We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, will come again!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, will come again!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I want to say thank you for a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is in a lovely location close to all shops and a loverly view out over the bay. The room was a great size and comfortable. The restaurant provided food of a good standard and the service was very good especially by one waiter called Mohamed who looked after my husband and I very well. The only downside is the car park is a little small for a hotel of this size, but we understand that not much can be done about it as this is Llandudno. .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments on to Mohammed. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    363
    122
    31
    24
See reviews for
284
532
41
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Imperial must have been a fantastic place to stay in its heyday, as indeed would have been Llandudno. Both the resort and hotel are a bit jaded now but the North Wales climate doesn't help. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and well appointed; the pool and gym are excellent; the staff are friendly. Food is OK, nothing special. The restaurant is a little disorganised, no fewer than 4 different waiters came to take our breakfast order one morning and it would be nice if they could offer the choice of proper beer in the bar. Word of warning-if you use the car park you may well get boxed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. Llandudno is one of the finest traditional seaside resorts and retains, like us, much of its Victorian character and charm and yet is still fashionable and popular to today’s visitor so we’re sorry you felt both the resort and the hotel were a bit jaded. We also take on board your comments about our restaurant staff and will look into this straight away and discuss with the Restaurant Manager. We are one of the few hotels in the centre of Llandudno to offer any car parking facilities and unfortunately are unable to increase its size but tend to find that cars are not boxed in so we apologise that you had been but hope you raised this with us so we could rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I travel to Llandudno on many occasions and I have to admit I usually stay elsewhere but I was booked a room here by a third party in this instance.

On the whole the stay was absolutely fine. The room I had was huge - though as I like to have the windows open - I must admit being opposite what looked like residential flats with people having a clear view in to me as there were no proper net curtains was a little off putting.

The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was fine and everything was just good without ever being 'special' or excellent.

All in all a perfectly reasonable place to stay and a great location though the lacj of decent parking is a huge turn off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write, we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel.
We are tone of the few hotels in the centre of Llandudno to offer any car parking facilities at all and find on the whole that guests have no problem parking on the Promenade and hope you were one of these and that you will return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We've stayed in a few 'seaside hotels' in our time, and this was as nice as they get. To be honest, probably not as upmarket as the 'blurb' in the brochures tries to make out, but it didn't matter. There's something really very nice about the place that I couldn't quite put my finger on.

It wasn't over-effusive service: Reception, Restaurant, Bar - perfectly adequate but not exactly going the extra mile; it wasn't the Spa - again, perfectly tidy, felt confident the pool water was good quality (in fact saw some pool dips being done), sauna and steam (small but adequate) fully working (more than can be said for a lot of supposedly 5* places we've stayed at) but general area a bit tatty and untidy; it wasn't the superlative service - no help offered with bags or children upon arrival; it wasn't the stress-free parking - had to drive around looking for hard to find on-street parking the 2nd day and then pay for it; it wasn't the quality beds or soundproofed rooms (mattress like an ironing board and the Family From Hell above us), or indeed the view from the room: scaffolding and builders from one aspect, and the car park, delivery lorries and bins the other. And yet.... there was something about the place that seemed orderly, well managed, some element of experience that towed everything along.

The restaurant was well run, efficient service, speedy but not hurried. Food quality really excellent, no complaints there at all. The bar had a lovely atmosphere, some musical entertainment added to that, and the children were made to feel welcome too. Housekeeping service excellent - a request for extra blankets responded to almost immediately.

A minor irritation was that we were not offered the option of the nicer promenade view restaurant tables, simply because we were a party of four. We had to ask if we could sit two-and-two side by side for breakfast, just so we could sit at those nicer tables.

The entry to the hotel, if you are fortunate enough to bags one of the limited number of on-site spaces is quite frankly appalling - considering this is probably going to be one of your first impressions of the hotel, it's enough to send you scurrying back to your car and seeking the nearest Travelodge.

But yet............
There was just something really very 'Nice' about the place; a quiet and calm ambience in spite of it being an obviously busy and thriving establishment. Location is unbeatable, right on the seafront and adjacent to the main town area. There are certain nice touches which elevate it above the ordinary: simple things like the free non-limited WiFi available in the bedrooms, not just in a general reception area; restful decoration in the rooms and bathroom (maybe not every room, reading some other reviews); realistic pricing for both the restaurant meals and bar drinks; availability of room service; provision of free bottled water.

Well done, Imperial - you're obviously doing something right, as you seem to have a goodly amount of return customers. I regret we are unlikely to be in your area again in the near future, but if we could pick you up and plant you in our local area, we'd be giving you a lot of business.

Many thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fragranthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,and you had a nice time. We will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Luckily the weather made our stay just perfect! We had a sea view balcony room! Sea view is a must in this hotel. The rooms are in need of an update, particularly the bathroom. The food was average. The location was fabulous! I wouldn't stay here again in rush as I'd look into others in the same location but cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyMarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you felt aspects of the hotel were not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We decided to push the boat out and book The Imperial for my partner's birthday weekend and we wanted a sea view/balcony. We were allocated room 516. It had the requested balcony but we were very surprised to see how small the room was. By the time we'd got our suitcases into the room there was no space left to walk around. We requested a bigger room and were immediately and without any fuss shown room 511 which was a much better size and still had the sea view and balcony. Room 516, we were told, was probably more suited to a single occupancy so why it was allocated to us I don't know. Anyway, we were happy with 511, it had a large and clean bathroom, good sized bed, table and chairs and we could get free wifi.

Our birthday meal was booked at Romeo's Italian Restaurant so we didn't eat dinner at the Imperial although my daughter and her partner did and they said their meals were very good. They took advantage of the dinner, chocolates and champagne deal and were very happy with it.

Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and, as vegetarians, we were offered veggie sausages which weren't on the menu. A treat indeed!

Parking is limited - first come, first served in a small car park at the rear of the hotel, but we parked on the road directly in front of the hotel and it was £3 for the day and free from 4pm - 10am. It worked very well for us.

Would definitely revisit the Imperial (but not room 516).

Room Tip: Avoid 516 unless you are on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suegalway_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I had meetings in North Wales and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during the week. The hotel room was very nice, spacious and clean! I ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very nice, i did not have a starter, but for my main meal i had the steak which was very nice and cooked to my liking!

The view out of the window is fantastic, overlooking the sea and is a great place to relax and unwind after a long day!

The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

The only problem is that you have to pay extra for a sea view.

All in all a very nice stay and will be booking the Imperial for the next meeting in North Wales

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.5 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, The Promenade | Wales, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#11 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#15 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#24 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list or dine on the Terrace from our Evening Terrace menu. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings, Celebrations and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno
The Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing