We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, good location but expensive & with some faults......”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent room, good location but expensive & with some faults......”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I took my Mum away for 2 nights and the Imperial was recommended by her friends. We had a twin room on the side with a view of the Little Orme, the sea and the Marine Hotel opposite. The decor is not modern but in keeping with the hotel's character. The room was spacious and the bathroom has been updated. There were sticky marks on the table which had not been cleaned. One of the glasses in the room was filthy. The windows were dirty. The door keycards are very temperamental. It took me a few attempts to enter each time. The rooms are hot because there is no air conditioning and you can't open the windows much for fear of seagulls coming in! For such a big hotel there is a very small carpark. However promenade parking is cheap at £3 for the whole day between 10am and 4pm. We ate in the restaurant both nights as dinner was included in the price and the food was very good. Breakfast was the worst I have ever experienced at a hotel and should be improved a lot. There was very little choice of food in the buffet and the croissants were hard. Toast was soggy and served in a basket instead of a tosat rack. The cooked breakfast was ok but nothing special and is brought to your table. Service should be better as there were some long waits between courses in the evening and dishes sat on the table at breakfast as waiting staff walk by. The restaurant manager needs to smile more for guests. The hotel occupies a prime location on the promenade and is popular with elderly people. I felt the prices were too expensive for the product offered and will opt for one of these next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for brilliant sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
We are extremely sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay and will address all the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    358
    122
    30
    23
See reviews for
273
526
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at the imperial hotel & would stay again!
the room was lovely the food was good what we liked was being able to have
breakfast on the sun terrace overlooking the sea early morning!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_travellers92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Excellent staff, restaurant served delicious food, the people could not have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we will pass on your comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I would back up all the positives mentionned on this page. The food was often excellent and would love to know the name of the Californian Merlot we had. I had meant to write it down - but of course forgot. We ate in the restuarant every night. The choice of the terrace for dinner is a must although the restaurant itself is very tasteful, if a little dark.

The staff at reception were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They were quick to provide us with a fan for the bedroom when we found it too hot to sleep. This would be my one and only criticism. A smallish bedroom on the fifth floor in the height of summer is not easily cooled at night and I'm not too sure how many spare fans there are!
Oh and plain yoghurt for breakfast would have been nice - better with prunes than the flavoured ones.
Yes there is a problem with parking but given the position of the hotel I cannot see that this can be resolved. We were lucky enough to get the car in and just left it there for the duration. There is a system of leaving the keys with recepetion so that if anyone is blocked in, the offending vehicle can be moved quickly.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Imperial.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riscagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you so much for the great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Californian Merlot you had with dinner is Willowood, it is one of the most popular red wines. We will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had room 509 which had a balcony with views towards the pier and the Great Orme. The food is excellent and all the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We had a massage within the hotel facilities by Mariposa which was divine. The whole 3 day break was definetly worth every penny.

Room Tip: Front room with a view and a balcony although there are not many of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed on the 5th floor (not by choice) and it was hot up there, but we easily procured a fan from Reception, which helped enormously.

I am not a cleaning addict, but I found a few issues in the bedroom which weren't great; the bedcover was a thin stiff stained affair, to be honest I've thrown better ones than that away. I peeled it off the bed and dropped it onto the carpet every day I'm afraid, you certainly wouldn't want to cosy up in it. And in the bathroom - there were a couple of cracked tiles and parts of the grouting round the bath were stained dark, but my particular bugbear is the loo...the area round the seat hinges were slightly skanky, they had been wiped around, but really need some bleach and an old toothbrush to get rid of the unmentionables . I don't mind the seagull poo and feathers on the 'balcony', but I do feel that sanitary fitments should always look like they've just been delivered from the showroom, it's not that hard really.

But generally we like the hotel, it has a pleasant atmosphere, and the staff were polite and helpful.

(Give the metal lamps and the wooden shelf the length of the Terrace windows a wipe-over as well, rather too many crumbs and dead flies which were there the 3 days we were!)

All in all though, a lovely building and friendly staff.

Regards

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepingUp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your review and we will take your comments up with Housekeeping. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross On Wye
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here on a work trip (but brought my parents along with me). Good standard of accommodation, very clean and comfortable. Service was excellent. Restaurant food was good (not massive portions, but well coooked and nicely presented). Breakfast was excellent. Llandudno lovely town, really great coastline and views, with planty to do nearby. Would reccommend.

Room Tip: You get noise from seagulls (but you are near the sea!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your lovely review we’re glad you found our service excellent, we will pass your comments on to the staff and hope to welcoming you back to the Imperial again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
927 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing