parking.
All in all great hotel, great staff and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent the bank holiday in Llandudno which is a lovely town with plenty to do! The manager at the hotel greeted us and he made us feel very welcome. The room was very bright (no19) and had everything we needed including a four poster bed! The bar area is very comfortable and they do a really good clean tasting beer. The breakfast was excellent and the young staff which serve are very pleasant and professional! Thank you Rose Tor for a lovely weekend. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Walk up the Great Orme lovely views and not too difficult!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

good food and really helpful owner Dave and staff.nothing was to much trouble for them,willing to help and advise of parking and good pubs and clubs to visit.It was bank holiday weekend so plenty going on with the Air show and free parachutist landing on the beach.weather was great. we will definitely be coming back some time.. didn't have a problem with booking or any of the other comments in the reviews section...

Room Tip: a bit noisy on a night time because of the pubs at the bottom of the road other wise everthing was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Min y Don
Min y Don
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Tor Hotel

Property: Rose Tor Hotel
Address: 120-124 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rose Tor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rose Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Tor Llandudno
Hotel Rose Tor
Rose Tor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing