We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service - terrible wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
north wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poor service - terrible wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We attended a dinner for about 150 people. There were only 2 staff on the bar although the hotel knew 150 people would want a drink in the half hour preceding the meal! 4 star service? I think not. The worst part though was the wine list with the meal. It was all extremely cheap nasty wine, at very high prices. I gambled on the Argentine Malbec at £26.50 but it was so awful I couldn't even drink it and gave it away to another table. Our friends are not wine snobs but even they couldn't drink the various whites they tried, and even resorted to sneaking a few bottles in from a neighbouring hotel! We had to spend £75 on a Laurent Perrier Rose as it was the only drinkable wine on the list, even the Prosecco was so bad our friends left it. 4 star hotels shouldn't be resorting to doing things on the cheap. Bar and waiting staff were friendly though despite being under pressure from lack of numbers. I have stayed here previously and it's a decent hotel overall but make sure you go out for a meal - preferably to a nearby restaurant called Carlo's which is fantastic! (booking essential)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thai-regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
I am extremely surprised by your comments as they are totally inappropriate especially in light of us receiving several complimentary letters afterwards including one from the organiser. I am compelled though to respond directly on your points as they are unjust. Firstly there were four staff on the main hotel bar all night. Secondly I take exception to our wine list being referred to as extremely cheap and nasty. Our main wine list is supplied by Tanners Wine Merchants, a reputable company that has been trading since 1842 who have a genuine passion for and an award winning range of wonderful wines and the wine on our house list, which includes the fine Prosecco, is supplied by Rodney Densem Wines, another leading independent quality merchant, so our wine is anything but cheap and nasty. And lastly I am sure Carlo will appreciate you giving his restaurant a plug – he is a good friend of mine and yes it is good and we already refer our guests who are looking for an alternative venue to him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    342
    113
    29
    22
See reviews for
260
503
38
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We only booked three days in advance but was pleasantly agreeable to be given a seaview room with balcony for a three day leisure break. The Imperial is an ideal hotel in which to relax and big thanks to ALL the staff for making this so. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the promenade and sea was the most enjoyable start to the day, whilst the evening meal nicely rounded off the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you enjoyed your break and found it relaxing, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We had a 2 night break and it was a nice hotel, staff friendly we did have to wait a fraction after 2'oclock for our room but we had been upgraded to a seaview so a few extra minutes didn't matter. The room was one on the 5th floor with a balcony which was really nice but boy was it hot even with the window and door open and a fan on it was boiling. Neither of us got a really good nights sleep because even though it was a nice comfy bed the heat in the room was not good needed air conditioning!. The breakfast was good but didn't like the fact the waiters/waitresses put your sauce on and that if you are an avid coffee drinker like me you had to keep asking for more. We did not eat in the hotel as it seemed far too expensive I am not sure if a lot of people did but would have thought if they wanted more people to dine it would be good to have a set menu at a reasonable fixed price. Would recommend it as it was a nice hotel but not the balcony rooms

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for your review and we take on board your comments about the room and breakfast. We are sorry you didn’t dine with us as our AA Rosette awarded Chantrey’s Restaurant has an outstanding reputation for its cuisine and know you would have enjoyed your meal especially as we use only the very best local Welsh produce, which has a long-established reputation for quality and taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Our 4 nights at the Imperial were a Mother's Day treat for my elderly mum. Our room, a sea facing executive room , was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. The public rooms were relaxing with plenty of comfortable seating - ideal for watching the world go by. The reception staff were efficient and friendly as, indeed, were all the other staff with whom we came in contact - waiters, chambermaids etc. The leisure facilities are good although I fail to understand why hotel guests are not allowed to use the changing facilities here. Breakfast was excellent and the service was efficient although the restaurant was very busy at times. The one dinner which we took at the hotel was not particularly memorable - the beef was tough and the food was not piping hot. I look forward to returning to the Imperial - but will probably choose to eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for your review and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and are delighted you found all our staff right across the board efficient and friendly and will pass your comments on to them. We are very disappointed to hear your evening meal was not memorable as we take pride in our outstanding reputation for food, so we will be looking into this. Mint Condition, our health and fitness centre, offers everything needed to take part in a healthy and fitter lifestyle and because we are the only hotel in the centre of the resort to offer these facilities it is extremely popular with both guests and members which is why our changing rooms are only available to members. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will try Chantrey’s Restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Imperial, for two nights commencing 9/5/2011.
The room was very comfortable. We did experience throughout both nights a 'tap, tap, tap' sound from some where in the room. On mentioning it to the Reception staff, they said that they would investigate and they did offer us the chance to move to another room, but we declined. The meals we had were enjoyable. Staff were all very friendly and we would stay there again.
Parking was relatively easy. How it might be later in the season I could not comment on.
The only negative was that the hot water in the taps could have been much hotter. The shower water was, but not the taps in the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blandfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay but obviously sorry to hear about the annoying sound you had in your room which we will look into. The hot water taps for both the shower and the basin are fed from the same water pipe to ensure of a consistent temperature throughout the hotel so we are at a loss as to why you found the shower water hotter. We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope that will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Having stayed in many hotels, we rate the Imperial very highly. The reception area staff were top class (Gill and Sara dealt with our queries) as was Pat in the bar area and David the restaurant manager who helped with my gluten free food. The views, rooms & facilities (inc the gym) were excellent.
Chris Beale.

Room Tip: ask for sea view or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for your comments and we’re glad you found our service top class, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel is situated right on the sea front and from the outside looks well maintained and not faded splendor as some of the seafront hotels appear. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful with parking advice. The room was on the top floor with a great view and was spotless with the biggest bathroom of any hotel I have stayed in. However there was one small problem that blighted what was an otherwise excellent stay, and this was the room ventilation, or lack of it !.

The room was stifflingly hot when we first went in to it, so we opened the window, which we closed within minutes as the wind buffeting the building was continually rattling all the doors, to such a degree that it sounded like someone constantly banging the doors open and shut. even with the window in eithe the bathroom or bedroom open just a small amount and the curtains closed the noise was really bad, so we had to suffer one of the hottest nights I have had outside the tropics.

This is a real shame as the rest of the stay including useing the swimming pool was first class. Not sure if I was just unlucky with the room or if others have complained of the same problem. I would be interested to hear other experiences.

Room Tip: Not rooms on the top floor facing Snowdon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for posting a review and we appreciate your comments about the hotel, staff and Mint Condition but are naturally sorry your visit was marred by the room temperature, which was due to the fact that it was very hot but also exceptionally windy so can only apologise and hope it will not dissuade you from returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing