We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent treat you like royalty”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 April 2011

we had my mum and dads golden aniversary here and always buy mum and dad gift vouchers at every opertunity.weldone and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsterBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a spring offer to celebrate our birthdays. We asked for a balcony room and were delighted on check in to be allocated a sea view balcony room, with a wonderful view of the promenade and the pier.
There was plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel, which was covered by the hotels CCTV. The leisure area, pool, sauna and steam room was lovely. We had afternoon tea, breakfast and lunch in the terrace area. No complaints about the food or the service, and the outlook from this area is exceptional.
We really enjoyed our stay, and will return - thank you

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookedonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 April 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. We have Special Breaks running throughout the year so please do check our website or call freephone 0500 700 788 for more details and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stay at this hotel once maybe once twice a year mainly for the vews from the terrace and the swimming pool. We do not rate the food at the imperial. Breakfast always seems portion controlled, very small portions. This visit breakfast did not serve real butter, ie lurpack etc but county life which has a taste of margarine.There were no individual jars of marmalade but a very runny homemade concoxtion which was uneatable. Dinner ( which we opted out of) is too fussy ,even the simplist meals had unneccessary ingrediants mixed in. Not everyone is a herb/garlic worshipper.Next visit we may well choose to stay at the St George.

Room Tip: look for the offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 March 2011

We regret your disappointment from your last visit and would have preferred having the opportunity to address your points at the time of your visit rather than via this review. We have though taken on board some of your comments but feel it is only right that we take this chance to highlight that we never serve margarine only butter and it was unfortunate that our choice of butter was not to your liking. We are surprised that not having dined with us you feel our Menu is too fussy. Chantrey’s Restaurant is an award winning Restaurant for fine dining but as we use only local and seasonal produce, which has a long-established reputation for distinctiveness, quality and taste, we do not feel the need to overpower our dishes with herbs or garlic as our current menu testifies as there is only one dish - Free Range Breast of Free Range Chicken Stuffed with a Thyme and Garlic Mousse, served with Champ Mash, Roasted Salsify, Turnips and Carrots and a Sweet Shallot Jus – that contains garlic. We do though clearly state on our Menu that should you have any particular favourite dishes or special dietary requirements we will endeavour to arrange your meal accordingly and would have gladly done so had we have had this opportunity. We are naturally very disappointed to hear you might not return but would like the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Excellent customer service is all about bringing customers back. And about sending them away happy – happy enough to pass positive feedback about your Hotel business along to others, who may then try the product’s or services you offer for themselves and in their turn become repeat customers.

Our experience at the Imperial Hotel Llandudno we found to be exceptional.

Outstanding Customer service is your company’s ability to supply your customer's wants and needs to constantly and consistently exceed the customer's expectations; therefore, if you are going to consistently exceed your expectations, you have to recognize that every aspect of your business has an impact on customer service.

Amazing!!!

Payne Family

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fonzerellie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 March 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience and service at the hotel exceptional. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Service in reception 1st class and at the bar, Restaurant spasmodic in that some waiters staff some were more helpful than others, it was clear form observation of staff they were more helpful to the older generation. i.e. "pampering"
Room was good all but some noise and other guest smoking on the same floor which made the smell of smoking very evident. Room was cleaned daily no clean bedsheet were made.
Location very good but poor parking Facilities even for disabled only one space in rear car park.
Food overall was good at both breakfast and dinner servings, could have been made better in the range available.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliteassociates11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 March 2011

Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you found our service first class but are disappointed to hear you felt the Restaurant staff were more attentive to some guests than others which is something we will address and appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

We would naturally love to have a large car park because it would make a dramatic difference to all our guests but we are fortunate in that we are one of the few hotels in the centre of the resort to offer any car parking facilities at all and find on the whole that guests, and trust you one of these, that had no problem parking on the Promenade.

We are though shocked to hear you felt someone was smoking in their room which is not only against hotel policy but also against the law and had we have known about this at the time we would have acted upon it immediately but we will still look into this further along with your other comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The room we stayed in was great. It had comfortable sofas and beds. The two bathrooms were luxurious and the desk in one room was great for a laptop. I loved the free wi-fi. We didn't go to the restaurant but had room service. The food was delicious. The staff were friendly and kept the room clean. The swimming pool was warm. The jacuzzi was lovely. The location and views were great. I can't think of anything bad to say!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MynythoPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 March 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The hotel has modern services e.g. wifi, but still has traditional quality in terms of quality of service. The restaurant food was very good, but on the more expensive budget end (for the area).
Good hotel for a conference venue.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AderynCymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 March 2011

Thanks for your review and we’re glad you valued our traditional quality and the seamless blend of modern services. We’re sorry though you felt Chantrey’s Restaurant was on the expensive side but we take pride in using only local, seasonal and market fresh produce and often there is a premium to be paid in offering the very best. Welsh food has a long-established reputation for distinctiveness, quality and taste and hope that as you rated our food highly you now feel it was justified. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#11 of 59 in Llandudno
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Llandudno
353 reviews
2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade Vaughan Street | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £92 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing