We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and better than ever”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here at about the same time last year; we thought that the hotel was quite good so we came back again this year for a short break.
This year it is better than ever.
I do not usually gush over hotels but in the Imperials case I will make an exception, the service was first class nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I was a little worried because we were unable to get a see view this time, but I need not have been concerned the room was lovely, I don’t know if they have been recently refurbished but they are gleaming, a good size and fully equipped with everything that you could want, a good size bathroom and a large bath/shower, complementary dressing gown and slippers a properly stocked hospitality tray with homemade biscuits and chocolate.Free Wi Fi,
Breakfast was first rate, plenty of attentative staff to make sure everyone got prompt service, we will certainly be going back again hopefully this year

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a very mixed age group and it was ideal for all. The staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was gorgeous. The only downside for us was that the bar prices were expensive but other than that- lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takingages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed two nights (Sun and Mon) in the Imperial, with my 14 month old daughter and my parents. We had a family suite on the third floor. The family suite is basically a huge room that is split into two separate bedrooms - one with twin beds and one with a double. There is no door separating the two rooms, just an archway (i.e. without a door). The rooms share a bathroom. If you are sleeping in the twin room you have to walk through the double room to get to the bathroom. Each room has a TV.

We found the room spacious (my little girl loved toddling around it) and clean. The bathroom looked pretty new with nice fixtures and fittings.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurant where I felt they went over and above the call of duty to try and be helpful and accommodating (e.g. seating us, with the baby in a quieter area, making food for the baby at breakfast).

The food in the restaurant was lovely and also at breakfast there is a lot of choice.

The leisure centre was great - a nice reasonable sized indoor pool which we all loved.

Location wise - perfect - right on the sea front.

There is parking at the back of the hotel however just to note that it is quite tightly packed and some spaces difficult to get in to. Better than no parking at all though I suppose!

My only minor points for improvement would be:
Wireless internet - the hotel advertises free wireless interenet, however in our room (329 I think) it must have been too far away to receive a signal, hence we were not able to access wireless which was annoying.
Restaurant food/prices - the food in the restaurant was fantastic. However, the main courses are in the region of 18 pounds each. It would be nice to be able to have the choice of either the lovely fancy restaurant or a more reasonable option - e.g. main courses of 7/8/9 pounds in the evening. If I was staying there for longer than two nights e.g. I wouldn't want to eat in the restaurant every night and have to pay 18 pounds for a meal (even though it was lovely!). Something middle of the road would be nice too.

All in all, a good stay - I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want wireless internet make sure you ask for a room near the router
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qwertyPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments have been passed on to the staff and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I have just come back from a break at The Imperial Hotel in LLandudno North Wales.We love Llandudno because of the variety of things to do even though we are both in our sixties(but not our dotage!!)We stayed at The Imperial many years ago and although it was okay we were not overly impressed.When I was looking for hotels online I noticed it had recently been upgraded to a four star so decided to give it a whirl.
Well, it has been seriously upgraded-it was fabulous.The staff were so friendly and helpful(without being in your face) and the food was really good.Our bedroom was on the fourth floor, front facing-very spacious and immaculately clean.Plenty of very large towels,a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of good sized mirrors(what else could a girl want?)The only negative I can give it is that the car park at the rear is very small and going at the height of the season you could have great difficulty in finding a space.We were very lucky and managed to find one.It was difficult to get in and out of, but once we had parked up we didn't use the car again.You can always find a space on the promenade but you may have to walk a little way to the hotel.We were very impressed with everything at the Imperial and will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are delighted you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I took my Mum away for 2 nights and the Imperial was recommended by her friends. We had a twin room on the side with a view of the Little Orme, the sea and the Marine Hotel opposite. The decor is not modern but in keeping with the hotel's character. The room was spacious and the bathroom has been updated. There were sticky marks on the table which had not been cleaned. One of the glasses in the room was filthy. The windows were dirty. The door keycards are very temperamental. It took me a few attempts to enter each time. The rooms are hot because there is no air conditioning and you can't open the windows much for fear of seagulls coming in! For such a big hotel there is a very small carpark. However promenade parking is cheap at £3 for the whole day between 10am and 4pm. We ate in the restaurant both nights as dinner was included in the price and the food was very good. Breakfast was the worst I have ever experienced at a hotel and should be improved a lot. There was very little choice of food in the buffet and the croissants were hard. Toast was soggy and served in a basket instead of a tosat rack. The cooked breakfast was ok but nothing special and is brought to your table. Service should be better as there were some long waits between courses in the evening and dishes sat on the table at breakfast as waiting staff walk by. The restaurant manager needs to smile more for guests. The hotel occupies a prime location on the promenade and is popular with elderly people. I felt the prices were too expensive for the product offered and will opt for one of these next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for brilliant sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 August 2011

We are extremely sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay and will address all the issues you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at the imperial hotel & would stay again!
the room was lovely the food was good what we liked was being able to have
breakfast on the sun terrace overlooking the sea early morning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_travellers92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Excellent staff, restaurant served delicious food, the people could not have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we will pass on your comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £98 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing